We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Castle”
Review of Chillingham Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chillingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chillingham Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I'm off to one of my favourite places on Monday, Chillingham Castle! My wife and I have been staying at this Castle since 2006 and absolutely love the place. The place is filled with such amazing history and atmosphere. Our stay is always the most relaxing break we could ask for.

However, I must comment on the review by "traveller 1367" further down the page. While I do agree with the point about some apartments could do with a little updating, other comments are way of the mark. The comments about The Chillingham Uncovered Paranormal team are so wrong. They are very much connected to the castle, they are the castles paranormal team and have been doing these vigils since 2010, not for the last two years as the gentlemen suggests, I know this because I went to their first ever event in 2010 and have been back 3 times to a vigil and twice for a ghost tour. As for the comment about getting their information only through guides and stewards at the castle, Graeme, the guy who runs the vigils is actually the head guide at the castle as well. I first met Graeme way back in 2007 at the castle and is the most genuine approachable guy I have had the pleasure to meet. His knowledge of history and paranormal on the castle is brilliant.
Yes, they do letter boards and table tipping (just like most other groups)if the guests ask for it but they don't come on the table with the guests, they stand and supervise. Graeme never presents anything like that as evidence, he always debunks activity first if he can. I have never ran around the courtyard with "gizmos" we have moved from room to room..The team always say you don't need equipment to contact spirit but it is there if you want it, and some of the public do use it but not many. My experiences on the vigils have been a real eye opener as have the apartments.

I know the castle allows other groups to do investigations, ghostnortheast, spiritseekers,etc they have no connection to the castle, they just hire it for the night, maybe this "traveller got mixed up with the groups. Yes it is £60pp for vigils but well worth it but I must point out that the team do this voluntary, the money goes to the castle.

The vigils are not every weekend, only about 15 a year which isn't many really. I suppose such events and other events have to take place for the upkeep of the castle.Also, Graeme sorts out a lot of the events at the castle, and I know this because when I rang to book an event it was passed to Graeme to deal with.

It doesn't sound like this gentleman has met Graeme or his team or knows the facts of the castle.

Anyway, the Castle and grounds are an amazing place to visit or stay overnight. Whichever you decide to do, you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Chillingham Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 202 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

Firstly let me make myself clear: I love this castle. For many years I have been a visitor and a resident, back even to they days when it was only £25 per apartment! In recent years the prices have increased, as they should but the apartments have been neglected. Sadly the Chillingham experience has also suffered.

What was once a quiet relaxed castle has turned into a haunted house. There is now a group who run all night vigils in the castle and they simply ruin the atmosphere of the once grand home of Sir Humphrey Wakefield.

Now there are groups of people running around the courtyard with gizmos for finding the dead, people standing in the woods (the monks trail is real yet the arch is of a early monastery not a part of the castle in anyway at all, in fact it pre-dates it) on "lone vigils" and others using Ouija boards trying to contact the evil spirit of John Sage (who, it is worth pointing out, HAS NEVER EXISTED and was created for a story for a radio show, not a single record of this man exists at all-ditto all stories about bodies in the lake, it was dredged and expanded 6 years ago).

In short, there are a lot of stories that are not true yet peddled by the "Chillingham Uncovered" team as evidence. These people, it is worth noting, have no connection to the castle, the Wakefields, the history of the castle and despite their claims, they have not been working in the castle for very long. They have been there for 2 years, and rely on the tales of the actual stewards and tour guides for their stories. They demonstrate table tipping etc as evidence, (see Derren Brown for proof that all this is nonsense). They also charge you a small fortune for indulging in their fantasies. Don't do these vigils. For the same price you can stay over in your own apartment and experience so much more. The castle is very haunted, you do not need there people to have an experience.

As for the apartments, they really need a spruce up now, especially the Grey. The old rugs that cover many a sin are now dirty, threadbare and and creased. An old proggy mat sits below the woodburner and is forever full of old splinters and chinkers. There has never been a time when all of the above spotlights have worked and the lamps are on their own circuit. Well, some of them anyway. Have fun working that out, especially when the bulbs have gone. The cooker in that kitchen also needs it's dials looking at, please be careful and make sure you turn it off or you will be cooked to death!

The Lookout is dated and needs a new carpet asap. You can see the floorboards beneath.

Please Chillingham, sort it out. A once grand place is just a circus.

Clean the rooms, change the carpets, get rid of the vigils and restore yourself to your former glory.

Still a fantastic, unique place, a star removed esp. for the fantasy inducing vigil team.

Room Tip: Ask for a night when there is no vigil taking place
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank traveller1367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

4 girls went for girl break fun chilled out first night, second night is one none of us will ever forget. After hearing someone at top of stairs near the door we been 4girls alone didn't want to open the door, so we came up with a plan to video out the little window in the kitchen this window is very high up so we couldn't see what we were videoing till we viewed it back. Omg we nearly passed out 2of the girls were in tears. Caught a lady in long grey dress at door to apartment looking down the stairs then disappear through locked door into apartment.showed video to groundsman as we left he was as amazed as we are. Going to try to forward video to graham who does ghost tours 2of the girls in the party will never return terrified them myself and other girl will defiantly be back never believed in ghost before but I know the four of us were inside the room when we videoed lady out side disappear through closed lock door.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Very accomodating people and we just happened to be there when a documentary was being done and we were part of it. Had some great experiences being guided throughout the castle. Will go back one day.

Room Tip: If you want to see OLD, then this is it.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

What can I say, this castle is just Magnificent. Steeped in so much history and not all of it pleasant. Was here on a paranormal event with 9 other people. Our hosts Graham and Jill Burney were so welcoming and a lovely couple. We stayed in the coach rooms after we had done our investigation
Which was lovely and clean. Beds quite comfortable and bedclothes spotless. Apart from the reason we were there, the castle is well worth a visit, could have spent hours just listening to the history of the place as well as looking around the castle and it's grounds. A place not to be missed. Look forward to getting back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alison110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is the inaugural venture overseas to the beautiful castle know as Chillingham.. We ve travelled ore land and sea to get here and it's been a long day.. There was 10 of us travelling over and on our arrival at the castle we couldn't have asked for a more gracious, friendly welcome.... We were quickly and efficiently given our keys to the coaching rooms and escorted to them.... Lovely and warm and impeccably clean.... Have to say we were all very impressed...
During our investigation we were treated fabulously , nothing was any trouble and the activity was constant.....After we finished up we returned to our rooms and slept soundly... For anyone who is genuinely interested in architecture and history.. This is the place to be... For those of you that like the paranormal... U d be foolish not to book yourself in for the regular investigations that go on here all year round... Graham and Jill Burney and their investigative team are absolutely fabulous at their job....
We had our breakfast and checked out, but not before a walk around the lovely gardens and grounds... Was delighted to have been allowed access to this historic private house... I couldn't recommend anywhere more strongly than Chillingham castle....
BYE BYE CHILLINGHAM!!!! TILL WE MEET AGAIN!!

Nicola Tang (Phoenix Paranormal) 17- January- 2014

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Nicola2711Tang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

First off, as a couple we loved it!
We stayed in the Courtyard Room / apartment, which is on 2 floors. Ground floor is where a double room, twin room, and bathroom are. Stairs up to 1st floor is to an open plan kitchen, lounge and diner, with loads of space. There is a log burner stove in the lounge part plus electric heaters and a storage heater. It was a couple of degrees when we stayed and were plenty warm. Decor is in fitting with the rest of the castle, a right old mix! That said it made the place feel just right. Many won't like to stay here as it could be seen as rough by some. Think 'glamping'and you should be OK:-) We were given a large basket of logs with the option to buy more, the basket lasted from about 5pm till very late!
Our room was in the main part of the castle, and you do get to look at a part of the castle when you stay.
We had a good read of the reviews before we went, most who liked it described it as we expected. Being honest most who didn't like it didn't take on board these reviews and would have been better off with a hotel or bnb, which this ain't.
Go there with a sense of humour and to have a bit of fun and you will have a unique experience. We plan to go back.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Been_Aroond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chillingham
0.0 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,505 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,119 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Manor House Chillingham
The Manor House Chillingham
#1 of 1 in Chillingham
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ye Olde King's Head
Ye Olde King's Head
#4 of 78 in Chester
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chillingham Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chillingham Castle

Address: Chillingham NE66 5NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Chillingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Chillingham
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Chillingham Castle Alnwick
Chillingham Castle Hotel Alnwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing