We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laguna Woods
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 26, 2008

I stay at this hotel about 30-40 times a year as I do business in Irvine. The hotel has a great location. It is only a few miles from the Irvine Spectrum and Lauguna Beach. There is a grocery store across the street. The breakfast buffet includes made to order egg dishes along with sausage, bacon, & potatoes.

The rooms have plenty of space to work/relax. they have a fridge and microwave in every room. Some rooms have baths with waterjets.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ct-cruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
There are newer reviews for Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

616 - 622 of 643 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2008

I wasn't sure what to expect from this hotel but my husband and I were very happy with our stay at this jewel of a hotel. The lobby was beautifully decorated for the holidays and check-in was a breeze. This hotel didn't skimp on quality furniture and wall decor. Our room was spacious - king size bed, desk, sofa & coffee table, wet bar, refrigerator and even a microwave! Free ample parking and American style breakfast for hotel guests, not some cheapy continental breakfast some cheap hotels serve. It had a real family feel to the whole place, not some chain hotel that has cookie cutter look to everything.

Over all, I enjoyed this hotel and would recommend it to my friends. My husband commented that this is better than some of nicer hotels we've visited that cost double what we paid at Ayres. If I have a chance to be in Laguna Beach area again, I will certainly stay at Ayres.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank PeanutButterJelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2007

We had a very nice weekend stay at the Ayres Hotel while visiting relatives in Laguna Woods. This hotel was much better than I had anticipated. The location was great: very convenient for shopping and a 15 minute drive to the beach at Laguna. The rooms were surprisingly large and well equipped. The bed was extremely comfortable. I thought the hotel had a number of nice touches and the decor (nice carpets, drapes, upholstery) softened the basic structure of the place. The pool area was particularly nice and the exterior (particularly at night) looked like an Italian villa. I'd definitely stay at the Ayres again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jeffdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2007

Our 2 night stay at this hotel was terrific. Friendly and helpful staff. A well appointed and very spacious room. Beautiful lobby. Large and attractive breakfast area with some food made to order. It does make you feel like you're in a European boutique hotel.

The hotel is part of a shopping mall complex so you have to look for it since it's not directly on the street. The good news is you don't hear the non-stop street traffic.

The hotel is not near the beach area. But, we if you don't mind a 20 drive to get to the Pacific Coast Highway it's well worth it. Hotels on the Pacific Coast Highway are expensive and if they are directly on the road, very noisy.

Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2007

I stayed in the Ayres several times while on business trip in the area - it has always been a good choice. Staff is very friendly, rooms are well sized and very clean.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2007

This hotel had a strange slant in the decor, and prided itself as a family run set of hotels. Staff friendly, helpful, and provided local maps of the area, and recommended restaurants. Decor is a mixture of Tuscan (exterior), English (seats), American (20th century replicas) - and always intrigues me in having a gas fire on, in the reception area whilst in the heat in California!

There is no bar in the hotel, and hence no real meeting place in the hotel - probably a frequent request of other travellers - unsure whether this is due to the family rules, or that the hotel is located in a senior residential area. There was a restaurant that provided breakfast, which was included in the price. Breakfast was well organised, plenty of choice from coffees, juices, through to a limited number of cereals, yoghurts, as well as the muffins, rolls, toast, bagels and then freshly made omelettes, bacon, sausage and potatoes. Breakfast could be taken in the room, or as I frequently did, outside in the courtyard area by the pool.

The rooms were fine, bed comfortable, with rooms overlooking the pool area, or the outside car parks. Room had TV, phone, microwave, coffee machine and kitchen sink area. Plenty of space for 1-2 people in the rooms.

The hotel lay on cheese and drinks (beer/wine) in the evening during the week, and most evenings had warm cookies on the front desk. Hotel seemed to have a van for transportation, though never saw it move an inch in 4 days.

Location of the hotel is fairly easy, with malls closeby with various restaurants. Local shops available to buy essentials and water (as charged $4 for a litre in the room).

Would stay again, and competitively priced.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NikJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2007

I was traveling with my wife and two daughters aged 4 and 11 months. We had requested a room with 2 queen beds but were put into a king when we arrived. I called down to the desk and asked to be switched, after a 30 min wait we were finally given another room which was located directly above the meeting room. That night there was a party in the meeting room that was so loud we could hardly hear the TV. The party went well past 11pm and when I called down to see if anything could be done abot the noise I was told flat out NO! We finally got the kids to bed around 1am. The next morning we showed up for breakfast at 9:45 and was immediatly told by the cook that they were closing in 15 min and we could not get any new eggs. The eggs on the buffet we old and hard. The buffet itself was disorganized, dirty and looked unsanitary. Even though it was free we decided to go elsewhere any pay for breakfast. I did not feel safe feeding my kids off the dirty buffet. If in the area again I would definatly stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mjs426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Woods
1.1 mi away
Laguna Hills Lodge
Laguna Hills Lodge
#1 of 4 in Laguna Hills
649 reviews
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
5.8 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
441 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
2.0 mi away
Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods

Address: 24341 El Toro Rd, Laguna Woods, CA 92637-4901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Woods
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laguna Woods
Price Range: $142 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel await you at Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods! Whether you’re here for a short visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature double pillow top beds, flat screen TV’s, refrigerators, coffeemakers, microwaves well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, hairdryers, iron/ironing board, and curved shower rods. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast! Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions South Orange County has to offer. Surf, play, and lounge the day away at nearby, world famous Laguna Beach. Revive your wardrobe at the Laguna Hills Mall only one mile away. Also, be sure to check out the exciting night life at the Irvine Spectrum Entertainment Center where you can laugh at the Improv comedy club or play like a kid again at Dave & Buster's video arcade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Laguna Woods
Laguna Woods Ayres Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing