We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Shasta Lake Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lakehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shasta Lake Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lakehead
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

What a awesome little place to stay if you are spending the week on Lake Shasta or just passing through. 5 minutes to Antlers Resort and launch ramp on the Sacramento arm of Lake Shasta. Restaurants, grocery store within walking distance. The owners Jay & Stephanie were great hosts and made us feel right at home with a little special parting gift from Stephanie, THANK YOU. This one is on our to do again list.

Room Tip: if you have a boat, I would suggest rooms 4 or 5, park right in front of your room, no disconnect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    21
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
38
26
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I really love the owners, very friendly & make u feel @ home!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Champ6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, OR
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

I haven't stayed at a "motel" for quite some time, but the Shasta Lake Motel is not without its charm. The owners, Stephanie and Jay, are very friendly and considerate, and work very hard. The room was extremely clean, but did smell very strongly of cleaning compound when we arrived, and I wasn't at all sure I'd be able to endure it. But the smell dissipated after running the air conditioner for a while. There were some nice touches: the sheets were patterned and soft, and the shower curtain is embroidered. Kinda like staying at Grandma's.

The walls are really thin and you can hear everything in the next room, or even two rooms over. So be forewarned if romance is in your plans (again, kinda like at Grandma's). Also, Highway 5 is very close by and the noise is constant, which make opening the windows to sleep out of the question, which is too bad as the air conditioner is noisy. But amazingly, I really wasn't bothered by the Southern Pacific train which runs close by.

And the owners are a little obsessed about the electric bill. Everyone is asked to turn off the A/C and the lights, even if leaving for a short time. With 100 degrees outside, the room gets hot quickly. And you do have to turn on the fridge as well.

BTW, wi-fi isn't free, but it's only $3. This motel is a good place to crash after a day in the sun at Shasta.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodGroupie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

I think this motel is a great value. It has a lot of character but what was most important is it was very very clean. The people that own the hotel make you feel like family. It's almost like you want to go back just to visit them. I highly recommend this place. It's not a huge room and doesn't have lots of extras but it's an exceptional value for the money!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carver3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Needing to get away this summer, we twice stayed at the Shasta Lake Motel. It exceeded our expectations in every way. They were very clean yet really comfortable. This place is perfect for families. We sat in the hammock, played tetherball, sat in the chairs in from of the room and watched a lightning storm in the mountains. There is a large grassy area with covered picnic tables, bbq's and a net. We played whiffle ball there often. The pool is very clean as well with really comfy pool chairs and a nice deep end. It a great area to gather with friends and stage a family "happy hour". The owners are just super nice people who really want you to enjoy your stay. They have kids and know what families need to relax. They will give you brochures to help plan your activities and even opened the pool early for my daughter both stays. Really helpful and nice. We had a room with a mini fridge that even had a decent little freezer. We did not have to go anywhere to grab an ice cream and Stephanie even had a plastic wine glass so you can take your evening glass of wine to the pool while the kids swim. It's little touches such as these that make this place feel like your own home away from home. We really reconnected as a family and mom majorly relaxed (finally!). When you stay there, you are within walking distance of three great little restaurants, including a bar & grill as well as a great stocked grocery store so you don't have to drive much at all. You can have fish tacos at the Bass Hole, organic food at Allysons, a milkshake or coffee at the log place or buy meat and just bbq at the motel. Tell the kids to look for the faces on the trees. Also, the fishing guide they recommend, Ben Raimondi, with Fish'in Comfort is wonderful! Beautiful boat, great with adults and kids and an all around good guy. We will definitely be back a third time and have recommended Shasta Lake Motel to everyone we know!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaWheez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Our room was # 9 and it was definitely big enough/roomy for 2 adults and 2 teenage kids. It was clean and comfortable. the kitchen was great to have. The pool was very refreshing! The kids enjoyed basketball and me and my husband enjoyed the hammock. Stephanie and Jay are very nice owners. they take care of your needs. They are very friendly and always around. We'll definitely go back again - summer time and winter time!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samujh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, california
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Stephanie and her husband run a laid back., quaint friendly motel which seems more like a visit to your relative's (the ones you like) place. From goofy tetherball and evening swims, with rooms that are a great value and simple but comfortable, this motel is exactly what you want in the foothills near Lake Shasta.

Stephanie is as friendly as she can be, helping everyone with their plans and their troubles, and that's because she truly enjoys helping travelers and making her place as friendly as can be.

If you're in the Shasta Lake area, THIS is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasha1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakehead
18.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
18.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Twin View Inn & Suites
21.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
18.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Redding
Ramada Limited Redding
#26 of 36 in Redding
544 reviews
22.3 mi away
Dunsmuir Lodge
Dunsmuir Lodge
#4 of 6 in Dunsmuir
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shasta Lake Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shasta Lake Motel

Property: Shasta Lake Motel
Address: 20714 Lakeshore Dr, Lakehead, CA 96051-9522
Location: United States > California > Lakehead
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lakehead
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer and Winter vacationers, Fishermen, Sportsmen, Workers and Travelers ... Welcome to our scenic retreat, within walking distance of Shasta Lake. A warm cabin like room awaits you, at our ten-room motel, situated on almost two acres of land. All our rooms are smoke free. We are just off the I-5 freeway situated among the pines and oaks. We welcome family reunions, week end getaways and overnighters to our family operated business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shasta Lake Hotel Lakehead
Shasta Lake Lakehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing