We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great ploace to stay!”
Review of Laguna Hills Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laguna Hills Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Totally remodeled and very reasonable. Quiet, close to I-5 and I-405. What a bargain!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtFestJunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

621 - 627 of 674 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2009

Stayed here for a few nights in August. Because I had no idea how long my business would keep me in California, I was looking for a place willing to negotiate a rate. Spoke with the manager, Martin, who agreed to take ten dollars off the room per night and put me in a room where I could stay "up to a week" if need be--at the same rate. So far, so good. On my second day there, Martin asked me to move to a different room. When I reminded him of what he promised me, he claimed he had never spoken to me before and that I was confusing him with someone else who worked there. Unbelievable.

I was forced to leave my business meeting, drive twenty miles back to the motel and move my belongings to another room. (Had I had the time, I would have left in search of more hospitable accommodations). On my third day there I was told by Martin that my rate was going to increase. Again, I reminded him of what he had promised me the first day and his response was (are you ready for this?), "Since I know you wanted a cheaper rate, I think you should just go and find another hotel." I literally couldn't believe my ears.

I have never been treated so rudely by any hotel or motel manger in all my life. He made a deal the first night and then broke it every day I was there. Obviously I did not stay there a fourth day.

BTW, they make a big deal of mentioning a "twenty-three item breakfast buffet". The buffet consists of toast, pastries, juice, fruit and cereal. Not that there's anything wrong with that--it's a perfectly serviceable continental-style breakfast. It's just that they "sell it" as if it's something exceptional.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cobblestonerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_Hills_Lodge, Owner/manager at Laguna Hills Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2009

We are, of course, very sorry that one of our guests has felt that he had a bad experience at the Lodge. Our family has owned and operated the Laguna Hills Lodge for 40 years and the average length of employment of our dedicated staff is 14 years.
We would like to clarify a few issues for our guest and anyone who reads this. Unfortunately, when this guest booked his room for one night with the request to stay an additional day or two as needed, our hotel was at nearly full occupancy. Because of that, we were able to accommodate him but could not guarantee a 3-night stay in the same room. As far as the price we quoted this guest, he was offered our lowest available rate. We invite this guest to contact us directly if he needs to discuss this further.
Lastly, this guest made an unpleasant comment about our “overstated” breakfast. We call our meal service an “extended continental breakfast” because besides the usual offerings we add hard-boiled eggs, a large variety of yogurts and fresh seasonal fruits, bakery items toasted to order, etc. We have never before received any complaints about our breakfast. Indeed, guests compliment us on this meal served in our very attractive Mariposa Room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

I stayed here for 6 nights while in town for the Little League Regionals. It was a GREAT choice. Rooms were clean - service was great - breakfast was fine -and I loved having the hard boiled eggs also! Pool was great, nice shady areas. Even workout room was nice - overlooking the pool. Location was nice as it was right by the mall - definitly walking distance. I would choose this hotel again and again if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We planned on going to Wild Rivers (about 60 miles from home) so decided to make an overnight trip. For the value, this place is great. Heated pool, continental breakfast, free parking, and location, location, location. We were 4 minutes from Wild Rivers in Irvine, about 15 minutes from San Clemente beach (where we spent the rest of the Labor Day weekend) & walking distance to every type of cuisine you could imagine all within a stone's throw from the Laguna Hills mall. However, since it was on a major thoroughfare, there were plenty of emergency vehicles careening through odd hours of the day & night. There's a quaint patio area on the 2nd floor of Bldg A which can be very inviting during the warm So Cal nights. The heated pool was even more inviting. The extra facilities were awesome (laundry, gym, etc). The bed was comfy, the room was adequate. The best part maybe the chair/ottoman set, very relaxing as you watched the free HBO channel. Would definitely stay here again....even though there is a disturbing notice on the wall as you go up the patio on the 2nd floor of Bldg A, it warns the patrons of the hazardous materials that may be in the building construction....at least they are honest. Definitely have to thank the Lodge for helping us find the best darn BBQ place in So Cal, Lucille's Smoke House on El Torro & Rockfileld in Lake Forest. Thanks Laguna Hills Lodge!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMillerNorthridge_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Stayed one night. New rooms, nice bedding, quiet room facing garden area, great business center for free, very good continental breakfast. We were suppose to stay two nights and cancelled at the last minute. There were no penalties. Very pleasant experience. Would not hesitate to go back again. Also quite reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steviemagid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

We have stayed at the Laguna Hills Lodge for years when we visit family in the area. Service is good, grounds are attractive, an extended continental breakfast is included, and the motel is across the street from a shopping center and good seafood restaurant (King's).

Rooms were recently redecorated and the pool is well-maintained.
A microwave and small refrigerator are in each room and free wi-fi is as well.

This is a solid value for someone who doesn't need to stay right on the beach at Laguna. It is reasonably priced for the area and well-run. The property is only a ten or fifteen minute drive from the Orange County Airport.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OttawaCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Rooms ok, nothing bad and nothing good.
Clean and relatively quiet.
Breakfast is fine, but by day 3 Denny's a much better option.
Most of the staff good (the two old ladies in reception are the exception) boy do you feel they are well past their best.
Close to plenty of eating & drinking locs and good choice of venues.
Lodge is trying hard in face of tough competition but rapidly lossing out to other local hotels (I have stopped staing at LHL and gone to Courtyrad)

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank UKMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_Hills_Lodge, Marketing & Sales Manager at Laguna Hills Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2009

To UKMS,

Thank you for your review. I'd like to respond to your comment regarding "the two old ladies in reception {who are} well past their best." Perhaps these "old ladies" that you speak of were before my time here at the Lodge, but I feel I should speak on behalf of our Front Desk staff who are dedicated, friendly, and knowledgable regardless of their age or background.

In regards to your comment about "rapidly losing out to other local hotels," I am proud to say that the Lodge currently offers rates below our competition as well as unrivaled promotions. We find that guests and potential guests are extremely appreciative of the low rates and promotions during these tough times.

I hope this helps to clarify your concerns.

Thank you!
The Laguna Hills Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Hills
2.2 mi away
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
#1 of 10 in Lake Forest
387 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
#1 of 1 in Laguna Woods
648 reviews
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mission Viejo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Hills Lodge

Address: 23932 Paseo de Valencia, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-0146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range: $100 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Hills Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of southern coastal Orange County, the Lodge assures our guests convenience and personal attention to detail from our dedicated and experienced staff. Newly renovated guestrooms include the following complimentary amenities: continental breakfast, parking, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, coffee service, local phone calls, microwave, refrigerator, hairdryers and irons. Enjoy our large swimming pool, whirlpool, fitness center and Finnish saunas. Easy access to Southern California attractions, shopping and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Laguna Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hills Hotel Laguna Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing