We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Choice if you need to stay in the area.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laguna Woods
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
467 reviews
265 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
“Nice Choice if you need to stay in the area.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

I was staying at this hotel for four nights while in town for a seminar. I usually choose to stay with Hilton brands, but did not have a choice of this hotel. I arrived around 10:30am and they picked me up at the airport, but even though the driver was at the airport, we had to wait another 45 minutes for others to arrive. The driver was very friendly and the front desk checked me in early.

The hotel appears to be reltively new and is very welcoming. The hotel is off the main road a bit so I did not experience any traffic noise even though our room faced the road.
On first entering the lobby, there is a very welcome feel with a small sitting area. The breakfast area doors are left open during off hours. They have a multitude of fresh baked cookies each afternoon, as well as a two hour evening reception that includes beer, wine, sodas, chips, and salsa. You can enjoy these items in the lobby, by the pool, or in the breakfast area. (It also seems you can take them to your room, but I was traveling with a group so never did that.)

They were out of King rooms when I checked in (would have some later) so they put me in a room with two queen beds. All rooms appear to be the same with the exception of Kings having one bed and a couch. The rom is a mini suite with a wet bar, microwave and fridge They have a nice sized work desk and small eating table. Closet and bathroom space is acceptable. The bed and sheets were comfortable, climate control system worked well, and the blower can be set to on for white noise while still using the air conditioning. The room has a medium sized Flat Panel HDTV and a reasonable selection of channels. The rooms are quiet and dark at night. You need to leave your room key in the energy saving switch to leave the AC on, and I don’t like to do that as someone from the hotel could take your key. The room was muggy on entry in the afternoon, but cooled off quickly.

The breakfast was a full breakfast with made to order omlettes, eggs, potatoes, meat, waffles, pasteries, breads, muffins, fruit, yougart, juice, and coffee. The manager was in attendance each morning ensuring everything went well. There always seemed to be plenty of seating.

They do not really have a business center, but do have one computer and a printer in the lobbyThe free High Speed Internet connection was very slow almost to the point of being annoying….I got faster service tethering to my blackberry, but there was on additional charge for the internet. The inside of the hotel clean and nice looking. They had a very small (even for a limited service hotel) but clean exercise room with a bike, treadmill, and some weights. The hotel has very nice outdoor pool and hot tub, and is a great place to sit during happy hour.

There are a few dining options within walking distance, and if you ask the hotel they will drive you to one of two local malls with many other choices.

This is a nice hotel, and I would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pcsanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    128
    20
    8
    9
See reviews for
213
88
47
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

Laguna Woods is 20 minutes from Laguna Beach and the value at Ayres Hotel can't be beat. This beautifful hotel has rooms discounted on the weekends and the weekday rates are very good as well. They have a pool area with a fire pit which is great for sharing a bottle of wine and snacks with family in the evening and the free full breakfast was much appreciated. Parking is free and they have complementary wine and snacks at 5:00 p.m. If you can't afford to stay right on the beach, this is a great alternative at an affordable price. Laguna Beach is one of the nicest beaches in the world,surrounded by an art community and wonderful restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilarguerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
1,375 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 856 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

I always stay here where I have business in Irvine.

Its location is great for Irvine or nearby Laguna Beach.

Across the street are a Rite Aid, a supermarket, and a Starbucks. In the same parking lot are a Sushi Restaurant and a Home Town Buffet.

They have a hot breakfast buffet and a happy hour selections of wine, beer, crackers, and cheese.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ct-cruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

I was attending a business function at El Toro Airport with colleagues. Ayres was our assigned hotel. Very nice location, rooms nicely appointed. I was assigned to the 3rd floor facing the courtyard/pool area - nice. Walls are a little thin, but the A/C helped drown the noise out.

- Beds - nice' n comfy with plenty of pillows
- Flat screen TV w/HBO and HBO Family
- No snacks available in room, although water is at $4.00 each.
- Refr and micro
- Bathroom
- Hair conditioner not provided
- Shower caps not provided
- Plenty of towels (thick, but a little on the rough side)
- Happy hour includes wine, beer, sodas, chips and salsa
- Cookies - fresh and warm (chocolate chip and sugar...Mmm, Mmm.
- Lobby seating area
- Breakfast is pretty decent
- Oatmeal - Choice of freshly prepped or instant
- Fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, omelets, home fries, toast, pastries, bacon, coffee (little weak), juice, milk, cereal
- Grocery store and other retail shops just across the street. Home Towne Buffet across the parking lot along with other restaurants.

Overall, very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

I wanted a room to rest and relax at before seeing Aerosmith @ Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre, which is just a couple miles away, and this place was ideal. It's far enough from the freeway to be nice and quiet, set back from the street it's on. It's very nicely decorated, maybe just a bit overstated (dripping with artwork), but very friendly and welcoming, sophisticated compared to a plastic Best Western type of hotel. It was VERY clean, it looked clean, it smelled clean. The room had a bar-type sink, a microwave, a small refrigerator, DSL connection, a cleaver alarm clock WITH an iPod adapter (I was impressed and my teenage son was quite pleased), a huge television, et cetera. A small marble table (!) was ideal for playing cards with my daughter after we'd taken a swim in the very pleasant pool. It was 5' deep and ideal for kids. Apparently there's a happy hour and a breakfast but we didn't stay overnight. Overall a very pleasant spot in a perfect location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank xwagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2010

Made reservations online; site said Ayres is pet-friendly. Checked in and were directed to side door for entrance. Big sign says: No Pets. So we scrambled to find a place to kennel our registered herding stock border collie. She was boarded for 2 nights when they called us and said she was extremely agitated and we should get her. Natural for a dog who's never been kenneled and is used to the outdoors. I told the clerk as their website had said pet friendly I was bringing her in. She indicated there was a problem with the co. which runs the site, "That'll be $125 (more than the room)." No so; we brought our dog in. Other than that, rooms are clean,but noisy from overhead. Breakfast excellent. Don't try to sit on patio, that's where the smokers congregate. Ugh. Housekeeping slow; room not done until 3 p.m. just when we got back for a break. Style of the hotel could be called overdone faux Tuscany!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PastYooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

We were invited to a wedding in Laguna Beach and the bride recommended this hotel as a place to stay. We were delighted with her choice. It is a lovely "old world" ambiance within the hotel and a lovely piazza outdoors to enjoy. There is a sumptuous breakfast included every morning and an evening wine and cheese event. It felt like you were being nurtured. The location is great. It is in the middle of Orange County CA. where is can be hectic and confusing in traffic especially when you are from out of town. It was walking distance from many services and located centrally with easy access to many of the attractions of Orange County like the beaches and the shopping. We enjoyed our stay and would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalamere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Woods
1.1 mi away
Laguna Hills Lodge
Laguna Hills Lodge
#1 of 4 in Laguna Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
6.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
5.8 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
6.0 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods

Property: Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Address: 24341 El Toro Rd, Laguna Woods, CA 92637-4901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Woods
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laguna Woods
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel await you at Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods! Whether you’re here for a short visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature double pillow top beds, flat screen TV’s, refrigerators, coffeemakers, microwaves well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, hairdryers, iron/ironing board, and curved shower rods. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast! Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions South Orange County has to offer. Surf, play, and lounge the day away at nearby, world famous Laguna Beach. Revive your wardrobe at the Laguna Hills Mall only one mile away. Also, be sure to check out the exciting night life at the Irvine Spectrum Entertainment Center where you can laugh at the Improv comedy club or play like a kid again at Dave & Buster's video arcade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Laguna Woods
Laguna Woods Ayres Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing