We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fondue fun!”
Review of The Melting Pot

The Melting Pot
Reserve with OpenTable
The Melting Pot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 43 Restaurants in Larkspur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: The Larkspur Ferry Terminal is located across the street, please click the following link for the schedule: http://goldengateferry.org/schedules/Larkspur.php
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fondue fun!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

If you love fondue, this is the place for you. The location set on the shore of San Francisco Bay has the ambience of a cave... but in a very cool way. It's an old kiln!! The lighting and overall feel is very intimate and cozy. The service was friendly and attentive. A little bit of a wait at times, but the place was super busy. Our French server had a very cute personality, and kept us entertained. The two cheese fondues that we tried were amazing. I loved watching them be prepared right at the table. The selection of different meats and seafood was very good. With all of the choices, plus an added salad, it was a lot of food! But, we still had to venture on to dessert. And, I'm glad we did. The chocolate sauces, which were also prepared at the table, were to die for! Excellent! There was a good variety on the wine list as well as a full bar. Although it's a little pricey, it is totally worth it. Be sure to bring your appetite!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VWalk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    18
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Pricey Food with Terrible Service”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have always looked forward to dining at The Melting Pot in Larkspur. Unfortunately the service level has eroded so badly that we will never be returning.

While the waitperson was nice enough, after having to wait over 30 minutes for her to return after each course, we discovered that she was waiting on numerous tables on the other side of the restaurant. If The Melting Pot's philosophy is to make the restaurant more profitable by keeping labor costs down, shame on them.

The location within an old brick factory is absolutely beautiful and romantic. The food is good but expensive. The service level is totally unacceptable. Complaining to the hostess did little to make things better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mavinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Some say better than "sex"”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

One of my favorite places to go and enjoy a fantastic dinner! It's setting and atmosphere is very romantic especially if you get one of the private "cave" type tables... Really makes the evening special. Birthdays there is great too especially when you go with friends that like to share! You can try more flavors that way! Yummy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweetfaerygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing location, great experience”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The location is an old kiln on the shore of San Francisco Bay. Love sitting inside, with the ambience and lighting that you could never find anywhere else. The fondue experience is fun with plenty of options. Wine list is superior as well, I also enjoy the bar, great cocktails.
Not a cheap evening, but fun and worth it for a special occaision.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jfeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Housed in a 100 year old brick kiln, the Melting Pot is worth experiencing. We fondued in the 60's, but fondue technology has changed considerably since then. My kids loved the whole thing and the experience generated much family interaction. What kid is not going to love a chocolate fondue? The menu is confusing as the devil (need a good designer?) but once we understood the four course approach, it was good food and good fun. Yes, it's on the expensive side, but this is a labor intensive restauarnt concept. Our server, Crystal, was very helpful, patient, and friendly. She did a superb job and performed the work of tableside chef. We'll go back again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melting Pot also viewed

Larkspur, Marin County
 
Mill Valley, Marin County
Larkspur, Marin County
 

Been to The Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing