We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This Courtyards was beautifully furnished and decorated. If I say it's freeway close that is an understatement. It's on a frontage Road going south on the 5. If you were any closer to the freeway you would be siting on the shoulder with a AAA truck behind you. I don't think the noise in the rooms at the front will be a problem as it is most likely triple glazed. Strictly business persons hotel, it is close to the Spectrum so if that is your destination on a weekend with a great rate it would work with children. The beds are so comfortable!

Room Tip: The beds are to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uptowngal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. Actually our windows are quadruple paned for maximum sound reduction. Please come visit us on the weekends, not only are we close to the spectrum but Laguna Beach is only 6 miles away and you don't have to pay those Laguna prices.

We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 184 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed with my wife and son at Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum. We stayed there twice in the same week, for one day each. By coincidence, both times, we had the same room with two double beds, room 201 which was quiet because it overlooked the parking lot in the back of the hotel. It was large enough for our four suitcases. The first time I checked in, they let me spin for extra Marriott points which were added to my account.

The positives,

• The location is very convenient with easy access to I-5.

• Check-in and check-out were friendly and easy. There are parking spaces near the front and the side entrance so that it was easy to load and unload the suitcases using the trolley.

• The wi-fi was reliable and strong enough for live video streaming of a match between Arsenal and Tottenham Hotspur.

• The bistro in the lobby provided a good selection of food items for a quick breakfast, and the lady behind the counter was very helpful. If you have time for a more substantial breakfast, you can drive to Polly’s Pies in Moulton Plaza.

• The room was clean and well laid out with the traditional Courtyard availability of electrical plugs—just right for three people who had to charge devices at the same time.

• No neighbor noise.


The negatives,

• We learned that at most Courtyards the maid didn’t forget to put out a shower cap; you just have to ask for one at the reception area. On our second stay, we asked for one when we checked in.

We had an excellent stay at the Courtyard, and we felt it was an exceptionally efficient and good deal, especially on weekends when the rate was low.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you got some good bonus points on your elite member spin. Please some visit us the next time you are in town.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

No more free lobby coffee at Courtyards with "bistro" concept. Was told that too many were buying Starbucks at the bistro so they did away with the free stuff. Huh? More like the other way around. Bad move on Marriott's part. They will alienate alot of their business and Rewards members. They are encouraging guests to make their own in their rooms! Otherwise, hotel is OK.....can't really get away from the constant "405 roar" even on the backside. Front desk clerk in afternoon was very friendly and offered bonus points for my stay....a plus. Weekend advanced rate was very good for SoCal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesertRat011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments, we are constantly seeking and reviewing feedback from our guests. I will make sure your comments are shared with our brand team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel has an older feel to it. Well worn but somewhat clean despite the stained carpets. The front desk clerk was extremely polite and friendly. My request for extra towels was met promptly as well. I usually stay at courtyards and have come to enjoy the convenience of their breakfast buffet. This one had food to go that was outrageously priced. Additionally, I had to attend a meeting in the morning and when I returned needing my coffee fix around 10:30 there was no longer any coffee around and the front desk lady said they don't offer it all day. Most of the other courtyards do. The topper was when my four year old left his prized possessions in a backpack in our hotel room.They couldn't find it. I knew exactly where it was... but after their "search" it was unable to be located. No blame on the front desk... I know they looked for it... but it didn't grow legs and walk out on its own. Obviously the result of an untrustworthy staff. Just sad.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mommy23Angels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would very much appreciate it if you could contact me when you have a chance. I would like the opportunity to speak to you about your stay at our hotel and see what we can do to make it better.

Sincerely

Marc Schlesinger
General Manager
949 859 5500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The staff was so great. We had a great time. Even if there was an issue they handled it so nicely. I would highly recommend this hotel. The convenience to the freeway is great as well. The pool and tennis courts were also very nice.

Room Tip: We got a studio, would probably get a bigger place next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We made a pit stop at this property on our way back to San Diego and I was pleasantly surprised. I called the hotel earlier with a question and when I checked in the front desk agent remembered our conversation. She made me feel welcome right away. There was a little bistro in the lobby so we ordered some desserts and an appetizer. The servers there were very nice too. The hotel lobby was inviting and the rooms were clean. The bed and pillows were super comfortable. I wish we were staying another night so that we could enjoy the outdoor pool. I would definitely come here again even just for a weekend getaway. It isn't a resort, but I love that it's super close to Irvine Spectrum.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryze619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

I appreciate you taking the time review our hotel and I thank you for your kind comments about our staff and amenities. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are passing through.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed here for three nights recently. Hotel staff was ultra-friendly and welcoming during my entire stay.
PROS:
Hotel lobby is all new and updated. Nice made-to-order breakfast was nice to have. Drinks in the evening were also nice.
Good location near SNA, Spectrum, etc
Rooms were quiet, no slamming doors (which I loved!)
Nice outdoor pool/patio area. I would have my morning coffee there each a.m.
NEGATIVES;
Hotel is next to the freeway. My room view was the I-5 10 lane freeway
Not really anything nearby, that is, you have to drive to do anything: restaurants, shops, etc.

Overall, this was a nice Courtyard with great staff. I had a good rate which made the stay even better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Brklynrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSchlesinger, General Manager at Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your nice comments about our staff. Our goal is make sure every guests receives exceptional service. I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed the all of the new amenities we added during our recent renovation. Our location near the freeway gives our guests easy access to all that Orange County has to offer with many of those attractions being less than three miles away from the hotel such as the Irvine Spectrum Entertainment center, Improv Comedy Club and the Verizon Wireless Amphitheater. I hope that next time you are in town you will choose to stay with us again.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Hills
0.9 mi away
Laguna Hills Lodge
Laguna Hills Lodge
#1 of 4 in Laguna Hills
665 reviews
3 mi away
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Irvine Spectrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
#1 of 10 in Lake Forest
384 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mission Viejo
4.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Mission Viejo Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County

Address: 23175 Avenida de La Carlota, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-1530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range: $114 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the intersection of the 5 and 405 Freeways, the Courtyard Laguna Hills hotel is right in the heart of the Orange County business center. We are perfectly situated minutes from dining and entertainment at the Irvine Spectrum, as well as only 50 miles from both Los Angeles and San Diego. At our hotel near the Irvine Spectrum, experience our reinvented lobby, featuring The Bistro-Eat. Drink. Connect.®, which serves Starbucks® coffee and where you can enjoy a full meal with cocktails in the evening, or grab something light to go. Stay connected in our Laguna Hills hotel lobby with free Wi-Fi and our interactive GoBoard® technology, providing up-to-date news, weather and local information. Guests at our hotel near Irvine, California appreciate our smartly redesigned rooms that provide the optimal mix of relaxation and flexible functionality. When downtime arises, soak up the sun at our outdoor pool and whirlpool. Guests can also enjoy free parking at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County Hotel
Courtyard Laguna Hills
Laguna Hills Marriott
Laguna Hills Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing