We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT PLACE FOR FAMILY VACATION”
Review of Le Four a Sel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aubas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Four a Sel
Ranked #1 of 2 Aubas B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
1 review
“EXCELLENT PLACE FOR FAMILY VACATION”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Le Four a Sel Aubas is a quaint bed and breakfast place in southern France. t is run by a wonderful couple , David and Brenda, who will guide you in exploring beautiful historic sites around the area and allow you to experience the French way of living, The rooms are clean and very cozy and the place is a great hideaway for family or friends. To be in this place is almost like being in paradise. As you gaze into the beauty of nature, there is almost a palpable hush that soothes the spirit. Canoeing on the shimmering Vizere river at the crack of dawn, hearing the rustling of leaves as you sit outside to dine in the wide open spaces, feeling the cool wind blowing on your face as you walk through the gardens are experiences that are priceless.. It is dream-like and magical. Leave your gadgets because you won't be looking for them, this place leaves you with a good feeling of peace and quiet that you will never experience elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miggy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2014

It was the most pleasant surprise and the best part of our whole trip. Here is the perfect place for recuperation after checking out the big cities. This quaint property is spacious, clean and peaceful, ideal for families or with a group of friends. Bedrooms, bathrooms, kitchen and dining area were clean and spacious. By the Vezere river, this area is popular for canoeing and fishing. Our 4 day stay was packed with visits to the nearby sights of the many chateaus, caves and historic places in this region. Would definitely go back to this place again. Thanks Brenda and David for your kind hospitality and for sharing this wonderful place to everyone.

Room Tip: "all rooms are clean and well kept, depends how big or small your group/family is"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misha05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montenach, France
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I just arrive tonight on this lovely place. The property is situated in a historic and magnificent sites. It is manage by this lovely couple David & Brenda that makes you feel at home. Guys you got to check this place out and make your stay in France complete

Room Tip: Family room makes your stay complete
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayar2014715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our group of four retired rock art enthusiasts spent six nights in the Villa Hibiscus at Le Four A Sel in September, 2013. The accommodations were perfect and the location of the B&B was ideal for seeing the many prehistoric and historic sights in the Vezere River Valley. David and Brenda were excellent hosts who provided information about the area and recommendations for fine dining nearby. We arrived after spending a week in Paris and it was a pleasant change to stay in a lovely and quiet rural setting just outside of the village of Montignac. David, our host, was also kind enough to map out for us a few of the local hiking trials which we hiked directly from our rooms. Since we were on the B&B plan, Brenda and David provided the most enjoyable breakfasts each morning with fresh baked pastry from the local shops. It was an excellent place to relax and see the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My two sons (ages 7 & 11) and I stayed in Villa Mimosa in September 2012 for six nights. It was an excellent base for exploring the wealth of fascinating sites in the area, from caves to castles. The house was lovely, with everything we needed - a well-stocked kitchen, large bathroom, and two very comfortable bedrooms. Laundry facilities are a huge plus.

The grounds offer lots of space for children to unwind and the proximity to good country walks and the lovely little restaurant in Aubas is good too.

Brenda and David were so helpful and friendly, yet not intrusive in the least. They struck just the right balance for managing accommodations like this.

This is a great area to visit and Le Four a Sel was a welcome "home" to return to every night!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaFlannery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed in the Villa Mimosa with our 2 children aged 5 and 9. We had a lovely stay there. The gite was charming and was very clean. It has a well stocked kitchen which meant we were able to cook meals when we wanted to. There are 2 bedrooms in the villa, both of which were very large. The downstairs bathroom was also a really good size. It is a beautiful property to stay in, and the surroundings are just lovely. The garden was beautiful and it was good to let the kids run around and play, while we sat in the sun enjoying a glass of wine!!! I only wish we were there in summer, because the pool looked amazing. David and Brenda were fantastic hosts. They were very friendly and had a lot of great information about the local area. I would definately stay there again and would recommend it to other families.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PF1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saundersfoot, Wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Like many others, this was a return trip. Once again, Brenda and David were incredibly helpful, whether it was giving directions to a shop some miles away, providing extra furniture, suggesting activities or places to eat, or detailing a better route back to the airport. It is an easy place to relax and fish, sunbathe, read, being in the country, yet only a couple of minutes to the restaurants and markets of Montignac. There are red squirrels and pine martens in the grounds, bats at dusk, buzzards and herons, and some birds I could not even recognize. All in all, a good time was had by all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithRichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LFAS, Owner at Le Four a Sel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Keith and Glen:
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was lovely to see you both again and we're so pleased also you made new friends during your stay. Take care and hope to welcome you here another time.

Kind regards,
David and Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aubas
1.7 mi away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
211 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le P'tit Monde
Le P'tit Monde
#4 of 5 in Montignac
51 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hostellerie La Roseraie
Hostellerie La Roseraie
#2 of 5 in Montignac
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Manoir d'Hautegente
2.2 mi away
Le Moulin de Mitou
Le Moulin de Mitou
#1 of 1 in Auriac-du-Perigord
234 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Relais du Soleil d'Or
Le Relais du Soleil d'Or
#5 of 5 in Montignac
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Four a Sel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Four a Sel

Property: Le Four a Sel
Address: Lieu Dit le Port D Aubas, 24290 Aubas, Montignac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Montignac > Aubas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aubas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Self catering Holiday Homes and Bed & Breakfast in the Dordogne,located 5 minutes from Montignac(Lascaux caves) and 25 minutes from Sarlat. Nestled in 15 acres of private grounds, in a peaceful rural setting with magnificent views, it is centrally located to explore the region, many tourist sites are just 30 minutes away. Open all year, Wifi available. Warm hospitality from friendly English owners.Facilities onsite include : Swimming pool, Table Tennis, a covered play area, an outdoor playground, garden, Private fishing on the river frontage ,parking. The holiday homes are fully furnished with well equipped kitchen, Outdoor table & chairs and BBQ's for al fresco dining. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing