We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place for special occasions”
Review of Savannah Steak & Chop House - CLOSED

Savannah Steak & Chop House
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Camino Del Avion
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Special place for special occasions”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Try the short ribs. Absolutely wonderful and so, so tender! Service always good , comfortable seating, and a great "early bird" menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank californiagirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    41
    19
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Overall good choice”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Always good and consistent quality and menu variety Their perfect 10 promotional idea was very good. Nice setting with big booths that you do not find too often

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Server Was The Best Part Of Meal”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Three for dinner. Ordered off the main menu. The flat iron steak was tough. The pork chop was tough. The chicken marsala was so bad I sent it back, The new piece of chicken was OK but minute. Drinks were good. I have patronized this restaurant for 20 years. It has been through name changes and I assume ownership changes. All downhill! Add the parking problem and the Savannah is a very poor experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CNYKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Comfort and Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We visited with friends who had been there before. My wife and I were very impressed by the beautiful free-standing building and the very warm and inviting decor. We got a wonderful comfortable old fashion plush booth that reminded us of the great restaurants of the 40's & 50's. They have a great menu and for us senior folk they have their $10 menu (which you must ask for) with lighter portions. The server, Ruben could not have been more friendly, helpful and efficient. One minor downer. They have a contracted valet service that tries to put orange cones blocking open parking spaces wherever they can in the shopping center parking lot. Very annoying when you have to get out of your car and toss aside the cone to be able to park. It does not start the evening well

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal, Service and Value!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were looking for a good meal before the movie - great food - not too much - and good service - and Savannah was the answer! The restaurant offers smaller plates of high quality fare from 5-6:30 - perfect for us! The service was excellent - knowledgeable and happy to accommodate our desire to eat well, but slightly faster than typical fine dining pace. The small plates were PERFECT! Among our group we had the small version of Scampi (finally - a restaurant that actually makes the dish flavorful instead of just butter-drenched), Osso Bucco, Flat iron Steak and Filet Medallions. Each plate was a perfect size portion with veg and potato accompaniments - really amazing value at $10 -$15 per plate. We added a nice Hangtime Pinot which our server graciously decanted (really worth asking for this - makes the wine so much better). Salads were fresh and flavorful - even able to get anchovies added to the Caesar. Kudos to Savannah - excellent experience, delicious food, friendly service - we'll be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savannah Steak & Chop House also viewed

Laguna Niguel, Orange County
Laguna Niguel, Orange County
 
Laguna Niguel, Orange County
Laguna Niguel, Orange County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing