We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ayres Laguna Woods best place to stay in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laguna Woods
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles
1 review
“Ayres Laguna Woods best place to stay in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

My family and I have spent countless hours and dollars with the Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods and we highly recommend their services for four reasons:

1) Great service/value and well-appointed: This hotel is clean, extremely comfortable, with great front office and back-of-house support. Their beds are as wonderful as any we've ever slept in and the rooms are a decent size with windows that can be opened. We recently had an unstable situation regarding our reservations because of fluctuating, last-minute developments around the death of our father and Ayres management was empathetic and accommodating, canceling and adding rooms and working with us on charges as needed.

2) Location: Convenient to the freeway without hearing any city/street noise and centrally located to Laguna Woods, Saddleback Hospital, the stables, some local hiking and not really that far from John Wayne airport and Laguna Beach (ok, it's a drive of about 20 minutes and I wouldn't call it a beach hotel, but it's still within striking distance by our standards).

3) Breakfast: These folks put on a wonderful, full, cooked-to-order hot breakfast in addition to a robust selection of granola, oatmeal, fresh fruit, teas/coffees, DIY waffles, pastries, etc. It's all you can eat and is head and shoulders above any other "continental" silliness that you'll find at the other hotels. Plus, the cooks and waitstaff are cheerful and friendly (and bilingual English/Spanish) if that matters to you — it's a plus for our family.

4) Family-friendly: It's a great value if you include breakfast and they have one of the nicer swimming pools around — fenced off, always clean and stocked with large towels. It looks like they also installed a lift for handicapped folks. There's also a clean, well lit and ventilated workout room that is seldom busy. And lastly, the cookies — always cookies in the evenings. And I believe they also host a happy hour.

Hope this helps. Give them a try.

Room Tip: If you want instant access to the pool, ask for ground floor facing courtyard. For us, we always go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pingpingping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    132
    20
    8
    9
See reviews for
214
89
47
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We have been staying at the Laguna Woods Ayres since it was opened. This stay was for 11 days and included two rooms. One was the ADA room for my mom. Everyone at the hotel was wonderful and so accommodating. The manager would stop by the tables at breakfast and chat to see how our stay was going. The rooms were excellent and the breakfast was fantastic, especially your daily specials. My mom loves a glass of red wine and the Happy Hour was her favorite. Thank you to all for an excellent stay.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quite lovely. We like staying on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandiMcClure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear SandiMcClure,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us over the years, your loyalty means the world to us. We are so very honored that you and your family stayed with us recently, we truly appreciate your kind words. It is of the utmost importance to us that you are completely satisfied with your visits and we are pleased to see that this stay was no different than your previous stays. It is also a delight to know that you enjoyed our evening Manager's Reception with the complimentary red wine for your mother! We hope to see you again soon and thank you again.

Sincerely,

Vince Neale
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We really liked the whole feel of the hotel because it was well-furnished and well-landscaped. The breakfast there was also great. However, the only thing that really bothered us was that before we went to bed, we put out our "Do Not Disturb" sign on our door so that we could sleep in. Promptly at 7 am the next morning, housekeeping repeatedly knocks and calls out to clean our room. What is the point of having such a sign of it is so readily disregarded? We let the receptionist at the front desk know and she appeared to not even care.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Lori Ann T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor to let others know about your recent experience at our hotel. We are so very pleased to know that you enjoy the hotel and found it to be well furnished and landscaped. Also, it is nice to know you thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary full American breakfast buffet. Please accept our sincerest apologies that your "Do Not Disturb" sign was overlooked. Rest assured, the housekeeping team will be spoken to as to prevent future incidents such as this. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you another time in the near future.

Sincerely,

Vince Neale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

The rooms are comfortable and the staff are very friendly. They offer a complimentary happy hour and breakfast (breakfast was not good) however they do not have a full service restaurant in the hotel nor is room service available. Definitely plan to eat before arriving or BYOF (bring your own food) and use the small refrigerator and microwave provided in the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy9003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Tammy9003,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a candid review of our hotel on TripAdvisor to let others know about your recent experience. We sincerely apologize if your stay was anything less than exceptional. It is very disappointing to see that you were not completely satisfied with our full American breakfast buffet, we truly strive to offer the highest quality of amenities and are saddened to see you did not find the breakfast as such. We hope you will reconsider staying with us in the near future and thank you again.

Sincerely,

Vince Neale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

My stays are normally really good as I am in your hotel almost every two weeks. My profile asks that I am on higher floor and away from the elevators. this trip my room was on the third floor but right across from the elevator. The room did not seem to want to cool down even with thermostat at 68.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

The accommodations were top notch. Very comfortable room and setting makes it easy to relax. Plenty of eateries nearby. Good hot breakfast. Can be a little noisy if there is an event going on at the hotel. Recommend staying on the upper floors for a more quiet stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dadbeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear dadbeme,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor to let others know about your experience at our hotel; your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are pleased to see that you found your accommodations to be comfortable and relaxing, it is truly what we strive for. It is also nice to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary full American breakfast buffet. We hope to see you another time in the near future and thank you again.

Sincerely,

Vince Neale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I have stayed here several times over the last few years. Always greeted well, clean comfortable rooms, quiet, great free breakfast. Ask for leisure world discount if you can .
Great place.. Comparable to high end marriott.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Califman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Woods
1.1 mi away
Laguna Hills Lodge
Laguna Hills Lodge
#1 of 4 in Laguna Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
3.1 mi away
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
6.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods

Property: Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Address: 24341 El Toro Rd, Laguna Woods, CA 92637-4901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Woods
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laguna Woods
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel await you at Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods! Whether you’re here for a short visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature double pillow top beds, flat screen TV’s, refrigerators, coffeemakers, microwaves well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, hairdryers, iron/ironing board, and curved shower rods. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast! Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions South Orange County has to offer. Surf, play, and lounge the day away at nearby, world famous Laguna Beach. Revive your wardrobe at the Laguna Hills Mall only one mile away. Also, be sure to check out the exciting night life at the Irvine Spectrum Entertainment Center where you can laugh at the Improv comedy club or play like a kid again at Dave & Buster's video arcade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Laguna Woods
Laguna Woods Ayres Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing