We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic accommadation, not one of our favourite memories”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Orange County/ Irvine East
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Lake Forest
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very basic accommadation, not one of our favourite memories”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We booked this directly, and requested two rooms adjoining/closely as traveling with teenagers.
When we arrived we were told they had no rooms closely, so they had two rooms on opposite ends of the building. The place is pet friendly, so there is a definite odour in the rooms and hallways. The rooms were not very clean, and could do with a good clean throughout.
Unfortunately my son became sick the first night we arrived, so I ended up spending the night with him as was our rooms were too far away from each other.
Would I come back, the answer is no.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, so could hear guests outside having a cigarette & talking . So if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimz40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Orange County/ Irvine East, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear mimz40,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the room request. Kindly be assured that this matter will be looked into. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    29
    19
    11
    7
See reviews for
17
21
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Candlewood Suites is a predictably easy place to stay. If you've stayed at one, you know what you're getting. You can pick up some eggs or cereal and not have to search for breakfast. There is always coffee in the lobby. The little packets of coffee for the little coffee maker in the room are always awful in our estimation. We actually travel with a few coffee filters and pick up some Starbucks so we can take our time in the mornings.

This particular Candlewood is near some great shopping and dining - the Irvine Spectrum. It's near the 5 and the 405.

The staff were all friendly. Our room was VERY clean and we never heard another guest. It seems to be primarily used for business travelers. That's a bonus in our opinion.

We usually travel with our small dog, but did not this time. Candlewood has accommodated our dog easily in the past, and we found this Candlewood to be pet friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudithM192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

My first review with Trip Advisor. I just had to give a shout out to Lauriee, the manager, and her wonderful, cheerful staff here at Candlewood Suites in Lake Forest.

My husband, myself and our 50 pound dog are in the process of relocating to Orange County from Canada. We needed a place to stay for several weeks while we were look for a house. After reading other Trip Advisor reviews, and going on the Candlewood website, I decided that this hotel had a lot going for it like a FULL kitchen with two-burner stove and dishwasher. They even let us borrow a toaster over to bake something for dinner. The bathrooms are really clean and spacious. Bed is very comfortable. Everything is remodelled.

Everyone here is so helpful. We needed some documents printed and the front desk has helped us with this several times for a very reasonable rate per page.

The rooms are cleaned weekly, but you can exchange towels and sheets whenever you need them. You can borrow DVDs from the front desk, buy snacks on site, free coffee, and the laundry is free of charge with many machines. Safe parking lot and very quiet area.

I recommend the suite with the separate bedroom. Costs a bit more, but well worth it if there will be more than one of you, and you will be here for awhile. Has a pull out sofa and two TVs.

Lovely park called Rancho Serrano just up the street for walking your dog. Nice pathways all around this area of Lake Forest. If you have a car, there are lots of restaurants along El Toro Road about 5 minutes drive. Otherwise, there are Starbucks, McDonald's, KFC, El Pollo Loco, Quiznos and two sushi places that you can walk to in just a few minutes.

Room Tip: Get a room away from an exit if you are on the main floor>
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ducktollerintheOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Residing here on business while looking to relocate. Outstanding value. Clean and recently updated rooms. Perfect location. Professional management and courteous staff. Good place to stay for the business traveler.

Room Tip: Great place to stay if your there longer than a week
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is geared to those who stay at least a week. If you do, the prices are lower. The rooms are clean, but there is no maid service except for one day a week. Each room has a full kitchen with stove, refrigerator and utensils for cooking and eating. The staff are helpful and courteous. The hotel is quiet and is set back from Bake Parkway.

There are fast-food restaurants nearby, including a Pollo Loco, McDonalds and others. A supermarket is not far away. I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and discovered that they have had a recent renovation of the rooms and facility. While there is no swimming pool, there is an exercise room and laundry along with snack machines.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Call ahead and be ready to spend more than a few days here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jthomas1139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

They have a huge problem with a Internet,it is very slow and most of the time there is no Internet. I complain few times but it seems nothing happening. I stayed there for 5 months. The dishwasher is leaking,the curtain felt from the window. Every room stings different. You need to stay for at least few weeks so you can use to the smell.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepe77bg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Orange County/ Irvine East, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Pepe77bg,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Nice comfortable place for the business traveler. Kitchens were nice to make a quick meal in.
Laundry is FREE, Friendly staff
As a heads up since this a extended stay suite rooms are only made after seven days of stay,
Close to the 405 and 15-20 minutes from SNA airport with no traffic

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manchvegas_03103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Forest
1.8 mi away
Prominence Hotel & Suites
Prominence Hotel & Suites
#7 of 10 in Lake Forest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Irvine Spectrum Hotel
4.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orange County - Lake Forest
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Irvine Spectrum
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Irvine Spectrum/Lake Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Orange County/ Irvine East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Orange County/ Irvine East

Property: Candlewood Suites Orange County/ Irvine East
Address: 3 S Pointe Dr, Lake Forest, CA 92630-2204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Lake Forest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Lake Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Orange County/ Irvine East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home™ Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites-Irvine East Hotel is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator/ice maker, microwave, range, and dishwasher. Traveling on business? Bring your laptop and work efficiently at your executive desk. Communication is no problem with voicemail, free local calls, free high speed Internet access and two separate phone lines. Borrow your favorite movie or music from the hotel library and enjoy in your room from the comfort of your recliner. Hungry? Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. Work off some stress in our 24-hour Fitness Center. Staying a long time? Take advantage of our on-site complimentary laundry facility. We re a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). The Candlewood Suites is conveniently located near the Irvine Spectrum and Foothill Ranch business communities and just 10 minutes from the Orange County/John Wayne Airport (SNA). Nearby attractions include the Irvine Spectrum Entertainment Center featuring 21 stadium theaters, a comedy club and a variety of restaurants, bars and specialty shops. Laguna Beach and the Verizon Amphitheatre are also minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Orange County/ Irvine East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Orange County/ Irvine East Hotel Lake Forest
Candlewood Suites Lake Forest
Candlewood Lake Forest
Lake Forest Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing