We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chillingham Castle
Nearby Hotels
$173
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Victoria Hotel(Bamburgh)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
St Aidan Hotel(Seahouses)
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveler rating
114
37
17
16
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
114
37
17
16
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsghost tourtea roomtorture chambersir humphreystately homesteeped in historyfour posteropen fireliving roomwell worth a visitparanormal activityfascinating experiencedungeonspookywakefieldhauntedapartment
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 212 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2009

I have visited Chillingham castle several times and stayed for a week in August 2005, four of us stayed in the Landseer apartment and if you read the guest book if it is still in there, you will see from my comments i did not want to return and was ready to leave after 3 nights, not because we didn't have an enjoyable time but because i was so scared we all ended sleeping in one bed and then upstairs for the last part of our stay, we caught something on camera from the Chapel and had the camera on lock-off when we went out for the evening and it was changed over on a bank holiday with nobody in the castle but us and the manager. It was all very interesting the castle has so much history and waking up in the morning having all the castle to ourselves and walking through the grounds as the sun broke through the morning mist was worth all the money the stay at chillingham cost me, we had a great log wood burner, the kitchen was well fitted and yes the bathroom and bedrooms were a bit damp but i was staying in a castle that is hundreds of years old, Sir Humphrey (when he returned from London) towards the end of our stay was lovely. If i hadn't been so scared i would have gone back, for the experience and beauty i would recommend it..... Diane Barron

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diddly38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Arrived in the afternoon and was greeted by the manager of the castle who was very polite and informative. We were shown to our apartment ' The Courtyard Apartment' which was very basic. Furniture in the living area was old, dirty, sunken chairs/sofas, very worn and material on cushions ripped. Only hot water was from the shower, if you put taps on in kitchen/bathroom would only get cold water from them. Take plenty of warm clothing for sitting in apartment as there's only a small electric heater in living area. There are also heaters in bedrooms.
We didn't complain as we thought that this was the norm and the other apartments would be the same........but next day on our departure we bumped into the cleaning lady who let us look around another apartment and to our surprise it was lovely and clean with more up to date furniture and that was before she cleaned it!!
Overall, a great place to stay for the experience of being in a haunted castle with its dungeons and torture chamber. The ghost tour is a must but make sure you take a torch as you walk through the woods at night, pretty scary. We would definatley go back in the future but stay in a different apartment.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jassx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

the castle,the staff, bar one,the grounds,the atmosphere,the whole package was unbelievable.well worth the money,but well worth the experience. the best 3 days i have had since dublin in 2004,shame about the "manager" who we thought was the groundsman,had the man management skills of a nazi stormtrooper,good job the excellent staff didn't follow suit,they were great,will defintely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gordonwright5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Staff that had trouble speaking english . That was a great start and it didnt improve much from there. Facilities are medieval as was the service.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank scotts9401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

My sister and I travelled to Chillingham Castle and it was truly a unique and wonderful experience. Frankly I'm confused by some of the comments here. We stayed in the Lookout Apartment and there was no bad smell, plenty of hot water and the apartment was clean. It came with a small fridge that worked very well and lots of dishes and cooking utensils. The furniture is a mish mash of odd pieces some which have seen better days but that added to the charm. If you come here expecting a 5 star hotel then you've missed the whole point.
I considered it a privledge to stay in such a historic castle and I want nothing more than to return again. It was an intriguing adventure with dungeons, torture chamber and topiary garden. Thank you Sir Humphry Wakefield.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travellergirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews