We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexcian food in South OC”

La Cocina DE Ricardo
Ranked #16 of 275 Restaurants in Lake Forest
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
SoCal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Mexcian food in South OC”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

They have the best food and very reasonable priced. The service is a bit slow as far as getting your bill not in getting your food. The food is always nice and hot.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank S-Stuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    4
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best place for Mexican Food in the city!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Excellent Mexican food. Nothing fancy about the resturant but if you want really good tasty mexican food then this place is for you.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alohaboys4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best Mexican food in South OC”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Every single time we go to La Cocina de Ricardo, it becomes a memorable day! The food is delicious, the service is amazing, and there is no pressure or rush to make you pay the bill, this is really authentic! I recommend the Shrimp Diablo!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Sorry, but to me it was only Slightly Above Average”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I would give this place 3 1/2 stars if I could. It's a little above average, but the service was slow and the shredded beef in my taquitos were very tough. The soft shell shrimp taco left me wondering if there were any shrimp in it and it was very bland. The chips were strangely bland, too, although the salsa was homemade and very good. The chile relleno, on the other hand, was excellent and the shredded beef taco was good. The guacamole was delicious. Ricardo seemed like a nice man.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Atmosphere, Friendly Service”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

La Cocina de Ricardo (I call it "Ricardo's") is my favorite Mexican restaurant in Lake Forest. I often eat there and have never been disappointed. The eponymous Ricardo is one of the friendliest restauranteurs I have ever met. He is unassuming, yet does not hesitate to wait tables or assist in the kitchen when things are busy. The food is authentic Jalisco fare and everything I have ever had is wonderful. I usually order the quesadilla combination, but I can also recommend the fajitas, the carnitas, and the tamales. The wait staff is great. They have all been there a while, which speaks well of their workplace. Ricardo's gives you great food and a neighborhood feeling at a reasonable price. You can't ask for much more than that.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina DE Ricardo also viewed

Lake Forest, Orange County
Mission Viejo, Orange County
 
Laguna Hills, Orange County
 

Been to La Cocina DE Ricardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing