We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5th year we will be back again”
Review of Lake Shasta Lodge

Lake Shasta Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lakehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Shasta Lodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lakehead
Medford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5th year we will be back again”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Our family came back to the Lakehead Lodge for the 5th year. The Fourth of July would just not be the same any other way. The location is great right off of I5 easy trip for us from Oregon. We booked our usual 4 rooms and had a fantastic time. Yes this hotel is not fancy but it meets our budget and it is clean. Thank you Jim for the hospitality we will see you guys next year

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tandvsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    2
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Terrebonne, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place is owned by a husband/wife team. From the outside, it seems old and quaint. But the rooms smell musty (from the old, uncared-for furnishings) and aren't cleaned well with very uncomfortable beds. Cheap linens and I don't think the blankets/bedspreads had been washed in a while. The best thing about the room were the fluffy towels. When I reached down to pick up my shoe, which had slipped under the bed some, I ended up with a handful of dust bunnies and hair! Gross!

Room Tip: Skip it all together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAKEHEAD1, Owner at Lake Shasta Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
First and foremost , we would like to thank you for your review. Each and every one helps us remedy the imperfections that we have and enable us to offer our guests a more pleasureable stay here at the Lakehead Lodge. We would like to clear up a few things to elucidate matters. You booked (2) rooms with 2 queen beds initially. You called back one month later and wanted to change from 2 rooms with 2 queens to one room with (2) queens and (1) with one queen because nobody wanted to stay in a room with a puppy. We were happy to oblige. You then at the same time , after one month let us know that you would be bringing a puppy. We do allow pets but we do NOT ALLOW pets to be left in the rooms unaccompanied for any reason. You were RUDE to the point of cancellation but as they say, the customer is always right ????? You had paid 50% down, thank goodness, and the other 50% when you arrived and expressed no dissatisfaction upon check in. After 3 days you left. YOU DID NOT CHECK OUT. YOU DID NOT NOTIFY MANAGEMENT. YOU NOTIFIED NOBOBY. Your girlfriend in the other room left and we, I mean I, was able to speak with her before she personally gave me the key. She said that you were having problems with your puppy , which you were training for others as a full time job, and it giving you a hard time. You personally told me that you trained dogs for a living and had to bring the puppy. Once again , you just left without notice and are not due any refund. You sent me a rude personal email ( which I still have in my trash folder ) that says your puppys toy came out from under the bed with dust on it but your review says differently. Once again, our carpetless rooms are very clean and there is NO WAY that you could find a cleaner floor, because ours is made of wood. You are not due a refund because you checked out early without any notification. We are sorry that you are disappointed with your stay here at the Lakehead Lodge but hope that your next stay will be more pleasant. SEE YOU THEN !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed at the Lakehead Lodge for 5 days. We really enjoyed the free boat parking for our pwc's.The rooms were clean with wood type floors and that was just great because my grandson just had to sleep in his sleeping bag ! The lawn area worked out fantastic in the afternoons- we grilled every night. Our room had two very comfortable firm queen beds (#7) and an awesome a/c because the temps were well over 100 degrees. The owner was very helpful in providing information and had some great towels and linens for such a modest facility. We will stay again the next time we travel to northern California. Thanks again !!

Room Tip: room #7 is right next to the picnic area-very easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AARON J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAS VEGAS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Like a ghastly specter from your darkest nightmare, the Lakehead lodge beds has returned from the grave seeking vengeance. Its previous master thought it had banished it to the blackness of the abyss for good, but nay, it was only for an epoch.

Features:
*Steel beds forged by LUCIFER himself
*Genuine Auroch hide bed provides maximum back ache

I am reaching the end of my strength, as the madness contained within this dark artifact threatens to consume me.

I cannot merely sleep on this adamantine bed , lest some unwary passerby become transfixed by its lightless glow. No, I must only warn you, one with the courage to look into the bloodshot eyes of insanity, and the strength to master it. A wizard with the cunning to master this beast gains an ally of unspeakable power: the ultimate backache. At the moment you lie in this bed, your fate is sealed. Eager for revenge upon mortals, the bed will visit his back with aches that rival the torment of fire and brimstone... a dire lesson you will not soon forget.

This same fate will befall any unworthy mortal who in his arrogance, attempts to mount the bed of doom. Are you worthy?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler_of_lands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAKEHEAD1, Owner at Lake Shasta Lodge, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Sorry to hear that your bed was too firm. We hope that you would consider coming back and giving another bed a try. Have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

would recommend this lodge to family. moved from stockton to shasta co. stayed with my lg.family &had a lot of fun twice while waiting for home to be ready for move in .jim &his wife were both great people and very understanding we have 5 children under 5& 3 teenagers he was ok with it and invited us back anytime thank u jim &lori would love to come back on vacation lol

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cortez8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

First time in the Shasta Lake Area and decided to stay at the Lakehead Lodge because of all the nice things folks had to say.It is one of the older places in the area but you can see all the hard work which has been done here. Jim was awesome.Gave us some charcoal ( he had extra) for the BBQ grills, and plenty of tips for seeing the local area. He even gave us some fresh tomatoes and zucchini from his garden. Yumtastic ! The room was just as described, super clean with wood floors ( NO NASTY CARPET !!!) and an awesome a/c unit. Lots of towels and great wi-fi. Just wish our stay could have been longer. My wife is already planning next years trip. We'll see you then P.S. Thanks for the REVIEW IT business card. Nice touch.

Room Tip: Room #7 is right by the picnic area with the tables
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JOHN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

There aren't many places to stay around here if you are passing through. trip Advisor ranks this as number 1 , so we were hoping for a little diamond in the rough. Not exactly. Communicating with the owner is a difficult experience...see other reviews for experiences similar to ours. It made us feel uneasy. The room was basic and what you'd expect for the money and location. There was obvious effort put into making it as clean as possible. The bed was a lumpy, dumpy nightmare so even after we blasted the AC to cover freeway and train noise we had very little sleep. It was a strange night.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank birdy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAKEHEAD1, Owner at Lake Shasta Lodge, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
We at the Lakehead Lodge are certainly glad that you stopped in and apologize for any communication issues you might have had. We appreciated that you noted the cleanliness of the room. Sorry that you didnt have a good nights rest. Most guests seem to enjoy the firm mattresses. It is unfortunate to hear that the occasional train disturbed you. They only run a few times a day and the distant train whistle just seems to not even bother many people. Most guests, at night ,close their windows and put on the a/c. Perhaps we will see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakehead
19.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
22.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
19.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Twin View Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#5 of 6 in Dunsmuir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
19.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#10 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
21.3 mi away
Travelodge Redding CA
Travelodge Redding CA
#5 of 36 in Redding
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Shasta Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Shasta Lodge

Property: Lake Shasta Lodge
Address: 21417 Main St, Lakehead, CA 96051-9646 (Formerly Lakehead Lodge)
Location: United States > California > Lakehead
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lakehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing