We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Denver , CO
Level Contributor
121 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Newly remodeled”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

his use to be a Holiday Inn. The outside may look dated but the rooms have been updated. The rooms are clean. The bathrooms are modern. It has a modern look with nice lighting. The staff is friendly. The rooms are large. The staff is friendly. Good rates can be found on line. I did not try the restaurant. The Restaurant has limited hours.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_Torres, Rooms Division Manager at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi Frankie,

I know we already wrote to each other on Yelp, but I wanted to thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor as well. As a small independent hotel, your support really means a lot. Hope you get a chance to stay with us again soon!

All the best,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    95
    48
    26
    15
See reviews for
94
65
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

As modestly priced traveller hotels go, this place is top-notch. Very well built (read: sound proof), excellent staff (and lots of them), helpful front desk. Had breakfast at the restaurant once, and it was good but (not surprisingly) expensive. There are other places to eat within 1 mile.

I've stayed here several times and never been disappointed.

Room Tip: Fourth floor overlooking the pool. Other side looks out over the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_Torres, Rooms Division Manager at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thanks Mickey! I'm thrilled to hear that you've never been disappointed during all your stays with us. That's the goal! I'll be sure to let the staff know you appreciated their excellent service. Hope you get a chance to visit Laguna Hills again soon!

Take care,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Front desk service was very friendly and customer service oriented. I felt very comfortable immediately upon arrival and knew it would be a pleasant stay. Sure enough, it was. The room was nice, clean, and roomy, and the bed was very comfortable. This was a business trip for me and I had a choice between this hotel and a couple of hotels closer to the coast. This was my choice due to abundance of free parking and free internet as well. Plus, I was literally only minutes from the coast for a quick sightseeing trip. I'm very happy with my choice to stay here and would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Poolside view rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_Torres, Owner at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thanks Greg! I'm happy to hear that from our friendly service to your clean and spacious room, your overall stay was comfortable and enjoyable. That's the goal! I hope you had a productive (and fun) business trip, and I look forward to your next visit.

Take care,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

I haven't been traveling in the area for several months but i'm glad to be back at The Hills! Customer service is always great! I love the newly renovated rooms especially the bathroom! The hotel seems to be very busy and fun especially at the lounge! I will be back soon!

Room Tip: Try their newly renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oh-oh-oh-0h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_Torres, Owner at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you so much! I love that you love our hotel that much. I'll be sure to let the team know you appreciate their excellent service and all the work we've done to renovate and modernize our interior. Looking forward to your next stay with us!

All the best,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

4th floor ugliness. Wacko interior design. Horrible bathroom fixtures. Wierd ramp from lobby to elevator, practically ran myself over with the luggage cart. IF you do stay here, request a room on a remodeled floor.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Edandkathysexton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_Torres, Owner at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Ed and Kathy,

I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. As you mentioned, we are currently remodeling our entire interior and updating each room with new fixtures. We're confident these changes will have a positive impact on our future guests' experience. If you have any constructive suggestions for us to improve, please let me know.

Take care,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed at this hotel due to a business trip to neighboring area
Nice and cozy but not really welcoming staff. It's right off the freeway, but that's the view from your room as well.
Pool and gym are OK...
Relatively close to any where in the area

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmadreza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_Torres, Owner at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi Ahmad,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us. While I'm glad you found your room nice and cozy, I'm alarmed to hear you thought our staff wasn't very welcoming. Do you mind letting me know what you experienced in more detail? As for our amenities, it's our goal to offer our guests a clean and comfortable place to stay that's conveniently located in town. If you have any suggestions on how we can better serve our guests. Please contact me by phone at 949 586 5000 or by email at rtorres@thelagunahillshotel.com. Thank you!

Best,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

My wife and daughter and I stayed for about a week at the Hills Hotel and had a very pleasant stay. The price was very fair for the accommodations. We would stay there again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duaneoverturf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_Torres, Owner at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Our staff is very dedicated to customer service and goes above and beyond to make sure our guests enjoy a wonderful stay. I'll be sure to let the team know you appreciate their great work. Looking forward to your next stay with us!

All the best,
Ronnie Torres, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Hills
2.2 mi away
Laguna Hills Lodge
Laguna Hills Lodge
#1 of 4 in Laguna Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
#1 of 1 in Laguna Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Mission Viejo Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
3.2 mi away
Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels

Property: The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
Address: 25205 La Paz Rd, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-5105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, is a full service boutique hotel located in beautiful Laguna Hills. We are proud to be among Orange County's top premiere hotels, offering access to some of California's most magnificent beaches, shopping, nightlife, fine dining and deep sea fishing. At The Hills Hotel, we are known for our unique service and accommodating staff that are always willing to go above and beyond to serve our guests. Whether you are traveling to Laguna Hills for business or pleasure, individually or with your entire family, you will find a world of comfort and convenient amenities here. Now, it's your turn to Meet, Play, and Relax at The Hills Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hills Hotel, An Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Laguna Hills
Holiday Inn Laguna Hills
Laguna Hills Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing