We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & Basic”

Flamingos Mexican Grill
Ranked #16 of 97 Restaurants in Laguna Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Virgin, UT
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good & Basic”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I like a basic Mexican menu & preparation. This was it and they had very good salsa which is one my two mexican food benchmarks!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KathyL1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    23
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kennesaw, GA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Always a great meal”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We used to be locals and ate here regularly. Now when we are visiting the area we stop back into Flamingo's. The menu is varied and you will find a favorite. My wife has a chicken burrito every time, and it's always excellent. I just tried tried the burrito al pastor and it was delicious. We also recommend the chicken salad, tamales and taquitos.
Want a great meal today, in 2 weeks, in 2 years? This is the place. And their bar was always fun too with specials and the same delicious chips & salsa.
Staff is attentive and the restaurant is clean, a little dim and decorated with flamingo's but who doesn't love a pink flamingo? Hope you enjoy it too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Locals Love-It”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Food is great! Always the same, time after time. Unlimited chips & salsa, salsa & more salsa. Did I mention that I LOVE their salsa. This is a family run business. Mom & dad still run the day to day, but all the kids are either serving or tending bar. Atmosphere is a bit "campy" but that's part of the charm. Cleanliness is off the charts.The kitchen can be seen from the dining area and the floors are spotless. We can feed our family of 3 for $23. And we leave full, trust me.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Desiree F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypsilanti
Level Contributor
361 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Mexican with no surprises”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very popular place. Food is OK but cleanliness is outstanding. Waiters were also very friendly. Burritos are extra large. Drinks also looked to be super sized.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank YpsilantiFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A Regular place for Locals!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have eaten here so many times, I cannot believe that I never left a review for the place. I have lived in or near Laguna Hills for over 40 years, and remember the old "Shakey's Pizza Parlor" that occupied this space. BUT Flamingos has been here for quite some time. It is definitely one of a kind. Restaurant on the right side, bar on the left. Prices are great, and you never go away hungry.
I personally love their quesadillas. Their Mexican Pizza is interesting. If you are really hungry, order the "Big Juan" burrito.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timshuwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flamingos Mexican Grill also viewed

Laguna Hills, Orange County
Laguna Hills, Orange County
 
Lake Forest, Orange County
Laguna Hills, Orange County
 
Laguna Hills, Orange County
Mission Viejo, Orange County
 

Been to Flamingos Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing