We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the BEST Courtyards I've ever been to!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Yardley, PA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of the BEST Courtyards I've ever been to!!”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed at the Courtyard Laguna Hills for a week on business and was completely impressed. I do quite a bit of travel and have to say this was the nicest Courtyard I have experienced.

The hotel was completely remodeled, so any reviews prior to construction probably no longer apply. The lobby is beautifully appointed and has a Bistro area included in it. They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner (for an additional charge). I only ate breakfast and it was very good and resonably priced. The serving staff was excellent. In the evening, the serving bar is turned into a "happy hour" bar, which I think is a nice touch.

The rooms are also beautiful and the attention to detail in the design was apparent. Little things like the caulk around the sink matched the exact color of the wallpaper, countertops, tiles and backsplashes were all nicely done (no chop jobs or sloppy workmanship). Kudos to the designer for selecting nice colors and not so obnoxious carpeting, etc. as in many hotels. Everything was tastefully done.

The front desk staff was very helpful. The only major complaint I would have was that my room key did not work all the time. They claimed it was demagnitized from being close to my cell phone, but after the first incident I was carefuly not to put them near each other and it still happened.

Overall, it was a great experience and I would higly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naninpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    74
    38
    10
    12
See reviews for
41
30
12
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

My rating is really 3.5 stars; and I would stay again if in town for business, but I would not if on a family vacation. Stayed 5 nights, in town with extended family for a wedding. Hotel offered a good bulk rate for the wedding guests, was flexible with check-ins and late checkouts. Rooms were recently updated, had a nice modern feel, and were clean. Beds seemed new, and comfortable. They had good accommodations for two of our group who use wheelchairs. This is right next to I-5, and while traffic noise was not an issue with double paned windows if closed, the rooms were quite noisy if windows / patio door open. There was also a problem with easily heard hallway noise, and people in our group staying in a room near the fitness room had to be moved. There is a small business center with free printing, wireless and wired access; and a tiny fitness room with a couple of treadmills and a set of free-weights; the swimming pool and spa were well maintained. The lobby is comfortable, but has several booths (for diners) with televisions in each one, and is noisy. There is a cafe/bar in the lobby has limited hours of service, and the food is mediocre at best. The staff was pleasant for the most part, but I felt like the lobby was understaffed. Several times, only one person was staffing the front-desk, and we had to search for / wait for that person if they were in the office, or waiting on a customer at the cafe/bar. This Courtyard definitely is geared up for and staffed for business travelers and they anticipate everyone being out of the hotel by 9 am. I would stay there again if in town with that program, but this hotel was missing the level of service and amenities I would expect if on a vacation, especially with children.

Room Tip: Upgraded room to a suite on request, no charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellinghamster_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We checked in late but were greeted warmly and sent right to our comfortable, connecting rooms. It was clean and pleasant and quiet even though it was right off the highway.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasKami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Check-in was good - got up to my room, and noticed immediately the traffic noise. This was caused by the window not being all the way shut, but I was not able to close it. Called to front desk to have this fixed. Someone was sent up immediately, but they still couldn't get it to latch. It appears that the window is beyond repair. I had also discovered that one of the cleaning staff had left behind a dirty cleaning towel on the sink.

I soon noticed that half the channels on the TV were not working. I called down regarding that issue. They sent someone up immediately, and then I was told that it would be fixed right away. It wasn't fixed, and I was not notified of any update. It has now been three days without access to any March Madness games or HBO. I've had to call the front desk six times now looking for updates. A couple of times they told me it was all fixed - except my TV didn't seem to agree with them. When I called this evening and spoke with Gary, I received a lot of attitude. He got upset because he stated he left me a message. Well, I did not have any message light on my phone, so I suggested that they need to look into the issues with their phones now. Oddly, about two minutes after I got off the call, my message light came on. I guess "someone" got maintenance on that one right away, since they don't appreciate looking stupid to the customer.

Additional items of concern: the internet service is very slow, and the workout room has been jammed into a space that isn't fully suitable. It is rather difficult to run on the treadmill when there is only a two inch clearance between your head and the ceiling, so beware if you are over 6 foot.

The guest rooms are also on the small side. I recently stayed at a Courtyard in South Carolina, outside of Greenville. The standard guest rooms there were significantly larger - and didn't come with all of the issues I encountered here.

It seems that this place has a number of issues that the cosmetic updates haven't corrected. They need to go beyond that. Now, they really need to work on the basics of the building - such as windows, phones, internet, cable, and appropriately sized space.

Finally, if you want a quiet place to sleep, look elsewhere. The hotel is overlooking the 405, and because the freeway is at an angle there is no side that faces away from the freeway. I had asked for a room opposite the freeway, and I was told this room was. I think they need to be more honest with the fact that neither side is away from the freeway.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C00per01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

The entire hotel has recently been renovated and looks great. The staff at Courtyrd Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum was fantastic. They allowed us to check in early. Although the lobby restaurant was closed, the receptionist got me a plate so I could heat up my leftovers. She even got me a Dr. Pepper from her own stash (free of charge) because I didn't like the Pepsi products available at the front desk. Every time I walked by, they were smiling and never made me feel like a nuisance. My husband was there on business and I was there on pleasure. I sat by the pool and enjoyed silence for hours while he was away at work.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank et0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2010

My sister choose this hotel for her entire wedding party and some of her guests to stay at for her wedding weekend. HOWEVER, the hotel was under construction and the noise was so AWFUL (it starts bright and early at 7:30 am) that our entire party of 15 had to move to another hotel half way through our stay. Seriously it was so bad that we had the tv volume set to the highest point it would go and we still couldn't hear it while we were lying on the bed 3 feet away. The pool and fitness room weren't open either as they were under construction as well. Oh! And the hotel staff vacuums and cleans at all hours of the night right outside your room. Between the 10:30 pm vacuuming and the construction noise, I don't think I slept more than 2 hours a night. All and all it was a horrible experience and I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bthjcksn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmsch344, General Manager at Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
I wanted to let everyone know that we have finished our renovation as of January 3rd 2011. We had some difficult times during the construction as often happens during major renovations such as ours. However the finished product is beyond even my own expectations and we have been receiving outstanding feedback from our guests. The renovation encompassed both the rooms and the lobby and has transformed our hotel into a modern, stylish and functional oasis for all types of travelers. In the rooms we added new carpet, wallpaper, lighting, artwork, sofas, tables, bedding and most importantly new flat screen HDTV's with HD signal and an increased channel lineup. The most dramatic changes happened in the lobby where we have completely redefined the Courtyard experience with new furniture, technology, colors, lighting and dining. EAT.DRINK.CONNECT in our new Bistro which serves fantastic made to order breakfasts and a menu that has something for everyone. In addition we are now proudly brewing Starbucks coffee and specialty drinks. For dinner we offer a great menu including starters, entrees and yummy desserts. You can also come try one of our signature cocktails or your favorite beer or wine in our inviting bar. The Go Board is our new 65 inch state of the art touch screen TV which displays real time news, weather, local events, mapping, directions and more. Come watch your favorite show or sporting event in our new Home Theater or one of or private media pods with its own HDTV. There really is too much to list but I know that once you come see our new property you will be back again and again.

Marc Schlesinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

I have to say I was a little disappointed with this Courtyard. I ALWAYS stay at a Marriotts, whether it be a Courtyard, Fairfield Inn or Residence Inn, etc... and have always had a great stay with great service, but this Courtyard was a little underwhelming.

Check in was okay. The room was nice and clean, bed is comfy as was the couch, but the TV set is an older model and was in an awkward place. Could see nicely from the couch, but not the bed or the rest of the room. Air conditioner was very noisy. Thank goodness we were able to open the window for fresh air.

I think what I noticed most, it seemed to lack employees. Which would explain the feeling of...check in and you are on your own.

What I really didn't appreciate, was while I was in the shower, my husband went out to smoke a cigar, came back up to the room and maybe 10 minutes later, the front desk called to say someone had complained that there was smoking coming from the room. My husband explained he had just stepped back in from being outside while smoking a cigar, apologized for the odor being so strong and the front desk person kept accusing him of smoking in the room! No matter how much my husband explained, the man kept on with his accusations.

Anyway, this will be one property we will not return to. Which is a shame.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Hills
0.9 mi away
Laguna Hills Lodge
Laguna Hills Lodge
#1 of 4 in Laguna Hills
628 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
#1 of 1 in Laguna Woods
637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
#1 of 10 in Lake Forest
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum
Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum
#4 of 4 in Laguna Hills
97 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County

Property: Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County
Address: 23175 Avenida de La Carlota, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-1530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the intersection of the 5 and 405 Freeways, the Courtyard Laguna Hills Hotel is right in the heart of the Orange County business center. We are perfectly situated minutes from dining and entertainment at the Irvine Spectrum and Irvine Meadows Amphitheater, as well as only 50 miles from both Los Angeles and San Diego. At our hotel near the Irvine Spectrum, experience our reinvented lobby, featuring The Bistro-Eat. Drink. Connect.(R), which serves Starbucks coffee and where you can enjoy a full meal with cocktails in the evening, or grab something light to go. Stay connected in our Laguna Hills hotel lobby with free Wi-Fi and our interactive GoBoard(R) technology, providing up-to-date news, weather and local information. Guests at our hotel near Irvine, CA appreciate our smartly redesigned rooms that provide the optimal mix of relaxation and flexible functionality. When downtime arises, soak up the sun at our outdoor pool and whirlpool. Guests can also enjoy free parking at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County Hotel
Courtyard Laguna Hills
Laguna Hills Marriott
Laguna Hills Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing