We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place, Beautiful Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saddleback Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Saddleback Inn to your Saves list
Saddleback Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 S. State Highway 173, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92352   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake Arrowhead
Arizona
Level Contributor
228 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place, Beautiful Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We chose the Saddleback Inn based on recommendations and its location. Lake Arrowhead is a beautiful area with stunning views. This hotel is within walking distance to Center Stage which holds regular concerts.

The room we were given was on the second floor. It had newer carpet, king bed, flat screen TV, and quiet wall a/c. The bathroom looked old but everything functioned just fine. The tub was big enough for four, but that was NOT a need for us : )

Reading previous reviews, I learned the hotel could be loud with partiers. To avoid this from happening, I left the a/c fan portion on all night, and we didn't hear anything outside our room.

The next morning, a breakfast buffet was provided in the restaurant. We arrived just after breakfast started being served. I was disappointed by the temperature of the food, especially since it hadn't been out long.

All in all it was a great stay and we would love to return again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beasley33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    36
    13
    19
    9
See reviews for
26
55
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The facilities here are pleasant enough and clean, although frankly a bit overpriced for what they are. Whenever I went to the front desk, it seemed like the staff was more interested in socializing that serving customers. At one point I walked in and they were telling a dirty joke of some sort. When I asked for an iron they brought me this funky looking metal mesh thing with no cover on it and a towel. I made them bring me a more suitable iron. The restaurant was great...the food was delicious...but my dinner would have been a lot more pleasant if it wasn't accompanied by drunken karaoke from the bar. My cabin was right on the parking lot, and people in the neighboring cabin were sitting on their porch talking loudly all afternoon, and there were people in the parking lot carrying on all night as well. To make the milieu even more unsavory, the complex houses the main 7-11 for the area, which apparently is the go-to place for local meth addicts and truck drivers (a diesel truck is rumbling a few feet away from my window as I write this at 11:30pm at night!). Among other things I saw: a pickup truck with a mattress on the back; a grizzly couple with yellow, broken teeth; and a young homeless man sitting out front with his clothing in a plastic bag and his PLAYSTATION! Yes, he was carrying around a full-size Playstation. I wanted to suggest he get a PSP. Would be a lot easier to carry. Anyway, if that's your scene, you'll really enjoy this place. If you are looking for a more secluded natural spot, or something a little more high-class, try somewhere else.

Room Tip: I would avoid getting a cabin facing the parking lot. Go to something more secluded in the back. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gamegrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurt c, Owner at Saddleback Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
I have had 7/11 as my tenant for 20 years. Never never police activity yet a yelper claims Meth addicts, homeless people, mattress in truck bed and yellow broken teeth. Lake arrowhead is a clean quiet community that has left that element behind. The Saddleback Inn is a secluded lodge among tall pines frequinted by hollywood elete and continued repeat guests. If this unhappy yelper would have shared her concerns personally rather than bashing hard working people we would have rectafied all her legitimate concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
190 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We've stayed and/or dined at the Saddleback several times over the past few years, and it's always been a positive and pleasant experience. The accommodations are mostly self-catering (if you wish to self-cater), and range from nicely-furnished, rustic, multi-room cottages (our favorites) to much smaller rooms that are perhaps too rustic for most, but that may be all they have left if occupancy is high. Book ahead and talk through the choices available, if you can.

Cottages aside, the real star of this property is the Saddleback Grill, which is a great compromise between fine dining and informality. The bar area is entertaining (some seats tilt alarmingly when sat on, but that may be intentional) and wine is not unreasonably priced. The restaurant is excellent, especially when compared with the amateurish efforts of Bin189, the restaurant at the Lake Arrowhead Resort, recently engulfed by the pseudopods of the Marriott chain, where we were staying on one of our visits to the area. (We seldom ate there, choosing the Saddleback instead, then canceled our last night night there and moved to the Saddleback, and were glad we did.) I can particularly recommend their grilled vegetable plate and their pan seared salmon. Our waitron on several of our visits, Angel, was superb. Prices, while not cheap, are not out of line for the excellent quality of food and service.

We will, as Arnold would say, be back. And in the nicest way.

Room Tip: It's definitely worth visiting their web site, which has pictures of the various cottages, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SoItinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

When life gets too hectic, I love to get away from the city for a day or two and Lake Arrowhead is close enough, yet far enough to leave the hassle behind. This trip I snuggled into a comfy cottage at the Saddleback Inn. It had all the usual amenities plus a jacuzzi tub and fireplace and was surrounded by pine trees. There are so many great things about this property. The staff is very friendly and helpful and extremely knowledgable about the area. There is a GREAT restaurant, the Saddleback Grill, on site that serves complimentary breakfasts for guests. I enjoyed that, but the dinners were absolutely exquisite: ribs, steak, lobster, fish. And the hotel is just a block from Lake Arrowhead and the shops at the village. A walk around the the lake, an ice cream cone, soaking up the sunshine under bright blue skies, a scrumptious dinner of ribs or lobster, a soak in the jacuzzi...total relaxation. I will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainMama016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I absolutely loved it. It was my first time and I really enjoyed it. The people were all really friendly and helpful. The restaurant was excellent; delicious food and great service. I stayed in a remodeled cottage and it was beautiful. If you go ask for a remodeled room. I am definitely going back this summer. I am very happy with the Saddleback Inn!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anayvega0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We took advantage of the hotel's weekday special - great rate including breakfast. We went in April - weather was ideal and we beat the crowds (between Memorial Day and Labor Day). It's a quick 5 minute walk to the Village where there's lots of shopping and restaurants. Lots of places to walk or just sit and enjoy the scenery. The lake tour is worthwhile.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi tubs are very difficult to get in and out of for those who are older or less flexible. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anaheim_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
403 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were on a motorcycle trip and had planned to stay at the more expensive inn in town, but I was charmed by the look of the Saddleback Inn. We stayed in a cabin, cute as anything, huge jacuzzi tub. Yes, a bit tired in furnishings, but bed comfy. And the price was $75!!! Including breakfast. If you are looking for a chi chi place, this is not it, but if you want a charming place to stay in a lovely small town, with friendly service and locals abound, this is where you want to go. I love going upscale as well, but sometimes it is a pleasure to have value and memories of a time gone by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MEAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Arrowhead
0.2 mi away
Lake Arrowhead Chalets
Lake Arrowhead Chalets
#3 of 3 in Lake Arrowhead
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
15.5 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel
15.4 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#2 of 20 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Arrowhead Lake Inn
Arrowhead Lake Inn
#1 of 6 in Lake Arrowhead
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
4.9 mi away
The North Shore Inn
The North Shore Inn
#1 of 2 in Crestline
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saddleback Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saddleback Inn

Property: Saddleback Inn
Address: 300 S. State Highway 173, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92352
Location: United States > California > Lake Arrowhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake Arrowhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Saddleback Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering premium hotel lodging, exquisite dining and seasonal entertainment in a resort atmosphere 5000 feet up, and perfectly located near beautiful Lake Arrowhead and the "Lake Arrowhead Village" shopping and entertainment complex, The Saddleback Inn, the locals' favorite, will not disappoint even the most discerning vacationer. The food is excellent and the cottages, nestled back in the pines, are clean, quaint, well appointed and very comfortable. Advance bookings are highly recommended. With queen or king beds, river rock gas log fireplaces, double whirlpool baths, air conditioning, refrigerators, suite combinations of one to three bedrooms, some pet friendly cottages, a 4 star "locals favorite" restaurant and full bar, the Saddleback Inn offers something for everyone. The Saddleback Inn is also within walking distance of Lake Arrowhead, as well as the main commercial, entertainment, shopping and dining area, Lake Arrowhead Village - both are a mere 5 minute stroll from the Saddleback Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Saddleback Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saddleback Hotel Lake Arrowhead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing