We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge portions!”
Review of East Side Mario's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
East Side Mario's
Ranked #49 of 164 Restaurants in Lakewood
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Huge portions!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Good typical Italian fare, tasty but nothing special. Great place for the whole family but be warned there is usually a wait so arrive early. Portions are large enough to split. This is a go to spot in our neighborhood.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aslHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    1
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Otis Orchards, Washington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“All you can eat with the best garlic bread!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

First of all, my husband is Italian and is very picky about eating out Italian, but east Side Mario's is definitely a place we want to return to enjoy another good meal. We ordered the all you can eat pasta, each of us trying a different sauce and pasta. We of course shared an all were good, but the highlight was the garlic bread with real garlic!. Love this place!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dangerouskurvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molalla, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I wanted to lick my plate clean!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My four friends and I took a trip from Portland OR and just happened to stop in for an evening meal. we were so glad we did. we had to wait about a half hour but it was well worth it. the bread was deliciously seasoned, warm and soft. the wedding soup was the best I have ever had and my seafood fettuccini was so good I could have licked the bowl. my friend had the steak and she shared with us. it was delicious also, I'm not sure what the sauce was but I loved it. the steak was a little tough but not bad. they have large portions and I was sad I could not take my leftovers because we were flying out the next day. we were so glad we found this restaurant and I will definitely go again when I'm in that area. I really liked our wait staff. they were pleasant and helpful.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anj123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Eat Somewhere Else”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate here tonight. My wife ate the shrimp scampi and see couldn't believe how "garlicky" the shrimp tasted. The side of pasta was very "oily" as well. I ordered the spinach lasagne and it tasted like it was made two weeks ago. The ricotta cheese was so dry, it might as well been sawdust. The service was slow. It took a long time to clear the table, deliver the bill and return the change. Overall, eating here was a disappointment. With all the restaurant choices in the area, this should be your last choice.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jetttt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level Contributor
226 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Italian goodness....”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Our family went here to use a gift card from last Christmas and enjoyed our meal experience. We had not been there since it's opening at least 10 years ago, but the food and service was great. Wife had the chopped Italian salad on a pizza, I had the artichoke chicken penne, grandma had veggetable pasta and son enjoyed the spaghetti. The warm bread they served was wonderful, and salads fresh and good. Can't complain about a thing.....will come back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Side Mario's also viewed

 

Been to East Side Mario's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing