We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly and unclean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Orange County - Lake Forest
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Lake Forest
Wonder Lake, Illinois
1 review
“Smelly and unclean”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel had a horrible smell, the room was not clean and was not properly stocked. I will never stay here again. For example, when we first checked in there was a spilled ash tray in the hall. Three days later it was still there. I didn't even realize until I was walking to my room that the hotel permitted smoking on its premises.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    13
    12
    15
    14
See reviews for
34
16
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you're looking for a super clean, quiet, comfortable hotel with excellent management & staff, and all the comforts of home (refrigerator, microwave, cable tv, free internet, etc.) you'll be very happy here! And dogs are welcome!!

Starting from my initial call to book a room (Lupe the manager answered) to the front desk staff & especially the gentleman who works the night shift (everyone was helpful & friendly)! Clean, quiet & comfortable - good price & conveniently located! You sense that customer service is a top priority!

I feel super fortunate to have found the Extended Stay America in Lake Forest! It's a gem of a place! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetP777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stay here at least once a month for a few days at a time; staff at the front is always friendly and helpful with my needs. this is teh best of teh 3 ESA's i have stayed at 2 in the same city...this one is best. out of the way slightly, but quiet.

Great oatmeal for Bfast, but there is a great coffee place on the corner!

Room Tip: Non smoking rooms facing Lake Forest are very quiet and breezy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Bleached everything in the place. Handles, shower, shower handles. ALL the silverware and glass ware. Countertops REMOTE CONTROL. Luckily they wash with bleach when washing the sheets. Smelled icky before I cleaned. Stayed and dealt with it because it has modern features and close to parking. I have difficulty walking and I have a dog and they accept dogs.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaligirlinTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - Lake Forest, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am glad that we were able to accommodate you and your dog. We are very happy with our location and that we offer parking on-site; it is great to know that this was a plus for you. Please accept my apologies that your room did not meet our cleanliness standards. I am working with my staff to ensure that this does not happen again in the future.

I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at laf@extendedstay.com. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This place was perfect for me as I was "in-between" looking for a new place to live and working full-time. The staff is very friendly; they would recognize me and greet me warmly. The rooms are large and clean. As each room is equipped with a fridge, stove and coffee maker, I was able to bring food and eat there with no problem. There is a beautiful trail right behind the hotel that offers a great view if the sunset. This is definitely a quiet and cozy place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeincali49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - Lake Forest, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review. I'm so pleased to hear that you you were able to enjoy the amenities in your room and the walking trail behind our hotel. As well, thank you for recognizing my staff.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I haven't been home to California for a couple of years now. I finally was able to fly down for St. Patty's this year and originally stayed at the Courtyard Marriot in Foothill Ranch. It cost a lot, but I figured that it was because of the name Marriot. The hotel was pretty empty though, and I found out after booking, that it did not include breakfast! Not to mention, the pool gate was broken so they had to have maintenance let me in!
Anyway, that was that hotel. I was there 2 nights and only expected to be.
Come St. Patty's day, I ended up needing an extra night and when I inquired the cost at my original hotel, it was WAAAAYYY more than what my 2 nights previously had been. In fact, it was the equivalent of the 2 nights stay plus a bottle of their water! Terrible!
So I went looking.
I found Extended Stay Lake Forest. When I went in I was greated with a genuine smile from the clerk and he told me the price for the room for one nights stay. It was less than my 2 night package at the other hotel! I was won over INSTANTLY!
So I took the room, and he told me there was even a grab and go breakfast the next morning to which my eyes were like saucers. Extended Stay just continued to blow me away!
When I got to my room, it was very cozy and well put together. Quiet too!!!
I will most definitely be coming here any time I need a hotel in the area, and have already told many of my family and friends about this location.
Extended Stay Lake Forest, I'll be giving you a jingle the next time I fly home!!!

Room Tip: I got the 3rd floor. It was really quiet up there! I loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - Lake Forest, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Extended Stay America Lake Forest. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
105 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I got this room on a deal with Hotewire.com, so the price was quite a bargain.

I only had to spend a night on my way from LA to Laguna beach, so I'm not sure on whether this location would fit with anyone else's needs, but it did the job well for me.

I liked the spacious room and the good WiFi signal in the room.

Breakfast is very basic (coffee, fruit, snack and oatmil)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank elodTlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - Lake Forest, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so very much for your nice review of our property. Whenever I read comments like yours, it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. We were among the first in the industry to identify a need for a fully functional hotel suite, complete with range top and full refrigerator. We know that this offering is compelling because of the continued compliments we receive from guests like you. Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Forest
0.6 mi away
Prominence Hotel & Suites
Prominence Hotel & Suites
#7 of 10 in Lake Forest
197 reviews
2.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Orange County/ Irvine East
4.7 mi away
Laguna Hills Lodge
Laguna Hills Lodge
#1 of 4 in Laguna Hills
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Foothill Ranch Irvine East/Lake Forest
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine East / Lake Forest
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Orange County - Lake Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Orange County - Lake Forest

Property: Extended Stay America - Orange County - Lake Forest
Address: 20251 Lake Forest Dr, Lake Forest, CA 92630-8130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Lake Forest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Lake Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Orange County - Lake Forest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Orange County - Lake Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Lake Forest
Lake Forest Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing