We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average !”
Review of Wahoo's Fish Taco - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wahoo's Fish Taco
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
497 reviews
332 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Average !”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I went to this place located at Irvine Spectrum, during my stay in irvine. I ordered for some options & a beer.

The taste was just about OK and I struggled to finish my food

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ameyajoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“I Am Absolutely Bewildered”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have been eating at various Wahoo's Fish Tacos restaurants for almost 25 years. I love the food and that it is consistently delicious at each of their locations.

For some reason, I am unable to get my order properly prepared at this location. I have a simple request: "A side of white beans and brown rice, with more beans than rice." Simple, right? Apparently not. Every single time, I check my order and it's wrong; there are hardly any white beans, and almost all brown rice. Well, I take that back - sometimes I am served black beans and white rice (when I've paid more for the opposite). Most commonly, though, I have hardly any beans, and a LOT of rice.

I'm not opposed to brown rice, mind you; it's just that it's pretty dry without mixing in a lot of white beans with it. But whatever my reason for ordering as I do, I remain utterly perplexed about why NOBODY at this particular location can get my order right. I mean, I'm not ordering a lot of food; this is not part of a large, complicated order. This IS my order, this and a side of chips and salsa.

A few days ago, I finally thought I'd outsmarted them! I decided that if they couldn't understand my simple request, I would order a LARGE side of white beans and a SMALL side of brown rice. Ha! That would *assure* the proper proportions, right? NOPE! I was served (and charged for) a LARGE side of each!

I wouldn't mention this in a review given that it seems like such a trivial matter and I'm not typically given to complaining, but this has happened every single time I've been to this location in the last nine or so months - at least ten times. I used to come here weekly or more, but I grew weary of this happening each time. I've finally given up.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food, good refreshment!”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Great food! Very refreshing! Glad i found a source of Mexican deliciousness.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HazelDell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“If you want a fish taco...”
Reviewed April 23, 2009

If you want a fish taco this is the place to go. Mitzi loves em.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Blackened fish tacos! been to this one too..... consitently great..... all of their locations”
Reviewed August 7, 2008

Blackened fish tacos! been to this one too..... consitently great..... all of their locations

Helpful?
Thank AnthonyGSan Diego
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wahoo's Fish Taco also viewed

 
Lake Forest, Orange County
Lake Forest, Orange County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing