We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful mountain cabin with modern amenities”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Lake Arrowhead, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Barton C
1 review
“Delightful mountain cabin with modern amenities”
Reviewed April 26, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Sometimes you need a weekend away. This Lake Arrowhead cabin is a perfect retreat place for those in need of some soulful nourishment. The location is wonderful, the actual cabin is magnificent, and it's clear that the owner has put a lot of thought into creating a well-designed and comfortable space. This isn't just a mute place to sleep, this place sings!

The wee canyon where the cabin is located was just filling up with white dogwood flowers when I was there. What's great is to be close enough to the lake to walk to, but just far enough away from everything to get perfect silence in the morning and evening. There is a quaint footbridge leading from the roadside parking are over a babbling brook to the cabin.

I love how the owner has thought through every detail—from the lights on the footbridge, to the interesting, hand-made lantern fixtures. If it were warm enough, I would have loved to host an outside dinner in the very excellent looking patio area.

The kitchen is modern, the lounge area well suited to singled-malt fuelled conversations, and the bedrooms soft and inviting. Do you ever just lay on the perfect mattress? What makes this a five-star location for me is that in addition to being beautiful, and perfect for weekend breaks away from urban hustle with family and friends, is that you're guaranteed the most comfortable sleep you've ever had.

In summary—this is THE place for your Lake Arrowhead retreat you've been thinking about.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2017
Wow Barton! We love your comments such as "perfect retreat", "location is wonderful", "cabin is magnificent" and "this place sings"! Thanks so much for visiting the cottage while on your trip to the United States from "over the pond" in England. Janice and I are delighted that you found the location in our "wee canyon" so beautiful, quaint and relaxing - it was one of the main reasons that we purchased the cottage. We hope that you can visit the Burnt Mill Canyon Cottage again on your net trip to the United States.
Paul and Janice
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatche Y
1 review
“Mr.”
Reviewed March 4, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Best spot ever! Everything was perfectly organized and we had one of the best vacations of our lives. Beautiful scenery and decor, 5 out of 5, all the way! ^-^

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2017
Vatche, It was great having the two of you visit our Burnt Mill Canyon Cottage! Janice and I are delighted that you had you found the cottage the "Best spot ever!". Come again!
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellem...
1 review
“Brunt mill cayona cottage”
Reviewed January 20, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

weather you want romance, peace, strangth,relaxation this is the place to come. It's a Hansol and gretel dream. I would go back there every time. Exquisite home I didn't want to leave. There was so much love put into the remodeling thank you both for the tender love and care you put into this. There is no other place I would ever go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2017
Michelle,
Thanks so much for staying at the Burnt Mill Canyon Cottage! It was a pleasure to have the two of you visit and we hope you can come again!
Paul & Janice
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans Lil...
1 review
“Most beautiful place I've ever seen!!”
Reviewed December 12, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This cottage is one of the most romantic place I've ever been in my life. My wife and I enjoy every second of it. The cottage has a rustic feel with the heels and whistles of a modern home. You can feel the hard work and time put into the cottage. We will be looking forward to staying there many times throughout the year. One of the best romantic getaways I've ever took part in.. Thanks Paul for such a beautiful cottage!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 13, 2016
Hans,
We are delighted that you found the Burnt Mill Canyon Cottage to be "one of the most romantic places I've ever been in my life". We are glad that you liked our blend of rustic old Lake Arrowhead with all of the modern conveniences of a modern home. Janice and I hope you can come again and again!
Paul & Janice
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petey687
Long Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage!”
Reviewed November 15, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My girlfriend and I booked the Burnt Mill Canyon Cottage for the weekend for a quick getaway from LA. The cottage was absolutely lovely! Paul, the owner, provides very clear directions both to the cottage and instructions for the cottage. Everything inside was labeled and easy to find...there was even a welcome basket with coffees and goodies. Everything in the cabin was in tip top shape, very clean, and extremely well maintained. The bed was very comfortable and it was so nice to sit in front of the fire in the living room at night. We would definitely return and recommend.

I would recommend trying to arrive in the daylight, as it might be a little tougher to find in the dark. It's a bit of an awkward left turn onto the road where the cottage is and easy to miss (we only missed it twice!) It's not too far off the main road, but the dark and narrow roads make for a true getaway experience.

The town of Arrowhead is fairly small (but I guess that's all relative as we live in LA) and it was nice to get out of the busy city. Arrowhead Village was not what we expected- it's mainly outlet shops, which was fine to walk around and check out. It was about a 45 minute drive to head up the mountain to Big Bear, which we visited for the day. Big Bear is a bit larger town with more shopping and restaurants, but we were happy to be staying in Arrowhead which felt a little more remote.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the remote feel, yet very well maintained cabin
Liked least: finding the turn to get to the cabin!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2016
Erika, we are so pleased that you found the Burnt Mill Canyon Cottage "absolutely lovely". We're so glad also that you loved the granite fireplace (my wife lights it every night when we are there!). Hope the two of you can come again!
Paul & Janice
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkleiniam
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Romantic Mountain Getaway”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Burnt Hill Canyon Cottage exceeded our expectations on every level. My husband and I spent 4 days here the beginning of October and it was perfect for re-charging our batteries. Just a short 2 hour drive from LA we drove into the Canyon and easily found the cottage. It is exactly as pictured. Beautiful especially with the trees turning color. The inside décor reflects a cottage motif but not overly "kitschy" and really preserves the heritage of the building. It has charm with all the modern conveniences of home-great appliances including washer and dryer, Pandora, surround sound, Netflix, lovely fireplace etc. The bed was extremely comfortable! Everywhere there were really special touches that we really appreciated. In addition, it was immaculately clean!

There is a grocery store just a short drive away and Lake Arrowhead and Lake Gregory are very close. Lot's of great places to walk and hike. We enjoyed driving trough the local towns which were charming and got some beautiful pictures due to spectacular views. We cannot comment on restaurants because we just enjoyed cooking at the cottage and enjoying our surroundings. We arrived on Monday and left on Friday so we avoided all the crowds and traffic.

I also want to mention how terrific the service was. Paul allowed us to check in a little earlier. He was very responsive to our questions. He followed up with us via phone to see how we enjoyed our time and asked if there was anything that they could improve upon. Absolutely nothing! We are looking forward to coming back in the spring when the dogwoods etc are blooming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2016
Michele,
Wow, thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful and comprehensive review of your stay at the Burnt Mill Canyon Cottage! We are so pleased that the Cottage "exceeded your expectations on every level"! We would love to have you return in spring to see the dogwoods in bloom (the canyon we are in is filled with dogwood trees which have beautiful flowers in spring).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg C
2 reviews
“Exquisite rustic cottage for two.”
Reviewed September 30, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is an absolutely gorgeous 1 bedroom home that we rented for two nights. It has obviously been recently remodeled throughout and the decor inside is amazing down to the smallest detail. Located just a few minutes from Arrowhead Village, it was the perfect spot for exploring the Lake Arrowhead and Big Bear areas. We very much enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it unconditionally. Only minor drawback is no cable (or over the air) TV, but they do have Netflix and wifi.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything inside was brand new and clean.
Liked least: No cable TV
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2016
Greg, we are so glad that you found the Burnt Mill Canyon Cottage "absolutely gorgeous" We have recently remodeled the 90 year old cottage with high end materials and decorating items . It was a pleasure having the two of you visit the cottage!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing