We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money”
Review of Lakeside Cafe

Lakeside Cafe
Ranked #21 of 53 Restaurants in Lakeside
Restaurant details
Lakeside, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Poor food & bad service-they survive for lack of competition. Don't waste your money. The waitresses are too busy gossiping or fighting amongst themselves. The food is mediocre at best.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kennedy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeside, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The setting is simple, the usual tables and booths. The food is basic home-cooking and there's plenty of it. The staff are friendly and efficient. A great place to come when all you want is to fill up on down-home eating.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, California, USA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Poor service, decent food”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

I have gone here 4 times now and every single time it is horrible service. The staff are on their own schedule and do not want to help you at all. I asked for water, wasn't brought, asked again, never brought, i had to get up and walk to kitchen counter. Next we asked for syrup for pancakes, an obvious thing to bring but it wasn't brought, so we are sitting there waiting and waiting as our server was at another table talking an order, after that she goes and stands at front counter. Again, had to get up and ask the kitchen staff. The food however is good and the portions are huge. I keep wanting this place to be a good spot to go, but when it takes an hour to be waited on and served food it's not with it to wait.

Helpful?
Thank lakeside83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“homestyle atmosphere”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Really plentiful portions of food! Good selections for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Weekly specials. The booths are very comfortable and the atmosphere is pleasing. Easy to have a conversation with your friend. Also nice outdoor eating..

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Quiltingranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lakeside Cafe”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We've been going here at least once a month and we just love the place ... great food and friendly service... the place is clean... there is seating for those who like to eat outdoors... just know that it's packed on the weekends and parking is impossible...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jsikes56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeside Cafe also viewed

 
 

Been to Lakeside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing