We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We arrived at The Hills Hotel on July 14, staying for 7 days. I read the reviews, herd they had done some renovations, noted they advertised free WiFi and thought this would be okay. For starters, the grounds are well taken care of and the lobby is lovely, but they forgot to renovate the rooms. The carpet, furniture, drapes are need an update. The bathroom is in terrible shape. The WiFi didn't work for two days, the televsion had limited channels (they are working on it) was what we heard during our stay. The dining room was very good and the serving staff very friendly. The staff had the front desk were very nice, but that didn't make up for the condition of the room. We were lucky we had an inside room. Friends had an outside room facing the highway and they found the noise dreadful.There was a pool & exercise room, but no spa. The A/C did not work very well and during the night you had a choice of a very warm room or a fan located across from the bed blowing all night.

Room Tip: If you don't care, this will do; but there are better hotels not far away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ritalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_Torres, Front Office Manager at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. You are right, at the time you checked in we had some technical difficulties with our WIFI but was taken care right away. As a matter of fact we have installed 3 T1's to broaden the bandwidth of our internet and now, we have better internet connection. I hope you will give us another chance so, you will experience the new changes we did and this includes better internet service, more channel listings and new great changes to our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    98
    50
    27
    16
See reviews for
101
66
24
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Nice location and helpful staff but this place needs some serious upgrades. Carpets can smell moldy and rooms are right out of the 90s. With many nice places in the area, this is a last resort choice.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dellanno31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_Torres, Front Office Manager at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for recognizing our great service. I will make sure I will share this to all of our staff and everyone will be rewarded for it. We have done so many improvements such as newly renovated restaurant and lounge. Also, all of our rooms has upgraded flat screen TV's, new beds with plush duvet, complimentary high speed internet, newly repainted sleeping rooms and we've installed new carpets to all of our rooms that hasn't been replaced few years back. We inspect our rooms and made improvements. I hope you will visit us again for you to see the improvements we've made.Again, Thank you for recognizing our great service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights for a weekend and to attend a wedding reception at this hotel. It's a good size room, though a bit dated. Nice lobby, good breakfast, and love the drinks and jazz music at the lounge. It has free wi-fi and parking. And though our room is facing I-5, we didn't really hear the freeway noise. One complaint -- the shower didn't have enough cold water. The first day, we were able to get the cold water to work after several tries of turning the valve on/off, and left to right, but not on the next two days. It's still okay, but we had very hot, but short showers on the last two days. We left this comment with the front desk when we checked out and hopefully this was fixed for the next guest. Overall, we had a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tramost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_Torres, Front Office Manager at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
It was a pleasure serving you and your family. Thank you for informing the frontdesk about your cold and hot water situation in your room. Our head maintenance personnel resolved the issue as soon as you informed our frontdesk. Again, Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Lots of stuff needs replacing. Rooms very tired but very big

No working Internet. No apparent urgency to fix it (probably sometime next week)

Housekeeping does a splendid job keeping such a run down hotel spotless

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_Torres, Front Office Manager at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
I appreciate you for complimenting our housekeeping staff. I will assure you that they will get proper credit. I am concerned about our your input regarding our internet service and there's no urgency in resolving the issue. Just to let you know that we are on top of it and we are expecting a new server that will help boost our bandwidth and other minor issues will be resolved today (Friday 07/20/12). Also, regarding our room condition - we will be inspecting your room and see more details about it. I just want to inform you that all of our rooms has a brand new beds, newly repainted walls and brand new flat screen TV's. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience and I will assure you that you will see a lot more improvements the next time you will visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We also only stayed one night, however everything was perfect. Beautiful lounge, free parking, They have a beautiful buffet breakfast. Above all the room was clean, beds were sooooo comfy and and the location was excellent...Will definately stay again..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathiB920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_Torres, Front Office Manager at The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you so much for the feedback. I will pass this along to all of our staff and management. We will continue to provide excellent service. Again, THANK YOU SO MUCH and I will assure you that you will experience greater service and new improvements the next time you will visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We only stayed one night, but it was perfect. Nice pool area, rooms were spotless, very safe and convenient to the freeway. Free wireless, nice tv, good food in the restaurant, free parking. Only slight complaint was the wireless was slow and kept dropping off. Other than that minor issue, we were 100% satisfied and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I don't really stay much in hotels but I should stay this hotel is one of best ones. I just hope they keep the lounge open for a longer time on Saturdays.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jjjjustsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Hills
2.2 mi away
Laguna Hills Lodge
Laguna Hills Lodge
#1 of 4 in Laguna Hills
640 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Mission Viejo Orange County
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
#1 of 1 in Laguna Woods
641 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
#1 of 10 in Lake Forest
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels

Property: The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
Address: 25205 La Paz Rd, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-5105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, is a full service boutique hotel located in beautiful Laguna Hills. We are proud to be among Orange County's top premiere hotels, offering access to some of California's most magnificent beaches, shopping, nightlife, fine dining and deep sea fishing. At The Hills Hotel, we are known for our unique service and accommodating staff that are always willing to go above and beyond to serve our guests. Whether you are traveling to Laguna Hills for business or pleasure, individually or with your entire family, you will find a world of comfort and convenient amenities here. Now, it's your turn to Meet, Play, and Relax at The Hills Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hills Hotel, An Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Laguna Hills
Holiday Inn Laguna Hills
Laguna Hills Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing