We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and lovely hosts”
Review of Le Four a Sel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aubas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Four a Sel
Ranked #1 of 2 Aubas B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place and lovely hosts”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We found this place on the internet and would struggle to find somewhere that suited us better and Brenda and David are really nice people and looked after us very well , thank you both .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike-pratt3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Brenda & David are excellent hosts, always friendly and helpful.
The accommodation was of a good standard with all the necessary bits and pieces.
Beautiful quiet location and close to Montignac for restaurants, market, shops, etc.
An ideal place to chill out for a couple of weeks.
All-in-all highly recommended, especially if you partial to a bit of fishing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingstonChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We stayed in this gite for a week in September 2010. The gite itself was very comfortable. The two bedrooms are located up stairs and the bathroom downstairs. The stairs are quite steep. All the facilities you need for an enjoyable stay are provided eg, stove, microwave, heating.
The owners are very helpful and friendly. They offer knowledgeable advice on local attractions.
The downside is that when you arrive the cupboard is completely bare. There is no dishwashing liquid, sponges,salt, pepper, sugar, tea, coffee etc. to get you through the first day. When you arrive late on a Saturday evening you need to go out again to find a supermarket (not easy in the French countryside) to buy these necessities. It appears that anything that is left behind by other users is removed before the next guests arrive.
The quality of the bath towels is quite poor.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LFAS, Owner at Le Four a Sel, responded to this review, November 3, 2010
The above guests stayed in Villa Mimosa for 5 days on a self catering basis which means that items like condiments, sponges,detergents are not provided. We send a contract of rental which clearly states what is included in the price so the guests are fully aware of what provisions to expect in the holiday home . They can therefore prepurchase these items before arrival. If they haven't done so, we inform them on arrival that there is a well stocked supermarket in Montignac, ONLY a 5 minute drive(3 km) from us which is easy to find and is open until 7:30 pm on a Saturday and on Sunday morning (should you not make it in time).. What they have not mentioned is that we provide a bottle of wine, a carton each of juice and milk to welcome them on arrival, which though not stated in the contract, , is a pleasant surprise to most.

Holiday makers differ in their opinions about items left behind by previous occupants of the house. Some would want them, some would perceive them as unwanted left-overs so as a rule, we remove these items when we hand over the holiday home to our new guests .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Vale, NSW, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

In late August - early September, we were lucky to find a vacancy in a roomy and very well located gite on the banks of the river Vezere close to the lively town of Montignac. One of three, the comfortable two-storey gite had all we needed, including good cooking facilities and wi-fi access which allowed us to maintain email contact with friends and family. Our hosts, Brenda and David, were friendly and helpful at all times, including providing travel, shopping and sightseeing tips. We were lucky to make friends with two people in the adjacent gite, something made easier by sharing the swimming pool and and having adjacent outside garden tables with umbrellas for outside relaxing and eating. David recommended a Montignac restaurant on the river for us to share a farewell dinner. As a base for exploring the many wonders, beauty and history and pre-history of the Dordogne, the gite was excellent, as we were within half an hour or so of many marvellous places such as the awesome Lascaux caves and fascinating Sarlat and Les Eyzies, as well as many fine chateaus in the region. With every day a rich one driving in the beautiful Dordogne countryside, then returning to the river-side gite, this was a very special experience in a very well equipped, spacious and friendly place. Our thanks to David and Brenda.

Neill and Christine,
NSW, Australia.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neill46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2010

we came in the heart of winter as a family of 5, including a 1-month old baby, to spend a weekend in the area. we were made instantly at home, and came back the two evenings for a delicious and relaxing home-cooked dinner which delighted us all. we didn't use the outdoor pool much (it was surrounded by snow!), but could see the Four à Sel, a nicely resrored farm and barn ensemble, located near the river, must alo be a great place in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We received a nice welcome from the English-speaking couple who own this B&B, located about a 5-minute drive from Motignac. The rooms were on the smallish side, made even smaller by all the furniture! Since we were travelling with our dog we got the rooms on the outside (with tile floors), so we were pretty cold, and the room only had one heater so we had to keep the bathroom door open (otherwise we would have frozen while peeing!). Since the rooms are right next to where the owners live, we heard a lot of their noise (and I am sure they heard ours--which made us feel a bit uncomfortable). The breakfast was nice, with orange juice, coffee, cereal, bread & croissants, fruit. The owners were also very helpful--reserved a decent restaurant for us for dinner in Montignac, etc. They told us that there are also gites for long-term rental, and a pool. Maybe a nice place to stay in the warmer months? We were happy to stay in this quiet place outside of very touristy Montignac, though.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlancaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

we are from israel and we visited in perigour-dordogne in october. we stayed in le four a sel which belongs to couple from UK. 2 km from montignac, 24 km from sarlat.
the owners r very obliging. we got a cottage brilliant of cleaning, very comfortable, big rooms, living room with tv, dvd. kitchen with all the stuff needed for cooking.
the oweners r very helpful and solve problems, if happens, very quickly.
the house is surrounded by huge areas of trees, fruits. the vezer river with his beatiful view, goes by the house.
we rented a cottage, but there are also b&b rooms.
october is wonderful season in this place. full of wonderful colors, good weather and without any crowdedness in the famous places.
i recommend this place as a base for trips in dordogne-perigour-lot.
www.lefourasel.com. tel. [-]

  • Liked — the beautiful area, the treatment of the owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaulIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aubas
1.7 mi away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
211 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le P'tit Monde
Le P'tit Monde
#4 of 5 in Montignac
51 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hostellerie La Roseraie
Hostellerie La Roseraie
#2 of 5 in Montignac
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Manoir d'Hautegente
2.2 mi away
Le Moulin de Mitou
Le Moulin de Mitou
#1 of 1 in Auriac-du-Perigord
234 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Relais du Soleil d'Or
Le Relais du Soleil d'Or
#5 of 5 in Montignac
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Four a Sel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Four a Sel

Property: Le Four a Sel
Address: Lieu Dit le Port D Aubas, 24290 Aubas, Montignac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Montignac > Aubas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aubas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Self catering Holiday Homes and Bed & Breakfast in the Dordogne,located 5 minutes from Montignac(Lascaux caves) and 25 minutes from Sarlat. Nestled in 15 acres of private grounds, in a peaceful rural setting with magnificent views, it is centrally located to explore the region, many tourist sites are just 30 minutes away. Open all year, Wifi available. Warm hospitality from friendly English owners.Facilities onsite include : Swimming pool, Table Tennis, a covered play area, an outdoor playground, garden, Private fishing on the river frontage ,parking. The holiday homes are fully furnished with well equipped kitchen, Outdoor table & chairs and BBQ's for al fresco dining. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing