We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th of July at Lucille's BBQ”

Lucille's Smokehouse BBQ
Ranked #2 of 275 Restaurants in Lake Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Lake Forest, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“4th of July at Lucille's BBQ”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had a great lunch after watching the local Lake Forest 4th of July Parade. Food was great, service was friendly and very attentive. Lucille's is pricey, but the food is excellent. No wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    78
    37
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“BBQ Beat Down!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Lucille's has great food at a good price. The drinks are enormous so you rarely have to get a refill and the food is terrific if you enjoy good home cooked bbq. Ex. chicken, pulled pork, ribs, tri-tip, etc. Check this place out and you will not be disappointed...Just a tip, make reservations before hand or else you might be waiting outside for a bit before being seated.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sammy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Supberb Ribs”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It's Memorial Day afternoon, families are home cooking on the BBQ, but we enjoy someone else doing the cooking! Not busy, no wait. We had our dog with us, as they are dog friendly and allowed on the patio. Service - friendly and efficient. Well trained staff to up-sale with appetizers, drinks, desserts.
Food VERY PLENTIFUL. We would skip the deep-fried pickles next time.
Moist ribs, yet crunchy outside! The peanut slaw is different and tasty! The biscuits with apple-cinnamon butter MUCH better than moms!
Perfect for LARGE groups with LARGE appetites.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great baby back ribs, one of the best I had.”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Ate here with the whole family and eveyone enjoyed their ribs. It was seasoned perfectly, and falls off the bone tenderness.
Tried their beef brisket too, it was dry and cut thick making it bit tough. Guess you better stick with their ribs. Chicken ceasar salad was average, corn chowder soup is flavorful and worth trying, their corn bread is fresh and tastes great.
Overall, I'd come back here mainly for their ribs and great service. Price is reasonable give the quality of food and portions they provide.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeCarmona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service is hit and miss”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We live close so we eat here every few weeks. The wait staff is pretty hit and miss--on our last visit the place had an average size crowd and was not busy at all...After seating and placing our initial order we were asked again what we ordered by 3 different waiters. We then waited for 30 minutes, never having another visit from a waiter during the wait--not even to check on us for drinks or anything. My wife finally went to the bar and asked for help, and a 4th waiter came by and asked what we ordered. We said forget it and paid for our drink and left. A disorganized place that is consistently good and bad--it doesn't matter if they are busy or not.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 344John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucille's Smokehouse BBQ also viewed

Laguna Hills, Orange County
 
Lake Forest, Orange County
Lake Forest, Orange County
 
Lake Forest, Orange County
Lake Forest, Orange County
 

Been to Lucille's Smokehouse BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing