We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Candlewood Suites” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Orange County/ Irvine East

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Orange County/ Irvine East
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Lake Forest
United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average Candlewood Suites”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was an average Candlewood Suites. The suite was clean enough, however, the service at this Candlewood Suites is lacking. The internet wasn't working for nearly 3 days and then when it was working, I could barely get a connection. After asking the front desk too many times, I just gave up and went to the nearby Starbucks. I think the best thing about this place was the fitness room. Seems like all the equipment was new. The laundry room is a nice convienence, but it was always crowded. You will need to do your laundry late at night. I think I was doing my laundry at 1am. I'm not sure about the mini market they have here. The shelves were bare everyday. Maybe they just sell out all the time? Someone needs to work on the hotel areas. The sitting area outside near the BBQ's were always a mess, cigarette butts and trash everywhere and the floors and carpet just were not clean. This hotel really should find a place for all the smokers. There is a lot of smokers everywhere, even at the entrance. I couldn't get away from them. It just would be nice to sit outside without smoke in your face.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 3rd floor. Part of this floor I was told is smoking. I could smell smoke all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Endlssummr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Orange County/ Irvine East, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear CenCoastSurfer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased to know that you found our suites clean and apologize for the inconvenience the service may have caused you. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    29
    19
    11
    7
See reviews for
17
21
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was a great find. Hotels can get very expensive in So Cal and this was a great value (paid $90 per night). Only downfall is that it is a little off the beat and path. However it is easy to get to the highway and the beach cities. The room was very clean and modern, very comfortable bed and quiet. Will for sure stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdmjohn71970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week. We were completely satisfied. We specifically booked this hotel because of the full kitchen. There are a several grocery stores nearby and we stocked up when we first arrived. We liked that the hotel is close to both I-5 and I-405 so getting around the area was easy. There are restaurants nearby - we enjoyed Mimi's Cafe and the Thai Garden.

The only problem we had was that the first room assigned to us was adjacent to smoking rooms, and there was a strong odor of smoke in the hall outside our room. We asked to be moved and the front desk put us on another floor which seemed to be all non-smoking, so that solved the problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mister_Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

It is clean and quiet. That is all that a business trip needs. I saw a lady bringing in her dog though I don't see dog hair in my room. It has a shaky elevator and the license has been expired. Lack of indicator and signs, it was hard for me to locate the elevator.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smallhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Orange County/ Irvine East, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear smallhan,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you found our hotel clean and quiet. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. We are sorry that you had difficulty in finding the elevator. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your feedback is important to us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here, this time for some 9 days.
I chose it for the full kitchen and the lack of housekeeping.
The housekeeping is once a week which means that you can spread out and not clean before the cleaner.
I go to the supermarket and buy food and then can cook rather than be disappointed from the lack of real eateries!
The rooms are fine, the kitchen good except the vegetable cutting knife was one with a bendy handle and in fact broke in mid cut.
I did not have any noise problems even being on the ground floor.
I will come back next year

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Bustrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I recently stayed here on business. Just for one night, but that was enough to be honest. I was put into room 130, right beside the amenities, and the noise from that room throughout the night prevented a good nights sleep. If they offer this room to you, I strongly recommend you request another.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 130. You will not sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redwards81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Orange County/ Irvine East, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Redwards81,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the noise during your stay. We will look into this point. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I loved staying in this area as its quiet and decent, the rooms were clean and comfortable. however i woke up to a disturbance at 8-8:30am, housekeeping staff was being very inconsiderate, loud and obnoxious and acting VERY immature in the hallways. its like really??????? who acts like that? Managers need to train the housekeepers to teach them some manners and be considerate to guests who are trying to relax/sleep. I am probably not coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nini0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Orange County/ Irvine East, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear nini0,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding our housekeepers. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Forest
1.8 mi away
Prominence Hotel & Suites
Prominence Hotel & Suites
#7 of 10 in Lake Forest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
4.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Irvine Spectrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Irvine Spectrum Hotel
2.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orange County - Lake Forest
3.2 mi away
Laguna Hills Lodge
Laguna Hills Lodge
#1 of 4 in Laguna Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Orange County/ Irvine East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Orange County/ Irvine East

Property: Candlewood Suites Orange County/ Irvine East
Address: 3 S Pointe Dr, Lake Forest, CA 92630-2204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Lake Forest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Lake Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Orange County/ Irvine East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home™ Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites-Irvine East Hotel is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator/ice maker, microwave, range, and dishwasher. Traveling on business? Bring your laptop and work efficiently at your executive desk. Communication is no problem with voicemail, free local calls, free high speed Internet access and two separate phone lines. Borrow your favorite movie or music from the hotel library and enjoy in your room from the comfort of your recliner. Hungry? Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. Work off some stress in our 24-hour Fitness Center. Staying a long time? Take advantage of our on-site complimentary laundry facility. We re a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). The Candlewood Suites is conveniently located near the Irvine Spectrum and Foothill Ranch business communities and just 10 minutes from the Orange County/John Wayne Airport (SNA). Nearby attractions include the Irvine Spectrum Entertainment Center featuring 21 stadium theaters, a comedy club and a variety of restaurants, bars and specialty shops. Laguna Beach and the Verizon Amphitheatre are also minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Orange County/ Irvine East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Orange County/ Irvine East Hotel Lake Forest
Candlewood Suites Lake Forest
Candlewood Lake Forest
Lake Forest Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing