We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place”
Review of Chillingham Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chillingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chillingham Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

What can I say, this castle is just Magnificent. Steeped in so much history and not all of it pleasant. Was here on a paranormal event with 9 other people. Our hosts Graham and Jill Burney were so welcoming and a lovely couple. We stayed in the coach rooms after we had done our investigation
Which was lovely and clean. Beds quite comfortable and bedclothes spotless. Apart from the reason we were there, the castle is well worth a visit, could have spent hours just listening to the history of the place as well as looking around the castle and it's grounds. A place not to be missed. Look forward to getting back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alison110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    36
    16
    16
    26
See reviews for
46
76
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

This is the inaugural venture overseas to the beautiful castle know as Chillingham.. We ve travelled ore land and sea to get here and it's been a long day.. There was 10 of us travelling over and on our arrival at the castle we couldn't have asked for a more gracious, friendly welcome.... We were quickly and efficiently given our keys to the coaching rooms and escorted to them.... Lovely and warm and impeccably clean.... Have to say we were all very impressed...
During our investigation we were treated fabulously , nothing was any trouble and the activity was constant.....After we finished up we returned to our rooms and slept soundly... For anyone who is genuinely interested in architecture and history.. This is the place to be... For those of you that like the paranormal... U d be foolish not to book yourself in for the regular investigations that go on here all year round... Graham and Jill Burney and their investigative team are absolutely fabulous at their job....
We had our breakfast and checked out, but not before a walk around the lovely gardens and grounds... Was delighted to have been allowed access to this historic private house... I couldn't recommend anywhere more strongly than Chillingham castle....
BYE BYE CHILLINGHAM!!!! TILL WE MEET AGAIN!!

Nicola Tang (Phoenix Paranormal) 17- January- 2014

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola2711Tang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

First off, as a couple we loved it!
We stayed in the Courtyard Room / apartment, which is on 2 floors. Ground floor is where a double room, twin room, and bathroom are. Stairs up to 1st floor is to an open plan kitchen, lounge and diner, with loads of space. There is a log burner stove in the lounge part plus electric heaters and a storage heater. It was a couple of degrees when we stayed and were plenty warm. Decor is in fitting with the rest of the castle, a right old mix! That said it made the place feel just right. Many won't like to stay here as it could be seen as rough by some. Think 'glamping'and you should be OK:-) We were given a large basket of logs with the option to buy more, the basket lasted from about 5pm till very late!
Our room was in the main part of the castle, and you do get to look at a part of the castle when you stay.
We had a good read of the reviews before we went, most who liked it described it as we expected. Being honest most who didn't like it didn't take on board these reviews and would have been better off with a hotel or bnb, which this ain't.
Go there with a sense of humour and to have a bit of fun and you will have a unique experience. We plan to go back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Been_Aroond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We were celebrating my cousins 18th birthday at the coaching rooms at chilingham castle as we've heard it's one of the most haunted castles in England, on arrival we weren't greeted properly because we all came at different time, as a first timer there it was very confusing where to go, once we arrived at the rooms we noticed a hell of a lot holes in the windows, carpets were dirty, rubbish was shoved in vases, I wouldn't let me dog lie on that floor, bedrooms were nice although yet again carpets were dirty, the bath had bleach dripping out of somewhere and had very dirty marks in fair to say we did not shower, kitchen was nice but small, the nighttime was very cold due to holes in windows! On the morning you have to check out by 10am me and my friends locked up and were set to hand the keys in, when driving up to the castle to drop the keys in the main hate was locked we had to turn around go back to the coaching rooms unlock everything and get the gate code, overall very disappointed in chillingham castle £355 for a night was a total rip off, never again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hagbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This castle instilled a real sense of what it must have been like to live in a castle around the middle ages. Certainly not posh but I'm sure it was never set out to be. I have been in castles which were indeed 'posh' and their splendour had its own charm but Chillingham just felt so authentic, despite reading how it was brought back from being a ruin so the contents haven't been there for centuries - but they have certainly been somewhere similar for centuries and they just fit! A testament to the owner. It is totally unpretentious and if you are after experiencing what it must have been like to live in a medieval castle ( Plus give or take a few centuries!) you can't go wrong. It may not be ultra comfortable but it is comfortable enough and maintains the ethos of the place .

I saw or heard no ghosts unfortunately but I was aware of certain changes in how I was feeling while walking around. The torture chamber had a sense of horror at how one human being could do this to another, the chapel felt so still and peaceful and when walking in the Great Hall my legs felt very heavy - not unpleasant of frightening - just heavy. Enough to know there was something going on and good to know it meant no harm! I didn't do the ghost tour - this time - but I will be back I am sure.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Went on a trip to this place expecting to see a proper castle furnished appropriately. What we actually saw was a collection of - well - rubbish really, masquerading as something worth seeing. There was a "torture chamber" located in a room off the courtyard. This wasn't a real torture chamber as it was furnished with wooden chairs with nails sticking up through the seat - a sort of homemade torture implement. In any case, anybody knowing anything at all about mediaeval history will know that people couldn't just set up their own torture chambers - much like they can't now! The furniture looked like it had come from Steptoe's yard and in a corner of one room was a modern toilet bowl. Not connected. Just there. The floor was covered in offcuts of old carpet - modern carpet. I could go on and on, but quite frankly there won't be enough space to write everything about the place. If you want to see a proper castle, avoid this place like the plague and go and see Alnwick instead! Everything about this place was either faked, or modern. Quite impossible to work out what its purpose is!!!!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank jacky b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent 2 nights, with our teenage grandchildren, in the Grey apartment. Very atmospheric and we all enjoyed our stay, even though younger one ended up in our bed! We found the staff very helpful and our ghost tour guide Andy was excellent. Very worth a stay if you want something different!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chillingham
0.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,457 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
947 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Manor House Chillingham
The Manor House Chillingham
#1 of 1 in Chillingham
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chillingham Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chillingham Castle

Property: Chillingham Castle
Address: Chillingham NE66 5NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Chillingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Chillingham
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Chillingham Castle Alnwick
Chillingham Castle Hotel Alnwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing