We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great seafood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yankee Pier - CLOSED

Yankee Pier
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: King St.
Chicago
Level Contributor
158 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Went for lobsters and oysters. It is a small restaurant and seating is somewhat tight with busy wait staff. Food is very good and the wait staff is friendly and attentive. If you want something just ask. The menu is very much based on what is available and good at any point in time. I think any seafood lover will be pleased with what they have to offer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Willco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    16
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hard to find but well worth the effort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

The Yankee Pier is one of those hidden places that you really have to look for. Larkspur is a small community located in Marin County CA. The food here was excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yuseac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Very good local fish spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We went for an early dinner before a movie at "The Lark" so we didn't linger but were impressed with the food and service. I had the fish and chips (two pieces of rock cod, not halibut) cooked appropriately, not oily and not too much batter. My wife had the Fish Tacos which she enjoyed.

We sat out on the back deck, great spot, no road noise.

The bill for the fish dishes and 1 ½ glasses of Testarossa chardonnay was $53.71 (including tax but excluding gratuity).

We will definitely return when we have more time to dwell on the meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TiburonTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really adorable place with delicious cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were unsure about this place when we pulled up for our 7:30 reservation on a Tuesday. It's a cute little patio with heating elements. Starting the evening out with a dozen oysters and a bowl of the mushroom soup that was on special. The New England clam chowder was nice and hot with big pieces of meat. Next we ordered two orders of scallops, sole, and the fish tacos without beans. They were all impeccable. The scallops had an amazing sear, along with the mushroom sauce. The sole came with bones intact which was a little difficult for the consumer but otherwise the taste was amazing. We rounded out the meal with some butterscotch pudding and a lice of lemon meringue pie. Very nice service with knowledgable staff. Would recommend this restaurant to all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank youngmcgellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“a fun funky place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

succulent presentation of fish, tasty, a real neighborhood feel. The catfish and lobster rolls are sooo good! Very friendly serving staff. Lots of seasonal and local additions available. Fries and kitchen made chips are also soooo good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank doug h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yankee Pier also viewed

Larkspur, Marin County
Larkspur, Marin County
 
Larkspur, Marin County
Larkspur, Marin County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing