We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveler rating
26
26
24
9
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
26
24
9
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed two nightsnon smokingwould stay againfreewaybeddingcerealcalifornia
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 109 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2005

My wife, daughter and I recently stayed at the Comfort Inn in Laguna Hills July 22 through July 24, 2005. I’m typically not someone to complain however we stayed there because of the reviews. Understandably the rate was fairly cheap for the area however the rooms, service and pool area were less than satisfactory to say the least. The room had a bad smell, the ceiling texture was pealing off, the sink and bath room had mold and the tile on the floor was loose. The iron is attached to the ironing board which is just ridiculous, if their worried about someone taking the iron get a Credit Card for incidentals. The staff was not helpful whatsoever, when asking for additional towels the staff was unwilling to provide. Finally upon asking again the next day additional towels could be provided but I would need to come to the front deck to pick them up. They are hesitant to provide towels because people take them to the beach and don’t return them. Again charge their credit card if there not returned (it shouldn’t impact me). Also I can’t prove it but we think the maid stole my daughter’s skirt. The pool had a few bugs in it so if you don’t mind swimming with critters your ok. If the rate for you out weighs the things I mentioned above then by all means enjoy your stay. Otherwise find another place the Marriot is just up the street as are other locations.

3  Thank DayTrip10903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA448, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2009

We thank you for your comments and I do apologize about your stay experience. We have now implemented a new service training program with our staff to ensure that you receive an enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2005

Stayed here based on the reviews, the staff was friendly and personable. The hotel was replacing its spa heater the day we arrived and could not use it for the day, but the next day we did! Check out the SNOOTY FOX restaurant next door; they have a great breakfast at less than $5 per person.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Guide37752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA448, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2009

I wanted to thank you for your kind comments. Our pool/spa is in great shape for your return visit. FYI, SNOOTY FOX is still next door. It may not be $5 anymore, but the service and price is still great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2005

About what you'd expect from a Comfort Inn. Better than a few Comfort Inns I have stayed at and a step down from a few others. It's a mid-level lodging chain.

The continential breakfast was sparse (pasteries, apples, apple juice, "orange drink," milk, muffins coffee). And why does EVERY Comfort Inn serve some sort of "Tang" as orange juice?

The staff was nice. The maids were nice and over my multi-day stay, they mostly got the daily clean-up right. Quiet, of course the place was mostly deserted during my stay. Rooms were fine, but they are old and while they have been renovated, you can still tell they have some miles, but perfectly comfortable and nice size, nonetheless.

Fast food is nearby, as is Interstate 5, but there is no small grocery or market (or large grocery for that matter) within reasonable walking distance.

Also, I was charged $1.50 per day for the in-room safe warranty, which was not disclosed before I checked in the hotel, nor when I checked out.

Nor did I even use the safe (you have to check out a safe "key" from the front desk to use the inroom safe).

I have had this "done" to me before at other hotels and usually a complaint gets it taken off the bill. However, the clerk had already posted the bill and ran the credit card before showing me the charges, which I suppose was my fault for not insisting on seeing it beforehand. It was less than $5, so I just put up with it, but in principle, I felt that it was bad practice.

Other than that, would not hesistate to stay again. I'd just make sure I did not get the "safe warranty" next time.

  • Stayed: February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vacationer5787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA448, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2009

Thank you for your kind comments. Just to let you know we have completed our upgrades and look much different than your last stay. Our breakfast has been upgraded as well and we serve an assortment of juices now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2004

We used a travel site to book this hotel and were happy with our stay.
The location is excellent only ten minutes from the beach and a few minutes from the mall. The inn was in quite neighborhood that was the best.

6  Thank Relax17560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA448, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2009

We thank you for your kind comments. Our location is still perfect. The area has grown since your last visit with additions to the Irvine Spectrum Center and now Laguna Beach offers a free trolley service during the summer months. Please come visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Inn L, Manager at Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews