We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been enjoying Papagayo's for over 20 years!”

El Papagayos Mexican Restaurant & Cantina
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Lake Arrowhead
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Been enjoying Papagayo's for over 20 years!”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Love this place! I've had almost everything on the menu over the years, and it's all tasty. Maybe not the most "authentic" Mexican food, but delicious. The ambiance is always upbeat, servers attentive, great view ... just a fun place to spend an evening! In summer, you can dock your boat right outside, enjoy your meal, then ride back to your own personal dock. Very fun!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lake Arrowhead Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    77
    53
    19
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun, almost too popular, always tasty”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We always wait because everybody knows its always good (so don't come in a big hurry). Staff is friendly and fun. Margaritas are a treat (midori recommended). Even a light Mexican salad is full of flavor and a nice deal.

Helpful?
Thank AuntNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chips and salsa are awesome”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Always can tell if I will like a place by the chips and salsa...the taquitos are goooood. Great traditional mexican food... fun place

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mimi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
516 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“With a prime location and setting shame the food is so average”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The restaurant is located in the center of the village above the parking lot and in what i have been told is the last remaining building from the original village before it was rebuilt or one of the last at least. It is a need geometric structure and from many of the tables in the restaurant you get a good view of the beautiful Lake that is Arrowhead. However, sadly, the food and service is not quite up to par, on this the second try for this place. Have been here once before and the restaurant is one i want so badly to be good. But, it's not, very average fair, yes, clearly many locals come here and know the employees, but found that to be a distraction to everyone else. Sadly not even the salsa for the chips is all that good, and what's a mexican restaurant without good salsa. Plus we had to wait extra long because the kitchen got one of the orders wrong, which is never fun when you are sitting eating and your hungry partner is waiting. Not alot of choices in the area which makes me think it's why they have succeeded.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank northernk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pure arrogance from the kitchen!”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Was there last night, enjoyed the abondigas soup-very good! However, I ordered the shrimp fajitas and they were not throughly cooked. Sent it back, and the waitress came out of the kitchen with an uncooked bag of shrimp to let me know what uncooked shrimp looked like.....arrogance from the kitchen. I cook alot of shrimp, I know uncooked shrimp! I will not be back and will definitely spread the word, not a good way to do business......whatever happened to customer is always right...absolute pure arrogance! That chef, loosely used, needs a few lessons!!! Very sad that he made the waitress come out with that, she apologized! The ONE star was for her!!!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hummingbird985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Papagayos Mexican Restaurant & Cantina also viewed

 
Skyforest, Lake Arrowhead
Blue Jay, Lake Arrowhead
 

Been to El Papagayos Mexican Restaurant & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing