We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in the Shasta area”

Antlers RV Park and Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lakehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Antlers RV Park and Campground
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great spot in the Shasta area”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

The grounds are well kept and very wooded. Many of the sites are very large. We stayed in #101. If you like privacy with natural peacful surroundings and just a short walk to the marina, this is your place. We would have given it 5 stars, but the bathrooms were not well kept and in need of updating. We also like that there is a night security officer (Virgil) on site. We would definately come back.

Room Tip: #101 full hook up very large private and wooded area with two picnic tables and a fire pit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkE83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    15
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

What the June 2011 camper left out was they were rude, loud and tried to keep the other campers up all night ....fortunately this well run " family oriented " campground, complete with security, ensured the other campers comfort. The owners, Marty and Nikki go above and beyond to make sure everybody has a great time. Our family goes every year and many of our camper friends do too ! It is the finest campground on the ENTIRE lake and with the adjoining marina, there is no reason to look elsewhere, as you have already found the BEST....Can't wait to go back.....

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Let me first say that I did not stay at this campground. I stayed at the 1st Antler's Campground a mile earlier on this same road. However, my wife and I wanted to take a look at the resort campground at the end of the road. We and the other families we camped with were extremely happy we did not camp at this RV park.

It was PACKED for the 4th of July weekend and it seemed very ghetto (for lack of a better word). The pavement for the campground loops was run down. Volleyball court was miniature along with the basketball court (1/2 court) with old goal. Swimming pool, like everything was so packed and wild, I don't see how a young family could enjoy anything here. Some campsites were spread out others were tight. Showers were packed. Very noisy, crowded, and a bit run down. If you're looking for a party, this may work for you. If you're looking for a camping experience, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank HurricaneMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We used to love going on our anual memorial day camping trip to Antlers RV Park & Campground until this year. We always take our 3 kids and a few of our other friends with families and rent out about 3-4 sites. Our favorite part is sitting around the campfire telling stories and laughing but that was not allowed this year. We were constantly harassed by Marty (the owner) to stop talking and stop laughing. Even when we kept it to a wisper. We wanted to enjoy our weekend with our kids but were treated like children ourselves. For the amount of money we spent on our sites i would not go back just to be humiliated by a micro-managing owner who has no consideration for his customers.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mama6183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntlersRVPark, Owner at Antlers RV Park and Campground, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
What this reviewer failed to mention was that the time they chose to sit "around the campfire telling stories and laughing" was into the wee hours of the night. We have a family oriented campground. Quiet time is 11 p.m. After numerous complaints from surrounding campsites (every night they stayed), we had to do something. Marty (micro-managing owner) politely explained the situation to them repeatedly. After night two, they were told they would have to stop or they would be asked to leave. They threatened us by saying they were going to post a bad review of our campground. We have nothing but consideration for our customers, every single one of them that repeatedly complained about these campers and their loud voices and laughing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumwater, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I love the long lead into the campground and the way it opens up into a wonderful place to spend several days. Sitting on the deck overlooking the lake was fabulous, and walking along the train tracks surrounded by red dirt was awsome. The owners were as sweet as can be and very helpful. If my dog could talk, she would "dito" what I am saying, as all 3 of us had the time of our lives. When we called this year to make a last minute reservation, the owner tried his best to find us a place. I will just make sure to book ahead, as this place is worth coming to year after year. This was the best camping trip so far!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justsherry67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manteca
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2010

This was our first time camping here and I would definitely go again. There were 25 of us from 40 to the age of 2. The campsites were very clean. We went in July so it was really hot but the pool was very refreshing. The only thing that is going to keep us from going back is that it was very difficult to park our boat in the campsite that we had. The actual campsite was huge. Just that when we tried to back it in the trees were in the way.....leaving your boat at the marina is an option just one that my husband won't do. Great place. Very clean.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2camp_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

We stumbled upon this place after planning to stay at another site (unnamed) which was not at all what we expected. Marty and Nikki were the most helpful and gracious hosts. Marty came by to make his rounds on his cart just after we parked. He hooked up our sewer connection (even provided a missing connection not with our rented RV) and then dropped off a bundle of firewood. Complimentary! Also loaned us a cable wire someone had left behind in case we wanted to watch TV.
The owners leave a phone number on the office door and let you know you can call 24/7 if you need. And Virgil, the night security guard, makes the rounds so you feel safe.
We stayed at site 77 and it was a very large well maintained RV area. We biked to and from the laundry and showers in the main area. Only had two problems - the shower water varied between scalding and frigid, so made this a quick effort and constantly turning the knob. And a neighbor left his barking (yalping) dog out one night - I reported this to Nikki upion leaving and she said this was not the first complaint and they would talk to him again.
We also rented a patio boat from the business next door (not same owners i believe.) A bit pricey for an old boat, but fun to see the Lake.
Would LOVE to go back again sometime when the place is busier. At this time of year the store and food service weren't open yet for the season. But weather was great and kids enjoyed biking, playing on the playground, shooting hoops, etc.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RBforMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakehead
18.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Twin View Inn & Suites
18.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
18.6 mi away
Ramada Limited Redding
Ramada Limited Redding
#26 of 37 in Redding
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Dunsmuir Lodge
Dunsmuir Lodge
#4 of 6 in Dunsmuir
102 reviews
24.1 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#6 of 6 in Dunsmuir
71 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Inn at Shasta Lake
The Inn at Shasta Lake
#1 of 2 in Lakehead
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antlers RV Park and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antlers RV Park and Campground

Property: Antlers RV Park and Campground
Address: 20682 Antlers Road, Lakehead, CA
Location: United States > California > Lakehead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Lakehead
Number of rooms: 110
Also Known As:
Antlers Rv Park And Campground Hotel Lakehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing