We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Saddleback Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saddleback Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake Arrowhead
Ventura, California
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We love this place. Great atmosphere and great staff. It really has become a home away from home. I have never stayed at a place that I actually miss everything about it when I get home. In the sun or being snowed in this place is great. Also beware one of the cabins is infamous for being haunted. If your into ghosts and ghost hunting it is a fun to stay in that cabin. I do not have one complaint about this place except that I can't live there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    45
    17
    19
    9
See reviews for
33
63
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We had an awesome experience with our family of 4 at the Saddleback. It's close to the village and the Lake which offeres plenty of things to do for the family. The accomodations were great and clean and the restaurat attached to it was yummy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

My wife and I got a last minute reservation in the "Sooner" cabin (#24) over Thanksgiving. The room was dark, even in the daytime with all the lights on. The wallpaper was starting to peel. The carpets were stained, especially by the refrigerator. There is a large poster of the 1983 University of Oklahoma football team. That gives me a clue to when the rooms were re-modeled. I shouldn't forget the grungy quilt on the bed.
Not so charming was the noise from the Seven Eleven. Not so charming was the fact that the room rate practically doubled for Thanksgiving.
Thanksgiving dinner in the highly rated restaurant was no better than a cafeteria. Think pre-formed turkey roll. Breakfast was no better. Overcooked scrambled egg pellets. Warmed over potatoes. Warmed over greasy sausage patties. Lukewarm coffee.
I have a hard time believing that I had stayed at the same place as the rest of the reviewers. It was more than just overpriced. Worn out rooms and uncaring staff is what it is about.
Another note of caution: This hotel is fairly close to the Arrowhead Village mall, but there are no sidewalks, and at times, the traffic zips through the five-way intersection in between.

Room Tip: Do not choose cabins 22, 23 or 24
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Waldo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Arrowhead hotels

Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I've been to the Saddleback Inn 14 years ago all by myself, stayed in cabin # 35 (Yukon) and way back then it was immaculate and new.
This time my husband and I stayed in cabin #28 (Moonglow), it was quiet, the bed had a new firm mattress and we were very glad that the bedroom had a. c. as we had hot weather on the first 3 days (this was the first week of October).
The bed linen was clean, however a bit worn out (but that was also the case at the Luxor in Las Vegas, obviously hotel owners cannot afford new bed linens in this economic crisis), but the jacuzzi worked well and the large walk-in shower has enough space for two.

The breakfast is delicious and plenty and keeps you filled up for many hours. Dinner was very good, too, but a bit unorganized (two times two different couples were seated at one table and then re-seated at another table...why?). On Friday nights there is live music with dinner (from 6 p.m. on) and that made more than up for it.

We can recommend this place. It's clean and quiet with a friendly staff.

Three tips: if you ask at the front desk, they'll give you the code for a nice walking trail (mostly in the shade with a gorgeous view on Lake Arrowhead Village and the lake) along the lake close to Lake Arrowhead Village next to Bank of America (lower parking level).

Don't miss the boat trip on the Arrowhead Queen sternwheeler, you'll be amazed about the many celebrities who own houses by the lake. Our captain knew every single house and provided us with some fascinating stories. Patrick Swayze used to live there, June Lockhart still lives by the lake and Doris Day recently moved away, but also had a house by the lake.

If you want to take pics with an elevated view on the lake, drive to the hospital at the other end of Lake Arrowhead and go to the hosptal garden. We went there around 10 a.m. and could still take good photos (I assume around 8 a.m. the light might be even better).

Room Tip: If you stay at The Raven that's the oldest hotel at Lake Arrowhead, founded some 90 years ago an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chrissie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

The front of house staff are excellent, very fiendly and helpful, the manageress was superb. The place was clean, but is old and tired. The management keep it as well as it could be, but its going to get harder as it gets older and more worn.
Beds were very won, the children were on a sofa bed and it ws terrible, small, uncomfortable and in comnvenient. Ourmateress was work and the nights sleep not great but I understand they are up for replacement soon.
The Jacuzzi bath was a nice side but worn and well used.
The breakfast is absolutly awful, worst I have experienced in any hotel. We ate in the restaurant and we had some good and some bad food, good service, very friendly, although overpriced and we only ate there the once.
Overall yes to the lodge, the location and the staff, but no to the food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJB1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

2nd romantic getaway for us to Saddleback Inn. Location is perfect for walking to shop/restaurants in the Village. We will keep coming back because front desk staff are the very best! Friendly, helpful and treat you like friends, not customers. REALLY want you to enjoy your stay. Yes, main Hotel is OLD, but accomodations are adequate, do have to say bathrooms definitely need work, BUT - we will return because the staff is outstanding!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank socalmom9040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Of all the hotels we stayed at on our 3 week tour of California , this one was the best value , quietest and biggest suite. The large Jacuzzi was perfect for a relaxing soak after a long drive from Ventura , Their restaurant , while having a limited menu , had well cooked food at very reasonable prices . Arrowhead and the Saddleback Inn were one of the high points of our holiday and I would highly recommend both to anyone touring California .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary_El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Arrowhead
0.2 mi away
Lake Arrowhead Chalets
Lake Arrowhead Chalets
#3 of 3 in Lake Arrowhead
33 reviews
4.9 mi away
The North Shore Inn
The North Shore Inn
#1 of 1 in Crestline
362 reviews
15.5 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Arrowhead Lake Inn
Arrowhead Lake Inn
#1 of 7 in Lake Arrowhead
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arrowhead Tree Top Lodge
Arrowhead Tree Top Lodge
#4 of 7 in Lake Arrowhead
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saddleback Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saddleback Inn

Property: Saddleback Inn
Address: 300 S. State Highway 173, Lake Arrowhead, CA 92352
Location: United States > California > Lake Arrowhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake Arrowhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Saddleback Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering premium hotel lodging, exquisite dining and seasonal entertainment in a resort atmosphere 5000 feet up, and perfectly located near beautiful Lake Arrowhead and the "Lake Arrowhead Village" shopping and entertainment complex, The Saddleback Inn, the locals' favorite, will not disappoint even the most discerning vacationer. The food is excellent and the cottages, nestled back in the pines, are clean, quaint, well appointed and very comfortable. Advance bookings are highly recommended. With queen or king beds, river rock gas log fireplaces, double whirlpool baths, air conditioning, refrigerators, suite combinations of one to three bedrooms, some pet friendly cottages, a 4 star "locals favorite" restaurant and full bar, the Saddleback Inn offers something for everyone. The Saddleback Inn is also within walking distance of Lake Arrowhead, as well as the main commercial, entertainment, shopping and dining area, Lake Arrowhead Village - both are a mere 5 minute stroll from the Saddleback Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Saddleback Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saddleback Hotel Lake Arrowhead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing