We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ACE!”
Review of Laguna Hills Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Laguna Hills Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“ACE!”
Reviewed August 5, 2010

My sister and I stayed here on the travel down to San Diego! It was a perfect find and for the price we paided it was excellent. Cookies when we arrived was lovely, Pool open until 11! No Noise, Resturants and Shopping mall in 2 minutes walk. Lovely, Would use again and again!.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilac2526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    208
    54
    24
    19
See reviews for
234
192
64
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2010

We stayed here on a visit to see my son in Aliso Viejo.

The rooms are a little on the small side, but the price made it affordable to rent two for our family of four. Beds were reasonably comfortable and the room was exeptionally clean. Someone else mentioned unpleasant odors, but we didn't notice any.

Each of our rooms had two queen beds, refrigerator, microwave, and small safe. The safe had plenty of room for our small laptop and miscellaneous items we wanted to lock up.

Staff were fantastic - friendly and really helpful.

The free breakfast was great. There were a variety of cold cereals, coffee, tea, juice, fruit (apples, bananas, grapes when we were there), yogurt, muffins, hard-boiled eggs, bagels, etc. The hotel was full during our stay, and the dining room was crowded some mornings, but not to the point where we had to wait to get our food or find a table. Note that the dining room only serves the free breakfast (no other meals). There are lots of restaurants close by.

The free wi-fi worked flawlessly. There's also a business center with two computers and printers available free of charge - I was able to print boarding passes for our return flight home.

Stay on the garden side if possible - it's a small area flanked by two of the buildings, and it's really pleasant. The rest of the hotel faces parking lots and/or streets. There's a fire station directly across the street from one of the buildings. The front desk person I spoke with when I reserved the rooms actually volunteered that information. I heard the sirens once or twice from our room (garden side) but it wasn't loud enough to be disturbing. The only negative to the garden side is that it's where people go to smoke - there was often someone sitting on one of the benches, puffing a cigarette.

We didn't use the pool during our stay. It appeared to be clean and well-maintained, and It looked pretty crowded in the evenings.

Starbucks and CVS drugstore are also just across the street. A Von's grocery store is not far away. Laguna Beach is a short drive (maybe 30 minutes - we didn't go there directly from the hotel). We went to the Disney parks 3 times during our visit. They're an easy drive up I-5, 25 minutes or so depending on time of day and day of week. We hit significant traffic going there the evening of the All Star game. Angel Stadium is close to Disneyland, and traffic was slow going through the notorious "Orange Crush" near Anaheim.

I have rarely stayed in a hotel where I didn't find something significant to complain about, and this is the only one in recent memory. We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twr999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona Lake, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

This is a small hotel with simple extras like a good free breakfast every morning from 7-10a.m. Be aware while it is located by a nice mall and the restaurant across the street (BJ's) is amazing, the fire station is right behind the hotel, too. It didn't make a difference to us but others might be upset by the occasional noise.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Stayed five nights at the Laguna Hills Lodge and rented two rooms, adjoining. I booked directly with the hotel and was very pleased with the service and the price. The hotel was very clean and the gardens around the buildings added a really nice touch. Rooms were nicely apppointed, very comfortable and really quiet. The pool was warm and very inviting, spent lots of time in it. When we first arrived the hot tub had a problem but it was fixed by the next day. The excercie room had two treadmills, a recumbent bike and weight machine all in good working order. The staff members were great, very helpful and accommodating, extra towels or blankets no problem,. Need a plate for your lunches it will be sent up. GREAT FOLKS. If your going to be in the Laguna Hills, Laguna Woods area this Hotel is a great choice. By the way awesome barbecue at the nearby Lucilles Smokehouse, we brought a feast back and ate by the pool.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baldeagle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

This is best property I have found for the price in this area. It is located close to Laguna Woods, shopping (and places to eat - they even have discount arrangements with several) and freeway access. This is an older, but very nicely kept facility with very large rooms, good quality linens, toiletries, free WiFi and other room amenities. The pool is heated, the work out room has good quality equipment that actually works and the service is friendly and professional. Grounds are nicely landscaped and maintained. A free breakfast is included. It is only a small cut above the standard continental fare - but the selection is adequate and for a quick bite at the beginning of the day, it's fine. My stay was for several days and the per night cost was more reasonable then lower quality places I've tried previously in the area. I will be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JiminGigHarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2010

for $100 in the Laguna area, i wasn't expecting much. We just needed a decent place to stay for a night before heading to Catalina. We more more than pleasantly surprised. The hotel was clean, bright, cheery and the breakfast, for continental, was pretty good. I'd definitely recommend it as a good value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faye1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

After a busy 6 days in Hollywood we were looking for somewhere quiet to relax and unwind for a few days and Laguna Lodge was the ideal place.
As you drive up to this Hotel, the first thing you notice are the colours. The Hotel is covered in the most beautiful cerise blooms. The gardens are just out of this world with a water feature in the middle and considering it is a stones throw from the main road, you get a feeling of peace! Our room and small balcony overlooked the garden. The first room we were given overlooked the road and car park so we asked if we could change our room and they were only too happy to oblige. The room was quite small but well furnished. I was with my husband and teenage daughter and there were 2 king size beds. A good sized fridge, coffee maker, flat screen tv, microwave, ironing board, iron and hairdryer.
The room didnt get much sun which meant that it was nice and cool. The furniture was of good quality and and tastefully decorated, it was also spotlessly clean. The cleaners changed the towels if left on the floor and you put a card on the bed if you wanted them to put clean sheets on for you. There were vending machines and an ice machine at the end of the ground floor corridor.
The pool was opposite the reception, in this area was also a spa, a small gym and the laundry, which was very cheap compared to other hotels. $1 for the washing machine and the tumble dryer!!! It was a quiet hotel, there were a few older people staying there but also some families. It was quiet when we were there which was lovely as we would almost have the pool and spa area to ourselves in the afternoon. (Heated pool). Breakfast was adequate, cereal, muffins, croissants etc in one of the blocks.
Opposite the hotel you have a large shopping mall with a cinema, there is also a food hall and a Macys, yet it is far enough away not to intrude on the hotel. There are also a couple of bars/restaurants in a 5 minute walking distance.
I loved this hotel, its family run and just lovely. I can not believe that this hotel only cost £230 for 4 nights. Thats £57 a night, if that isnt value for money in California I dont know what is.
If I was in that area again I would not hesitate to book Laguna Lodge again. Ive tried to think of something negative to say but all I can come up with is that the room didnt get much sun light, but you cant move the sun and the view we had overlooking the gardens more than made up for that.
Please note that you are a good 10 minute drive from Laguna beach.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LellyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Hills
1.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
#1 of 1 in Laguna Woods
641 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum
Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum
#4 of 4 in Laguna Hills
99 reviews
6.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Hills Lodge

Property: Laguna Hills Lodge
Address: 23932 Paseo de Valencia, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-0146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Hills Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of southern coastal Orange County, the Lodge assures our guests convenience and personal attention to detail from our dedicated and experienced staff. Newly renovated guestrooms include the following complimentary amenities: continental breakfast, parking, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, coffee service, local phone calls, microwave, refrigerator, hairdryers and irons. Enjoy our large swimming pool, whirlpool, fitness center and Finnish saunas. Easy access to Southern California attractions, shopping and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Laguna Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hills Hotel Laguna Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing