We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay someplace else!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stay someplace else!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2005

I had booked a room for an overnight stay in August. I was not able to make the trip due to the fact I was in the hospital. I cancelled my reservation the day before and before 4PM. They still billed my credit card! Now I am getting the runaround from the hotel staff and their customer service is no help either. I finally got my bank to get involved.

Just from this experience alone, I will never stay at a Comfort Inn or any of their other hotels.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA448, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum, responded to this review, January 7, 2009
My sincere apology that you were not taken care of. Each hotel establishes a cancellation and walk policy. Rooms may be canceled within the cancellation period to avoid a charge of one night room and taxes. In your case you were in violation of the cancellation period and were subject to being charged. This policy is industry standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    22
    23
    8
    18
See reviews for
21
21
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2005

My wife, daughter and I recently stayed at the Comfort Inn in Laguna Hills July 22 through July 24, 2005. I’m typically not someone to complain however we stayed there because of the reviews. Understandably the rate was fairly cheap for the area however the rooms, service and pool area were less than satisfactory to say the least. The room had a bad smell, the ceiling texture was pealing off, the sink and bath room had mold and the tile on the floor was loose. The iron is attached to the ironing board which is just ridiculous, if their worried about someone taking the iron get a Credit Card for incidentals. The staff was not helpful whatsoever, when asking for additional towels the staff was unwilling to provide. Finally upon asking again the next day additional towels could be provided but I would need to come to the front deck to pick them up. They are hesitant to provide towels because people take them to the beach and don’t return them. Again charge their credit card if there not returned (it shouldn’t impact me). Also I can’t prove it but we think the maid stole my daughter’s skirt. The pool had a few bugs in it so if you don’t mind swimming with critters your ok. If the rate for you out weighs the things I mentioned above then by all means enjoy your stay. Otherwise find another place the Marriot is just up the street as are other locations.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA448, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum, responded to this review, May 18, 2009
We thank you for your comments and I do apologize about your stay experience. We have now implemented a new service training program with our staff to ensure that you receive an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laguna Hills hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2005

Stayed here based on the reviews, the staff was friendly and personable. The hotel was replacing its spa heater the day we arrived and could not use it for the day, but the next day we did! Check out the SNOOTY FOX restaurant next door; they have a great breakfast at less than $5 per person.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA448, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum, responded to this review, May 18, 2009
I wanted to thank you for your kind comments. Our pool/spa is in great shape for your return visit. FYI, SNOOTY FOX is still next door. It may not be $5 anymore, but the service and price is still great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2005

About what you'd expect from a Comfort Inn. Better than a few Comfort Inns I have stayed at and a step down from a few others. It's a mid-level lodging chain.

The continential breakfast was sparse (pasteries, apples, apple juice, "orange drink," milk, muffins coffee). And why does EVERY Comfort Inn serve some sort of "Tang" as orange juice?

The staff was nice. The maids were nice and over my multi-day stay, they mostly got the daily clean-up right. Quiet, of course the place was mostly deserted during my stay. Rooms were fine, but they are old and while they have been renovated, you can still tell they have some miles, but perfectly comfortable and nice size, nonetheless.

Fast food is nearby, as is Interstate 5, but there is no small grocery or market (or large grocery for that matter) within reasonable walking distance.

Also, I was charged $1.50 per day for the in-room safe warranty, which was not disclosed before I checked in the hotel, nor when I checked out.

Nor did I even use the safe (you have to check out a safe "key" from the front desk to use the inroom safe).

I have had this "done" to me before at other hotels and usually a complaint gets it taken off the bill. However, the clerk had already posted the bill and ran the credit card before showing me the charges, which I suppose was my fault for not insisting on seeing it beforehand. It was less than $5, so I just put up with it, but in principle, I felt that it was bad practice.

Other than that, would not hesistate to stay again. I'd just make sure I did not get the "safe warranty" next time.

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA448, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum, responded to this review, May 18, 2009
Thank you for your kind comments. Just to let you know we have completed our upgrades and look much different than your last stay. Our breakfast has been upgraded as well and we serve an assortment of juices now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2004

We used a travel site to book this hotel and were happy with our stay.
The location is excellent only ten minutes from the beach and a few minutes from the mall. The inn was in quite neighborhood that was the best.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA448, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum, responded to this review, May 18, 2009
We thank you for your kind comments. Our location is still perfect. The area has grown since your last visit with additions to the Irvine Spectrum Center and now Laguna Beach offers a free trolley service during the summer months. Please come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Hills
1.2 mi away
Laguna Hills Lodge
Laguna Hills Lodge
#1 of 4 in Laguna Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Irvine Spectrum Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Laguna Hills Irvine Spectrum/Orange County
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
#1 of 10 in Lake Forest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum

Property: Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum
Address: 23061 Avenida de La Carlota, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly designed rooms with two queen beds and all the modern conveniences in our Laguna Hills Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Irvine Spectrum Hotel Laguna Hills
Comfort Inn Laguna Hills
Laguna Hills Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing