We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst beds and towels ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Lompoc, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worst beds and towels ever!”
Reviewed June 2, 2006

We stayed one night-- never again! While the hotel was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful, the accomodations left much to be desired. We're not picky, but the bed was the hardest bed we've ever slept in, the pillows were flat, and the towels were like sandpaper! If you can look past these things, then the hotel was fine.

The hotel was clean, our room had good furniture and appliances (TV, Fridge, Microwave, etc.) and the bathroom was clean. The breakfast was adequate and well-stocked.

There was no way we would have stayed another night. Sleeping and showering are too important, and those two things were both horrible. If you don't mind a rock-hard mattress or sandpaper towels, then you probably won't want to miss staying at this hotel. But you've been warned...

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dorrettab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    33
    22
    6
    9
See reviews for
31
24
9
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ventura County Coast, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2006

I only stayed here one night, and it was one night too many. The outside looks nice, but my first impression wasn't very good. One of the desk attendants was standing right outside the entrance to the lobby smoking a cigarette. The girl actually "working" the desk was sitting behind another counter with her feet propped up on the counter while she surfed the internet. She was courteous, but my request for an upper-floor room (made when I reserved the room weeks earlier) wasn't honored.

It was supposed to be a non-smoking room, but still had a faint odor of smoke. The room itself was unusually large, with a queen bed, nightstand, large dresser with the TV on it (facing the bed), a sofa (which may have been a sleeper but I didn't check), a small recliner, a microwave and small refrigerator in a separate unit (in the corner facing the sofa), and the smallest desk and you can possibly imagine. The top of the "desk" had a telephone, a small lamp, and a small rack with brochures, and they took up the whole desk! They had complimentary high-speed internet but it isn't wireless, so you have to plug it in, then take absolutely everything off the desk just to fit a laptop on it! The furnishings were OK, the room was clean, the bathroom was fine, and even had an upgraded showerhead. But the bed - horrid! It was thin, very springy, and slumped in the middle - like it was 30 years old. Just awful. Thank goodness I always take my own feather pillow whenever I travel...theirs were way too poofy.

I was looking forward to using the whirlpool, but when I discovered I would have to walk across the parking lot to get to it (and back), that it was only about 10' from the freeway (VERY noisy), needed a special code to open the gate (which I had to go back to the front desk to get), and was barely warm, I decided to pass! And re-entering the building from any of the card-entry doors was extremely frustrating. It took at least 5 tries every single time to get one to unlock, then you had to pull it with all your might to actually open it.

I just grabbed a few things for breakfast on my out, but it was just the standard fare (coffee, juice, cereal, yogurt, fruit, pastries, toaster waffles) with the addition of hard-boiled eggs - nothing exceptional.

I would only stay here again if I absolutely had to, and then I'd check every room they wanted to give me until I found one with a decent mattress (if that's possible).

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aimless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 17, 2005

Do not be trapped by "COMFORT INN" Flag. This place is AWFUL. We decide to pay more for the Comfort Inn because of the name and great reputation. This place is filthy, in bad need of remodeling and the Hotel staff of terrible. The furniture was torn and stained with food, the floor was wiped with what seem to be goo and the carpet was just plain nasty. The paint was dirty, wallpaper was peeling and there was food stuck to the walls. The bathroom shower was covered in mildew, the toilet seat had a huge gouge out of it. My son refused to sit on the seat because he said it looked like poop!
The bed linens had stains on them! Totally gross!
But..we did not see any bugs. Probably because they were at a nicer hotel!
Save your money. Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 1, 2005

Would not stay any more. Room was not clean completely. Found two bugs in bathroom and food under the bed. We did not get service until next day from houskeeping. We have to clean under the bed as it was smeling bad.

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2005

Great location as it was close to Highway 14. Room was clean, except for some debris by the telephone. Bathroom amenities were adequate. Breakfast was somewhat of a disappointment. It was not up to the Choice Hotels standards. I did go back to the area after I was done, and they did replenish the breakfast buffet. I might have to stay at the Holiday Inn Express across the street. Staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FernandoBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lancaster
1.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Lancaster
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Desert Poppy Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oxford Inn & Suites Lancaster
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lancaster
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lancaster Palmdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 1825 W Avenue J12, Lancaster, CA 93534-4664 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lancaster
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Lancaster
Comfort Inn Lancaster
Lancaster Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing