We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Candlewood Suites Orange County/ Irvine East
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
30
33
19
11
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
33
19
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslaundry roomhonor systemorange countyfront deskfree laundryfresh towelsfull size refrigeratorquiet locationpantrykitchenetteirvinegymbusinessdishwasherblenderamtrakloan
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 102 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2011

i recently stayed here for 3 nights. This was my first stay at a all suite extended stay hotel. I was really impressed that everything I would need would be there. I mean everything, even for the fully equipped kitchen. As another hotel employee, this place was top notch. I would highly recommend this place.. Staff was excellent. good job. thanks. Very well kept property!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherri g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Beware: Stay here only if you don't mind paying for your own room while subsidizing what seem to be homeless Section 8 voucher recipients and what the front desk politely refers to as "long-term guests."

We stayed in this motel because it allowed pets. We arrived and were immediately greeted by two dogs off leash, rushing towards our caged pet birds and hands full of luggage. The dogs' owner, whom we later learned was one of the taxpayer-subsidized occupants, did nothing to control the dogs.

At 10:30 a.m. these freeloading guests staked a claim to the only barbeque area, along with the benches for that wing of the motel, and completely monopolized this area for 12+ hours. While outside they drank liquor and beer, barbequed constantly, and filed every nearby garbage can inside and outside with Krispy Kreme donut boxes and beer bottles as they watched people come and go. They also let their dogs be off-leash, played a radio, strummed guitars and sang until almost 11:00 p.m., when they were finally escorted back to their rooms after our second complaint.

The on-duty desk clerk to whom we first complained completely minimized our concerns, saying they were partying because they were long-term guests who had formed close bonds with other long-term guests, it was the 4th of July, and that basically they had priority over other paying guests. We told her their noise level is not allowed at any motel and that if we are paying guests (not to mention we are paying for them, too), we expect to have the full use of the property and the quiet enjoyment of such.

The only things good about this hotel are that it is located in a convenient part of Orange County, is in an office/ light industrial and residential part of Lake Forest, with plenty of places to walk.

Because the homeless voucher program is becoming widespread, especially in California, any hotel or hotel chain accepting government payments should show enough respect towards their paying guests to disclose this fact. This way, paying guests can choose whether to pay for a vacation or business stay in the same place where, as taxpayers, they are also paying for others to stay for free.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pelehu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHG Care at Candlewood Suites Orange County/ Irvine East, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2011

Dear Pelehu,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. We will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again.

I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. IHGCare ^bj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I love going to this hotel just to get away from the hustle and bustle of every day life from time to time. The rooms are like mini apartments, and the staff is always friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: Just the queen suite is the best value!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank d3vilkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We were very unhappy with our stay here. When we arrived, the room temperature was 78 degrees. We found out why when we turned on the a/c and discovered that it was unbelievably loud. Every time it cycled on during the night, we woke up. There were also loud bangs periodically outside our room - we don't know what they were but they were highly disruptive (they went on ALL NIGHT).

The location is surprising for a hotel. It is surrounded by non-retail offices and manufacturing, also car repair places. Across the street is a large empty(?) area that is fenced in with barbed wire around the top.

We will definitely not stay here again and we do NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We were just here for one night but since we were bringing our baby and dog, we were expecting an actual suite - one with a separate sleeping area and living space. Unfortunately, we got a studio suite which meant we had to go to bed when the baby went to bed - at 7pm! Oh well. The room was nice enough and clean. There were no special accommodations for the dog, but that was fine. There were bushes and some grass patches in front to relieve the dog so that worked fine. My only compliant is that the lobby smelled very perfumy and the bed was not comfortable for me. My husband had no issue though so I guess that's subjective. Th location is semi-industrial but walking distance to several restaurants including McDonalds and Starbucks.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chilly62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews