We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT spot off 101 heading North or West for a light bite”
Review of Rustic Bakery

Rustic Bakery
Ranked #1 of 4 Bakeries in Larkspur
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
San Francisco, California, USA
Level 6 Contributor
765 reviews
517 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“GREAT spot off 101 heading North or West for a light bite”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Rustic Bakery and Cafe here at Larkspur Landing is a really great spot to meet someone in Marin. The Stumptown coffee originally from Portland is served and the baristas make a good cuppa.

There are quite a few Rustic Bakery's in Marin but this one is my fave.
FYI https://www.facebook.com/RusticBakery

There's an amazing selection of really tasty pastries and a variety of yummy sandwiches and salads. Rustic really does a great job at offering a good dose of cafe ambience and delish food under $10 in many cases and certainly under $15.

Rustic is a nice place to sit outside, even heaters on a cool Marin day.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HaljoHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    27
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Great location especially on a sunny morning sitting outside.

We too breakfast here - great sandwiches and great coffee. We also bought a loaf for friends, a nice gift given the exotic flavours!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
515 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and a wonderful place for young kids”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

As others gave said it is an outstanding bakery cafe. I would just add that if you have young kids, bring them on Saturday morning. There are storytellers, a pond with fish and turtles, and pony rides. Add in the farmers market on site and the shops and it makes for a perfect morning.

Hope you find this helpful information, and go enjoy!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Staten_Islander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Top quality pastries”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Excellent and varied pastries of all sorts - familiar and exotic - with a French flair. Sandwiches and soup. Their scones and croissants are large and delicious.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gamemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best coffee and baked goods in Marin”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Every time I walk into any bakery I come across a difficult decision: almond croissant or chocolate croissant. It's an agonizing decision and I feel like it's a lose-lose every time. But wait, there is a place where I don't have to pick? Yes, that's Rustic Bakery. It serves chocolate almond croissants.

However, I have discovered yet another dilemma. I can either go with the chocolate almond croissant or go with the wildcard: chocolate banana croissant. Damnit! Just when I had everything figured out, you introduce yet another challenge. I am anxiously waiting the day you come up with the banana almond chocolate croissant to finally end my bakery agonies.

I recently discovered this place serves Stumptown coffee. If you have never tried it, you are missing out. It is the best coffee around. I am what you call a coffee snob and nothing makes me more upset than burned or bitter coffee. I use to only get Stumptown coffee in the Pacific NW and any Ace Hotel but now I can find it in several locations in SF and finally in Marin.

This place is always busy but during the warm months, there is plenty of enjoyable seating on the benches outside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eddie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustic Bakery also viewed

Larkspur, Marin County
Larkspur, Marin County
 
Larkspur, Marin County
Larkspur, Marin County
 

Been to Rustic Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing