We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“very cosy cottage” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saddleback Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Saddleback Inn to your Saves list
Saddleback Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 S. State Highway 173, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92352   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake Arrowhead
Western Cape
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“very cosy cottage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

we stayed in a cottage with the living room (with pull out sofa) and the bathroom downstairs, and the bedroom upstairs (and a small bathroom with WC and sink). It is a real mountain style fairy tale cottage hidden among the tall pine trees. Your view is like being in the forest. The cottage was clean and comfortable, with efficient heating and a gas fire place (you needed these in January!). Easy walking distance to the Lake and the shopping center. The in house restaurant and bar was great for a drink and served very good food for dinner (it was a fish and chips special that evening and it was really good value, tasty as well). The breakfast is included in the price, it is ok, nothing special about it. The free wifi is a bit wobbly, there are multiple areas where you get different ones and not all of them strong enough, the best place is in the bar.

Room Tip: some are quite far from the reception and some require climbing lots of stairs, bear this in mind if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noname100001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    36
    13
    19
    9
See reviews for
26
55
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our recent stay at Saddleback was less than we expected, especially for the price.
They advertise an "all American breakfast", included. We came downstairs to find a small table with powdered scrambled eggs, a bucket of frozen toaster waffles, frozen heat & serve sausage, & one type of cheap bread. The rest was just as bad. Second rate motel fare. If you want a quiet night in front of the fire, don't stay on a Fri. Night. A very loud Karaoke bar runs until midnight, with the music blasting upstairs into the rooms. Room temperature was uncontrollable.

Room Tip: Don't get the rooms above the bar on a Friday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank marylag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Arrowhead hotels

Camarillo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We went for 4 nights. We were told the room (St. Moritz) was for 3, but it was barely big enough for 2. Black fungus came out of the jetted tub, the heater did not work. We left disgusted after the first night but the hotel would not refund us any other monies claiming they have a 14 day cancellation policy at the holidays. Should we be held hostage if we were so disgusted? Management couldn't care less. Don't go!

Room Tip: Don't stay at this venue, you'll be terribly disappointed and won't be able to get a ref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maryann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We loved our two-night stay at Saddleback Inn. We were in town for our granddaughter's high-school graduation, and we wanted a quiet retreat from the family hullabaloo! We found it at Saddleback Inn. My sister and her daughter stayed in a small cabin at the same time, and they were equally pleased with their stay.

The Inn is historic, but not "musty." Our room, which was not a cabin, but not in the main building, had been recently redecorated. It was very pleasant with a king-size bed plus a pull-out couch, a gas fireplace, a small balcony, and a nice bathroom. Although there were people staying in the room above us and in the rooms on either side of us, we never heard them, except for, occasionally, a door closing.

The price was reasonable and included a full breakfast buffet that was delicious and convenient. We enjoyed our stay at Saddleback Inn far more than our stay at the popular Lake Arrowhead Resort. This place is quaint, and the atmosphere is perfectly suited to the area.

We found the staff to be attentive and helpful with all our needs. We will certainly stay here the next time we're in Lake Arrowhead.

Room Tip: Every room and cabin in this inn is different, and access to many of the cabins involves climbing st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janb546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Kind of dated but decent enough. We stayed in a cabin which was quiet but required going down and up about 25 steps. Free breakfast was acceptable. Actual rating would be 3 1/2 stars. I found the 7 -11 very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I returned to the Saddleback Inn after 15 years hoping to experience again the peace, beauty and tranquility of the tall pines, cool clean air and the sparkling lake. The location is as lovely as ever, but sadly the Inn itself seems to have become a little dated and worn. The cabins and rooms are still charming and cozy, but in need of updating....especially the sports theme of the rooms which clashes with the romantic setting. Also the rooms need a more thorough cleaning. Overall we did enjoy our stay and the lovely setting.

Room Tip: All the rooms and cabins are different. Take your time to thoroughly look at the pictures. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumerida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
228 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We chose the Saddleback Inn based on recommendations and its location. Lake Arrowhead is a beautiful area with stunning views. This hotel is within walking distance to Center Stage which holds regular concerts.

The room we were given was on the second floor. It had newer carpet, king bed, flat screen TV, and quiet wall a/c. The bathroom looked old but everything functioned just fine. The tub was big enough for four, but that was NOT a need for us : )

Reading previous reviews, I learned the hotel could be loud with partiers. To avoid this from happening, I left the a/c fan portion on all night, and we didn't hear anything outside our room.

The next morning, a breakfast buffet was provided in the restaurant. We arrived just after breakfast started being served. I was disappointed by the temperature of the food, especially since it hadn't been out long.

All in all it was a great stay and we would love to return again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beasley33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Arrowhead
0.2 mi away
Lake Arrowhead Chalets
Lake Arrowhead Chalets
#3 of 3 in Lake Arrowhead
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
15.5 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel
15.4 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#2 of 20 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Arrowhead Lake Inn
Arrowhead Lake Inn
#1 of 6 in Lake Arrowhead
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
4.9 mi away
The North Shore Inn
The North Shore Inn
#1 of 2 in Crestline
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saddleback Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saddleback Inn

Property: Saddleback Inn
Address: 300 S. State Highway 173, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92352
Location: United States > California > Lake Arrowhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake Arrowhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Saddleback Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering premium hotel lodging, exquisite dining and seasonal entertainment in a resort atmosphere 5000 feet up, and perfectly located near beautiful Lake Arrowhead and the "Lake Arrowhead Village" shopping and entertainment complex, The Saddleback Inn, the locals' favorite, will not disappoint even the most discerning vacationer. The food is excellent and the cottages, nestled back in the pines, are clean, quaint, well appointed and very comfortable. Advance bookings are highly recommended. With queen or king beds, river rock gas log fireplaces, double whirlpool baths, air conditioning, refrigerators, suite combinations of one to three bedrooms, some pet friendly cottages, a 4 star "locals favorite" restaurant and full bar, the Saddleback Inn offers something for everyone. The Saddleback Inn is also within walking distance of Lake Arrowhead, as well as the main commercial, entertainment, shopping and dining area, Lake Arrowhead Village - both are a mere 5 minute stroll from the Saddleback Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Saddleback Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saddleback Hotel Lake Arrowhead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing