We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not pet friendly, misled”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laguna Woods
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Made reservations online; site said Ayres is pet-friendly. Checked in and were directed to side door for entrance. Big sign says: No Pets. So we scrambled to find a place to kennel our registered herding stock border collie. She was boarded for 2 nights when they called us and said she was extremely agitated and we should get her. Natural for a dog who's never been kenneled and is used to the outdoors. I told the clerk as their website had said pet friendly I was bringing her in. She indicated there was a problem with the co. which runs the site, "That'll be $125 (more than the room)." No so; we brought our dog in. Other than that, rooms are clean,but noisy from overhead. Breakfast excellent. Don't try to sit on patio, that's where the smokers congregate. Ugh. Housekeeping slow; room not done until 3 p.m. just when we got back for a break. Style of the hotel could be called overdone faux Tuscany!

Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank PastYooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 643 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2009

We were invited to a wedding in Laguna Beach and the bride recommended this hotel as a place to stay. We were delighted with her choice. It is a lovely "old world" ambiance within the hotel and a lovely piazza outdoors to enjoy. There is a sumptuous breakfast included every morning and an evening wine and cheese event. It felt like you were being nurtured. The location is great. It is in the middle of Orange County CA. where is can be hectic and confusing in traffic especially when you are from out of town. It was walking distance from many services and located centrally with easy access to many of the attractions of Orange County like the beaches and the shopping. We enjoyed our stay and would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalamere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

As a member of the hospitality industry, I feel confident having my parents stay at the Ayres. I know that the rooms are nice, the service will be friendly and most importantly that they will be happy (they are repeat customers). Plus, I can join them in the evening for FREE snacks and wine. And they fully enjoy starting their day with FREE breakfast. I know that they will be staying at the Ayres for many years to come.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knv1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

For the price, the place can’t be beat! My husband said it was the best hotel we’ve stayed at, even though we’ve stayed at a 5 star hotel before! We liked the breakfast in the morning--remember to tip the cook! Just remember that breakfast on weekdays stops at 9 a.m. and on weekends, it stops at 10 a.m. They’re serious--they clear away everything on the dot! Both of us liked the decor in the room--we liked the reproduction paintings on the wall in the room and in the halls. The bathroom was not huge but it was nice and new and clean. The countertop of the sink looked like it was made of marble. Even the decor in the elevator was nice (wood paneling). We worked out in the small but nice gym too. Be aware that some rooms face inward towards the courtyard/ pool and some rooms face outwards towards parking lots, in case you want to request a "view". I was a bit surprised when we pulled up to the hotel that it was in the same "shopping center" as Hometown Buffet though. But we still ate at Hometown Buffet for one meal. The only complaint I have is that we could hear some plumbing (maybe our neighbor was taking a shower?) noises sometimes and that we could hear vacuuming in the mornings above us. This is our first time staying at an Ayres hotel and we’ll definitely stay at any of the Ayres hotels again in a heartbeat!

An extra tip:
We made a couple of trips to the Stater Brothers supermarket across the street from the hotel--so convenient! We bought drinking water and ice cream and kept it in our fridge in the room so that we wouldn’t have to pay hotel prices. (The freezer in the fridge is pretty tiny though, so be aware.) Also, we drove into Laguna Beach and San Juan Capistrano for day trips and it was so convenient and easy (without paying high prices for tiny, old rooms)!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RegularResearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The hotel was very clean and nice, however there were ants in the bedroom. The breakfast was terrific, eggs, sausage, waffle maker, cereal, fruit, juice. That really made the stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katers543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

My travel group stayed at the Ayres Hotel in Laguna Woods in August 2009 and I can not express how happy they were with this hotel selection. One of my elderly travelers had a minor emergency while at the hotel and the GM personally coordinated a trip to urgent care, stayed there throughout treatment and rented a wheelchair for the individual and paid for it himself. I book many hotels throughout North America and this is certainly some of the best service I've ever experienced! I recommend this hotel for any occasion and I've booked my group here at the Ayres for 2010 as well. Keep up the great work and we'll see you in 2010!

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjwiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

My sister lives near here, so I am often looking for a good place to stay in the area. We have stayed here twice (July 2008, July 2009) for 5 and 6 nights. The experience was very good both times. The hotel is nice and well-decorated. The rooms are large (large enough for a family of four) and well appointed. The breakfast is very good. The service I have received has been first-rate. I find the value to be amazing. Overall I think they do a great job providing as much as they do for the price -- a large room, a microwave and fridge, a great breakfast, a nice pool, even free wireless Internet (I have paid as much as $20 a day for this elsewhere). This last time I opted for the more upscale partitioned room -- one half for us, one half for the kids -- and this afforded a bit more privacy (not as much as a separate bedroom, but almost as much). Overall, I think this place is solid and will probably stay here next time, too.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leroi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Woods
1.1 mi away
Laguna Hills Lodge
Laguna Hills Lodge
#1 of 4 in Laguna Hills
655 reviews
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
3.1 mi away
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
2.0 mi away
Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel
6.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods

Address: 24341 El Toro Rd, Laguna Woods, CA 92637-4901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Woods
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laguna Woods
Price Range: $160 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel await you at Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods! Whether you’re here for a short visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature double pillow top beds, flat screen TV’s, refrigerators, coffeemakers, microwaves well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, hairdryers, iron/ironing board, and curved shower rods. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast! Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions South Orange County has to offer. Surf, play, and lounge the day away at nearby, world famous Laguna Beach. Revive your wardrobe at the Laguna Hills Mall only one mile away. Also, be sure to check out the exciting night life at the Irvine Spectrum Entertainment Center where you can laugh at the Improv comedy club or play like a kid again at Dave & Buster's video arcade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Laguna Woods
Laguna Woods Ayres Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing