We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific Family Atmosphere”
Review of Shasta Lake Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lakehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shasta Lake Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lakehead
Camarillo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific Family Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This next week will be our third year coming to this wonderful family owned motel. The owners are couldn't be nicer, personable and accomodating. The rooms are clean and quaint. The property is well kept, with plenty of spots to sit outside and play games or picnic. The property is close to the lake, local convenience stores, gas stations, restaurants, hiking areas, and a laundromat. This trip has become an annual family event and we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    19
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
36
26
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Room smelled a bit like smoke. Top lock would not lock had to get owner to simply remove the inner lock catch for it to close at all. Place was clean but very worn out. WiFi did not work in our room. Air conditioning was good but super breezy due to layout. Better for more hearty folks who want to fish and be right near the lake. Not at all good for a vacation. I understand why places are triple a rated. Very shocked at how high the reviews here are. We feel let down by tripadvisor, A sign reading 'no fish heads down the toilet' says it all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spenser T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Went to Shasta Lake to stay in at the Railroad Park for our 34th anniversary. Had our granddaughter with us. Stayed the night there. Next night, we stayed at the Shasta Lake Motel. The people were super friendly, treating us almost like we were family or old friends. We totally enjoyed the stay. There is a pool, horseshoes, basketball, tetherball. A market and a couple of restaurants are right next door. Shasta Lake is within walking distance. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are good. A couple do have kitchenettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the location and the swimming pool. We also went swimming in the lake nearby, although getting into the water is tricky, steep border. The rooms look used, but they are clean. They look like wood cabins.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edisteiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My family and I just enjoyed a week at the Shasta Lake Motel and it was excellent! The motel is very "kid friendly" with lots of room on site for playing. There is very good boat parking. The rooms are very clean and the daily service was great. The place has a very cozy feel and the owners make you feel like family. There are places to eat and a market within easy walking distance and the launch ramp is less than 2 miles. Overall a great place and we will for sure be back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I frequently drive back and forth from LA to Seattle and I always stop at the Shasta Motel for the night. I've stopped by myself, with family, and with friends. The owner, Stephanie, is an absolute doll. She is always super helpful and accommodating, even if I call just a few hours before arriving. Treats everyone like family, and remembers her guests!!! The rooms are adorable and I have never had a problem with them being dirty or messy, and ALWAYS reasonably priced. PLUS The Bass hole Bar & Grill is right across the street. Wish I could stop more often at this pair of places. True gems.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms are a bit different. Ranging from how many beds or kitchenette areas. Depending on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebell219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great stop in Lakehead, CA with plenty of trees and natural beauty, friendly to people and dogs. However, the cuisine at local restaurants left a lot to be desired. The owners were very accommodating and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Kitchenettes available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakehead
18.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
18.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Twin View Inn & Suites
18.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#10 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
21.3 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Inn at Shasta Lake
The Inn at Shasta Lake
#1 of 2 in Lakehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shasta Lake Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shasta Lake Motel

Property: Shasta Lake Motel
Address: 20714 Lakeshore Dr, Lakehead, CA 96051-9522
Location: United States > California > Lakehead
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lakehead
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer and Winter vacationers, Fishermen, Sportsmen, Workers and Travelers ... Welcome to our scenic retreat, within walking distance of Shasta Lake. A warm cabin like room awaits you, at our ten-room motel, situated on almost two acres of land. All our rooms are smoke free. We are just off the I-5 freeway situated among the pines and oaks. We welcome family reunions, week end getaways and overnighters to our family operated business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shasta Lake Hotel Lakehead
Shasta Lake Lakehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing