We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, average property”
Review of Le Four a Sel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aubas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Four a Sel
Ranked #1 of 2 Aubas B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed for a couple of weeks in high summer. The property was clean, although the kitchen area was small it had all the required gadgets (dishwasher/microwave/coffe machine etc), nice bathroom with plenty of hot water, nice decent sized and clean pool, lovely surroundings, pretty, close enough to local town to be convenient and the friendly owners are happy to advise on local amenities and places to go etc.

There were several disppointments however; we didn't find the beds at all comfortable so didn't sleep well, the towels and bedlinen whilst clean were quite old and tired, the properties were in a disappointing state of repair (light fittings hanging out,exposed wires, loose stairgate, one room flooded, the cooker plug was burned, etc etc) which if you are after a rustic holiday and it doesn't both you is fine, but we had small children with us and felt that it was too risky an environment to be appropriately marketed as family friendly. Other child-related issues include: steep stairs, no stairgate at the bottom, long exposed riverbank, ancient rusty farm artefacts around (gives atmosphere, not great for pre-schoolers). There is a playground but the equipment is quite tired. The other thing we didn't like was that as the owners live on site they use the same facilities as the guests (e.g. washing machines, they use parts of the buildings as their storage/freezers etc), whilst this means they are accesible and around to help if necessary they were also in and out of the building complex while we were trying to enjoy family meals/have private conversations which we found intrusive at times (others may have a differnet view though, I accept) and irritatingly kept letting their large dog in to root around under the table while we were eating (again, some people would be happy with this, we were not and one of our children is frightened of dogs).

Montignac is a nice little town; good to wander about in, nice river frontage, good market, we would recommend the location. A good base to explore the area from.

Overall, it is a convenient, very quiet and pretty place to stay with lots of space, and has a number of things going for it. What it is not is luxury accommodation and for the price we ended up paying in the summer we expected rather better quality; it has a feeling of being run on a budget which was disappointing. We wouldn't necessarily warn you off staying here, but be prepared to have to supervise children fairly closely and off-peak would give it a more appropriate price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LFAS, Owner at Le Four a Sel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

The guests booked our 3 holiday houses with the intention of having sole and exclusive use of the property. So they were surprised to discover upon arrival, that we, the owners, lived onsite. They admitted they had overlooked this detail which was clearly stated on the homepage of our website as they said they regularly went on holiday as a group and always chose holiday houses where no one else would be around (including the owners) . The day after their arrival, they had snapped off and broken the pool alarm, which they left at the bottom of the pool. We discovered this now unuseable equipment at the end of the day during our routine check. At first they tried to deny it but as they were the only guests on site who used the pool, they eventually accepted liability and as per terms of the rental contract, grudgingly paid for the replacement of the alarm. This incident which happened at the start of their holiday, together with overlooking the fact we lived on site, already set the tone of the holiday at the outset. Our presence alone on the premises was unwelcome .
Booking our 3 houses allows the use of all the onsite facilities, without having to share these with other guests not in their group. It does not, however, entitle the guests the sole and exclusive use of the whole 15 acre property . Since this holiday complex is also our residence, we will ,of course, be around and visible in different parts of the property as there are buildings/barns (private) within the complex where we store materials and equipment necessary to run the business. The holiday houses are arranged around a U shaped courtyard , a communal(public area), so it is inevitable that we will pass by or encounter any guests gathered near or around it whenever we need access to this barn . None of our previous guests however found our presence intrusive because those guests accepted , in fact welcomed, the fact that we lived onsite. The room flooded because a pipe in one of the downstairs ensuite bathrooms split. Things /equipment can sometimes unavoidably break or fail and it could happen during one’s holiday- due to wear and tear or by accident .But by being onsite, we are able to rectify the problem swiftly, in this instance the pipe was replaced within half an hour and the room, cleaned and ready to be used within 2 hours.
There are 2 washing machines for the guests to use (. If we need to use the washing machines, we use 1 at night when guests tend not to need it).
Other issues: exposed wires- we take safety seriously. We were not made aware of any exposed wires by the above guests or any of our other guests (before and after this stay) , but we would certainly not leave wires exposed if we saw them. The stairgate is an accordion type, one that folds and is not a solid fixed wooden type so it is moveable but it is not loose.
Our website and all our adverts clearly state that we are beside the river with almost 450 meters of river frontage .We display old farm artefacts to show the history of our property . ALL our previous guests have found it charming , and even informative for their children. Others may have a different view but it is all a matter of personal taste .
We do not claim at all to offer luxury accommodation. What we offer is comfortable affordable accommodation in a peaceful , rural setting and our great location ,being close to shops and tourists sites, the vast land space of the property and the facilities onsite provide excellent value for all.

We hope this has given future guests a clearer picture of the setting at Le Four a Sel.
Brenda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Le Four a Sel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 53 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2011

We found this place on the internet and would struggle to find somewhere that suited us better and Brenda and David are really nice people and looked after us very well , thank you both .

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike-pratt3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Brenda & David are excellent hosts, always friendly and helpful.
The accommodation was of a good standard with all the necessary bits and pieces.
Beautiful quiet location and close to Montignac for restaurants, market, shops, etc.
An ideal place to chill out for a couple of weeks.
All-in-all highly recommended, especially if you partial to a bit of fishing.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingstonChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We stayed in this gite for a week in September 2010. The gite itself was very comfortable. The two bedrooms are located up stairs and the bathroom downstairs. The stairs are quite steep. All the facilities you need for an enjoyable stay are provided eg, stove, microwave, heating.
The owners are very helpful and friendly. They offer knowledgeable advice on local attractions.
The downside is that when you arrive the cupboard is completely bare. There is no dishwashing liquid, sponges,salt, pepper, sugar, tea, coffee etc. to get you through the first day. When you arrive late on a Saturday evening you need to go out again to find a supermarket (not easy in the French countryside) to buy these necessities. It appears that anything that is left behind by other users is removed before the next guests arrive.
The quality of the bath towels is quite poor.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LFAS, Owner at Le Four a Sel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2010

The above guests stayed in Villa Mimosa for 5 days on a self catering basis which means that items like condiments, sponges,detergents are not provided. We send a contract of rental which clearly states what is included in the price so the guests are fully aware of what provisions to expect in the holiday home . They can therefore prepurchase these items before arrival. If they haven't done so, we inform them on arrival that there is a well stocked supermarket in Montignac, ONLY a 5 minute drive(3 km) from us which is easy to find and is open until 7:30 pm on a Saturday and on Sunday morning (should you not make it in time).. What they have not mentioned is that we provide a bottle of wine, a carton each of juice and milk to welcome them on arrival, which though not stated in the contract, , is a pleasant surprise to most.

Holiday makers differ in their opinions about items left behind by previous occupants of the house. Some would want them, some would perceive them as unwanted left-overs so as a rule, we remove these items when we hand over the holiday home to our new guests .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

In late August - early September, we were lucky to find a vacancy in a roomy and very well located gite on the banks of the river Vezere close to the lively town of Montignac. One of three, the comfortable two-storey gite had all we needed, including good cooking facilities and wi-fi access which allowed us to maintain email contact with friends and family. Our hosts, Brenda and David, were friendly and helpful at all times, including providing travel, shopping and sightseeing tips. We were lucky to make friends with two people in the adjacent gite, something made easier by sharing the swimming pool and and having adjacent outside garden tables with umbrellas for outside relaxing and eating. David recommended a Montignac restaurant on the river for us to share a farewell dinner. As a base for exploring the many wonders, beauty and history and pre-history of the Dordogne, the gite was excellent, as we were within half an hour or so of many marvellous places such as the awesome Lascaux caves and fascinating Sarlat and Les Eyzies, as well as many fine chateaus in the region. With every day a rich one driving in the beautiful Dordogne countryside, then returning to the river-side gite, this was a very special experience in a very well equipped, spacious and friendly place. Our thanks to David and Brenda.

Neill and Christine,
NSW, Australia.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neill46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

we came in the heart of winter as a family of 5, including a 1-month old baby, to spend a weekend in the area. we were made instantly at home, and came back the two evenings for a delicious and relaxing home-cooked dinner which delighted us all. we didn't use the outdoor pool much (it was surrounded by snow!), but could see the Four à Sel, a nicely resrored farm and barn ensemble, located near the river, must alo be a great place in the summer.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We received a nice welcome from the English-speaking couple who own this B&B, located about a 5-minute drive from Motignac. The rooms were on the smallish side, made even smaller by all the furniture! Since we were travelling with our dog we got the rooms on the outside (with tile floors), so we were pretty cold, and the room only had one heater so we had to keep the bathroom door open (otherwise we would have frozen while peeing!). Since the rooms are right next to where the owners live, we heard a lot of their noise (and I am sure they heard ours--which made us feel a bit uncomfortable). The breakfast was nice, with orange juice, coffee, cereal, bread & croissants, fruit. The owners were also very helpful--reserved a decent restaurant for us for dinner in Montignac, etc. They told us that there are also gites for long-term rental, and a pool. Maybe a nice place to stay in the warmer months? We were happy to stay in this quiet place outside of very touristy Montignac, though.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlancaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aubas
1.7 mi away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
219 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hostellerie La Roseraie
Hostellerie La Roseraie
#1 of 5 in Montignac
202 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le P'tit Monde
Le P'tit Monde
#4 of 5 in Montignac
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Le Lascaux
Hotel Le Lascaux
#2 of 5 in Montignac
192 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Moulin de Mitou
Le Moulin de Mitou
#1 of 1 in Auriac-du-Perigord
241 reviews
3.8 mi away
Manoir d'Hautegente
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Four a Sel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Four a Sel

Address: Lieu Dit le Port D Aubas, 24290 Aubas, Montignac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Montignac > Aubas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aubas
Price Range: $77 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Self catering Holiday Homes and Bed & Breakfast in the Dordogne,located 5 minutes from Montignac(Lascaux caves) and 25 minutes from Sarlat. Nestled in 15 acres of private grounds, in a peaceful rural setting with magnificent views, it is centrally located to explore the region, many tourist sites are just 30 minutes away. Open all year, Wifi available. Warm hospitality from friendly English owners.Facilities onsite include : Swimming pool, Table Tennis, a covered play area, an outdoor playground, garden, Private fishing on the river frontage ,parking. The holiday homes are fully furnished with well equipped kitchen, Outdoor table & chairs and BBQ's for al fresco dining. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing