We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As with most reviews: "Great view!" (they don't mention food)”

Woodys Boathouse Restaurant
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“As with most reviews: "Great view!" (they don't mention food)”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Based on my reading of other reviews, we were originally headed for the Grill at Antlers Inn, but they were completely booked with high school graduation parties ... so to Woody's we went.

We were a part of 8 and because they had several other large parties booked, they said they could not seat us at one table. Instead they seated us at two contiguous booths which did a great and comfortable job of simulating a single table.

Food: huge portions. My wife and I ordered soft shelled crab which was described as "lightly breaded". They tasted ok, but were encased in a heavy breading -- but the "salmon mashed potatoes" were great. The rest of our party reported trout that was "just ok", sole that was great and a perfectly cooked steak.

Service: Oy. Two requests for an extra napkin; three requests for a missing fork; meals served after a bit of a wait and the remaining two meals meandered out 5-6 minutes later. After that, our waiter disappeared for a long wait for the check and another long wait to pick up our credit cards and another one to return them.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank striderforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    42
    41
    23
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great view!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

They have the most amazing salad bar! The view was great, too. Service was great - very friendly and accommodating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bnkruzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and nice people!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I've been to Woody's several times, and I've never been disappointed. Always really good food (and I have tried a bunch of them), great soup and salad buffet (don't forget the desserts!), and a really warm and nice atmosphere. Owners are really sweet and nice, and care for their customers. Next time I'm in Lake Arrowhead, I'm going here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielolsson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great view and breakfast buffet!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This restaurant has great atmosphere with nautical memorabilia and an incredible view of the lake! The service and food was better than average; however, you get your money's worth if you eat from the salad bar. The dress code is casual, and there is outdoor seating when the weather permits. We will definitely be back to Woddy's soon!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaNotary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great View and great atmosphere.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

If you love the the old fashioned classic wooden boats then this is a fabulous place to dine. The restaurant is filled with antique memorabilia and even has several seating areas that have been fabricated from original classic wooden boats. They have outdoor seating which is very nice in the warmer season. The restaurant is located right on the lake so the views are amazing. They offer a salad bar and a variety of menu options from sandwiches to seafood and steaks. i also heard they do a nice brunch.
( hint: ask about the fried pickles.) . if it's not on the menu the chef will take one out of the barrel and prepare one for you.. trust me on this.. best ever.. EVERYONE who has tried one... even for the first time loved it.
The Lake Arrowhead Chamber of Commence holds The Annual Classic and Antique Boat Show every year in June. If you are attending during this time be prepared for this place to be busy.
This is a great place for all ages.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamztamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodys Boathouse Restaurant also viewed

 
Lake Arrowhead, CA
Lake Arrowhead, CA
 

Been to Woodys Boathouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing