We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Italian” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mangia Bene

Mangia Bene
Ranked #2 of 148 Restaurants in Laguna Niguel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Established in 1991 Mangia Bene Cucina has been a Landmark of Orange County for over 20 years. Although we've gone through some ownership changes, we still maintain the same recipes that have made us a "most" destination for many of South Orange County's residents as well as our new and exciting monthly dishes that are sure to impress you. From the classics like our Homemade Lasagna and Penne Sonato, to our very popular salads, like the Mangia Bene Salad with Grilled Chicken and Seared Ahi Salad, as well as our monthly specials, we are confident you will have a great experience dinning with us. Come see why we've been an Orange County landmark since 1991. Bring your family to our family restaurant and experience Fresh Italian like you never have before
California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Love the martinis and spinach ravioli. In fact, all the salads and pastas are terrific! We keep coming back once a week.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SoCalIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    43
    12
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must have garlic bread”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Mngis Bene's has great food and excellent service. they have fantastic garlic bread (beware it is the greay/garlicky/fattening stuff, YUM).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nflfan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Part of the family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've been going to Mangia Bene for years. When they changed ownership, my experience even got better! Amazing staff, just wants to make you eat here. Food is good and quick and you get the best garlic bread with your meal and they even refill. My favorite server is Alessandro, from Croatia. Between him and the owners, Chris and (sorry forgot his name) they make you feel very very welcome. Service is excellent and food is good. Almost a weekly visit for me and the family and my friends

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alelid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mangia Bene”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The food is always good. Consistent is the best way to put it.
Great service! Excellent pasta dishes and their soups are great.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank srtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Papa would have approved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This place gets a thumbs up. While I don't get the feel of Mama's home cooking here, the menu and the execution are pretty solid. The place is organized and the service has been great the times that I've visited. The meal/portions seem to be right at that "if I eat the whole thing I will be stuffed, I should save half for lunch tomorrow,, but it's so good I can't stop eating and clean the plate" level. That about sums Mangia Bene up. I have brought several groups of people here and received good comments on the choice.Give them a try - I don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TouristThruLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangia Bene also viewed

Laguna Niguel, Orange County
Laguna Niguel, Orange County
 
Laguna Niguel, Orange County
Laguna Niguel, Orange County
 

Been to Mangia Bene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing