We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel - great stay!”
Review of Laguna Hills Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laguna Hills Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2009

I stayed here for 6 nights while in town for the Little League Regionals. It was a GREAT choice. Rooms were clean - service was great - breakfast was fine -and I loved having the hard boiled eggs also! Pool was great, nice shady areas. Even workout room was nice - overlooking the pool. Location was nice as it was right by the mall - definitly walking distance. I would choose this hotel again and again if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
There are newer reviews for Laguna Hills Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 649 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2009

We planned on going to Wild Rivers (about 60 miles from home) so decided to make an overnight trip. For the value, this place is great. Heated pool, continental breakfast, free parking, and location, location, location. We were 4 minutes from Wild Rivers in Irvine, about 15 minutes from San Clemente beach (where we spent the rest of the Labor Day weekend) & walking distance to every type of cuisine you could imagine all within a stone's throw from the Laguna Hills mall. However, since it was on a major thoroughfare, there were plenty of emergency vehicles careening through odd hours of the day & night. There's a quaint patio area on the 2nd floor of Bldg A which can be very inviting during the warm So Cal nights. The heated pool was even more inviting. The extra facilities were awesome (laundry, gym, etc). The bed was comfy, the room was adequate. The best part maybe the chair/ottoman set, very relaxing as you watched the free HBO channel. Would definitely stay here again....even though there is a disturbing notice on the wall as you go up the patio on the 2nd floor of Bldg A, it warns the patrons of the hazardous materials that may be in the building construction....at least they are honest. Definitely have to thank the Lodge for helping us find the best darn BBQ place in So Cal, Lucille's Smoke House on El Torro & Rockfileld in Lake Forest. Thanks Laguna Hills Lodge!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMillerNorthridge_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Stayed one night. New rooms, nice bedding, quiet room facing garden area, great business center for free, very good continental breakfast. We were suppose to stay two nights and cancelled at the last minute. There were no penalties. Very pleasant experience. Would not hesitate to go back again. Also quite reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steviemagid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

We have stayed at the Laguna Hills Lodge for years when we visit family in the area. Service is good, grounds are attractive, an extended continental breakfast is included, and the motel is across the street from a shopping center and good seafood restaurant (King's).

Rooms were recently redecorated and the pool is well-maintained.
A microwave and small refrigerator are in each room and free wi-fi is as well.

This is a solid value for someone who doesn't need to stay right on the beach at Laguna. It is reasonably priced for the area and well-run. The property is only a ten or fifteen minute drive from the Orange County Airport.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OttawaCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Rooms ok, nothing bad and nothing good.
Clean and relatively quiet.
Breakfast is fine, but by day 3 Denny's a much better option.
Most of the staff good (the two old ladies in reception are the exception) boy do you feel they are well past their best.
Close to plenty of eating & drinking locs and good choice of venues.
Lodge is trying hard in face of tough competition but rapidly lossing out to other local hotels (I have stopped staing at LHL and gone to Courtyrad)

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank UKMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_Hills_Lodge, Marketing & Sales Manager at Laguna Hills Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2009

To UKMS,

Thank you for your review. I'd like to respond to your comment regarding "the two old ladies in reception {who are} well past their best." Perhaps these "old ladies" that you speak of were before my time here at the Lodge, but I feel I should speak on behalf of our Front Desk staff who are dedicated, friendly, and knowledgable regardless of their age or background.

In regards to your comment about "rapidly losing out to other local hotels," I am proud to say that the Lodge currently offers rates below our competition as well as unrivaled promotions. We find that guests and potential guests are extremely appreciative of the low rates and promotions during these tough times.

I hope this helps to clarify your concerns.

Thank you!
The Laguna Hills Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Laguna Hills Lodge for one night. We had some difficulty booking on the Internet (website wouldn't accept our reservation because something was wrong with the user name and password we were instructed to create), but when we finally contacted them by phone, the staff were friendly and helpful. Check in was similarly efficient and pleasant. We were in room 363 on the top floor facing the city offices. The elevator made it easy to move our bags up to the room. The room was large and outfitted with microwave, big flat screen TV with many channels (including 3 HBO channels), free wi-fi, refrigerator (and a separate freezer), and coffee maker. There's a small terrace, but you can't stand on it. The hot air heater warms the room quickly. When you go in the door, bathroom is to left, then on the left is the sink across from the connecting door so if neighbors are loud, you hear them through the connecting door only if in bathroom or using the sink. We checked in at noon, and there was no problem getting a good room. Complimentary breakfast was in a ground floor room in our building, served from 7-10. There were hard boiled eggs, cereal, pastries, bread which could be toasted, yoghurt and fruit. The location was very convenient: we walked to the Laguna Hills Mall on December 26th when cars were circling the mall looking for cars leaving their parking spaces. Some of the rooms are across the street from the fire station. We heard the fire engine leaving a couple of times, but the sound was not bothersome. We think this is the best hotel deal in Laguna Hills.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2008

We'd looked on the Internet at accomodation all around the Laguna area and decided not to stay at Laguna Beach mainly because of the very high prices. We're glad we chose the Laguna Hills Lodge because it had everything that we needed. It's just opposite a Shopping Mall and there are plenty of good eating places within walking distance although you will have to cross a main road. It's also a convenient base for getting to the coastal resorts and other tourist destinations in the area

We were allocated a ground floor room (there are lifts to the upper floors) and it was spacious, clean and very good value for money. Breakfast was served in the Mariposa room and was adequate with cereals, tea, coffee, toast, pastries and hard boiled eggs available as well as a selection of fresh fruit.

While there we availed ourselves of the guest laundry (small charge), swimming pool, and free Internet service.

We'll stay there again next time we are in Southern California.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GeordieIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Hills
1.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
#1 of 1 in Laguna Woods
643 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum
6.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Hills Lodge

Address: 23932 Paseo de Valencia, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-0146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range: $100 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Hills Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of southern coastal Orange County, the Lodge assures our guests convenience and personal attention to detail from our dedicated and experienced staff. Newly renovated guestrooms include the following complimentary amenities: continental breakfast, parking, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, coffee service, local phone calls, microwave, refrigerator, hairdryers and irons. Enjoy our large swimming pool, whirlpool, fitness center and Finnish saunas. Easy access to Southern California attractions, shopping and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Laguna Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hills Hotel Laguna Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing