We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better appointed than I expected, thin walls”
Review of Tsasdi Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lakehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tsasdi Resort
Livermore, CA,USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Better appointed than I expected, thin walls”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We really enjoyed our experience at the intimate Tsasdi Resort. Our 1-bedroom cabin (with a double bed in the living room and in the bedroom) was cozy, I loved the high ceilings, wood paneling, kitchen, and private porch with picnic table. The area is surrounded by trees and right on the lake, a truly lovely setting. Fishing or boating from the private dock is a breeze, though there's no beach area for swimming. The overall location is excellent, with short drives to Dunsmuir and Redding, and restaurants and a market only a couple minutes down the road.

Unfortunately, the walls in the cabins don't have much sound insulation. People in the pool were easily intelligible while we were trying to nap. (Though I do hope "Carl," whoever he is, manages to kick that pneumonia with his fourth round of antibiotics!) If quiet is important, take a look at the map on the website and be sure to choose a cabin on the perimeter. The pool is spotlessly clean (bring your own pool towels) and gently warmed with a solar heating system. Being near the pool is convenient if you want to use the WiFi, though, as it is (deliberately) only available in the main building and adjoining pool and patio areas. There is no phone service, either in the rooms or cellular, due to the secluded location.

Maid service is not included, but all linens are provided (including towel exchange for a period each morning), and the only requirement is to clean and put away the kitchen items before you leave. The manager of the property was extremely helpful and friendly, be sure to ask him if you have any questions. When you go to book, probably best just to call, because while the inventory is viewable online, it's all subject to confirmation by phone, and the online quote I received was a few dollars off.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wnissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

My family just stayed at the resort for five nights. The kitchen had everything we needed to get set up. The barbecues needs briquettes but there is a gas barbecue on the main deck that people share. Unit was clean, garbage removed daily, pool was clean and warm, kids loved the games room. We thought the boat launch was right at the resort, it is down the hill, across the street and the down some stairs. Lake Sheriff says you can't swim off the dock so we were disappointed with that. If walking is a porblem for you then this may be hard for you with the hill and the stairs. We would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sunscreen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We had a wonderful time. The cabins are fully equipped and very clean. Very quiet and peaceful setting. The owner was very nice. The fishing was great. We would definately go back to stay. Great place for families.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationmom704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

My teenage daughter and I ended up staying here for a couple of nights while we were on a girl's weekend. Being the off-season it was very quiet and peaceful. The cabins are situated on a hill overlooking the lake and a large dock and the view is quite charming. Our cabin was clean and tidy, with nice wooden walls and composite flooring. One potential concern may be that there was no cell phone service, and the wireless signal was weak to non-existent. For me this was a plus, but my daughter was another story. The resort is meticulously managed by its owner, David Grey, who is also a wealth of information about the area and its attractions. We intend to return with the rest of the family to take advantage of the excellent boating and fishing the area offers.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JackieV92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed at this resort. We have been impressed both times by how well kept the cabins and grounds are. The cabin was clean and felt welcoming. The grounds are well kept, neat and clean as are the docks. The staff was friendly and eager to accomodate us.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol32837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Our stay at Tsasdi resort was superb. We stayed at Cabin # 19. It was very huge and very clean. It has all the things that we look for when we go out for a nice family vacation. We had great fun at his deck, volleyball court and the swimming pool. The owner David Grey is very friendly and helpful. During our stay he helped us a lot. When we were depressed with most of boat rental reservation, he helped us out to get a boat at with a great deal. You can knock on his door any time of the day and he does his best to help you out. I will strongly recommend you to choose Tsasdi resort for your next family vacation at Lake Shasta.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dineshhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Very clean comfortable cabins on Lake Shasta - all wood (not tacky paneling, but real wood). Staff pleasant and helpful. Pet friendly. Full kitchen. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aeaasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakehead
16.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
19.9 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#3 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
16.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Twin View Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Redding
16.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#10 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsasdi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsasdi Resort

Property: Tsasdi Resort
Address: 19990 Lakeshore Dr, Lakehead, CA 96051-9520
Location: United States > California > Lakehead
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Lakehead
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Known as the best resort" on Shasta Lake. In addition to our cabins, we have incredible venue space for weddings, retreats, & reunions. Located on 20 forested lakefront acres, 20 cabins, incredible 230 ft concrete dock, solar heated swimming pool, game room, satellite TV and more... Enjoy this family resort all year. Off-season, take pleasure in a gas fireplace and embrace the beauty and serenity of this very special location. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing