We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE PLACE, OK FOOD” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savannah Steak & Chop House - CLOSED

Savannah Steak & Chop House
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Camino Del Avion
New York City
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“NICE PLACE, OK FOOD”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Savannah Steak House is average for a moderate, casual meal, however, there are much better higher end Steakhouses. I thought the food was OK, nothing over the top, including the Steaks, Sides, etc. Service was OK, but maybe just an off night because we came late, around 9pm. In this area, there is nothing open past 9pm and Hunters said they were serving until 10pm, although we were the only patrons there. Hunters Steakhouse opened in Laguna Niguel last Fall and we find Hunters to be far superior in food quality and service to Savannah's. If you are celebrating something special, I recommend French 75 in Laguna Beach or Hunters Steakhouse in Laguna Niguel. Savannah's is in a shopping center - Laguna Beach is much nicer.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rickatnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    41
    19
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Service is alway to notch. One of the best Steak houses that really show the BEEF.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SO CAL
Level Contributor
221 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A HAPPY BIRTHDAY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

I had not been to this restaurant for quite awhile but have always loved it. So a birthday celebration with my husband it was.

Located in a small shopping mall its interior decor of wood and stone with wonderful large booths in the dining room provide the greatest ambience.

My husband ordered the double cut lamb chops which he's normally afraid to order in restaurants because there is too much fat. He said these were perfect; thick and meaty.

The Prime Double cut Pork Chop was large, perfectly cooked and I managed to eat the entire thing.

Order the Creamed white corn - it's delicious with a cheesy top and enough for two.

My only disappointment was the dessert; Bananas Foster. It had bananas and plenty of ice cream but very little sauce which is frankly the best thing about BF. For $11.00 I would definitely skip this dessert.

Not an inexpensive place you can plan on dinner being over $100 for 2 with 2 drinks each but for a special occasion it's really wonderful.

The bar has seating as well, is lively and always fun to dine in.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nshugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel
Level Contributor
86 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“very nice place for a special dinner.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

great atmosphere, great food, excelent side dishes. very romantic.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JWF721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Our best meal of the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

This was a tip from a valet at the St. Regis. It was by far the best meal of our trip - this includes the meals at the St. Regis. I had a Swordfish dish and my husband had a steak dish. We also had some great drinks - do not miss this dinner!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sierra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savannah Steak & Chop House also viewed

Laguna Niguel, Orange County
Laguna Niguel, Orange County
 
Laguna Niguel, Orange County
Laguna Niguel, Orange County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing