We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Rooms, Well Maintained Property, Have stayed at LHL many times”
Review of Laguna Hills Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laguna Hills Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Laguna Hills Lodge is so nice! The grounds and facilities are impeccably maintained and provide a nice ambiance. Rooms are large, with king size bed, balcony and dressing area. Bathrooms are a bit tiny, but will do. Breakfast room very clean, variety of options, even if same each day. Location is super, near I-5 and close to our family who lives in Irvine. Staff provides great service. Restaurants and a mall so close, including an In-and-Out and BJ's nearby. The Lodge has a swimming pool, workout room and business center. Wi-Fi works great. Only drawback, and it is a small one, is the fire station located near building C. When they make a run, one hears the sirens, yet this does not happen frequently. We have stayed here many times over the years and continue to return. In fact, already made reservations for our next trip later this year.

Room Tip: Last trip, room 232, which is right above the breakfast room. First room in from the stairs and elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shuttrrbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 661 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was the second time my wife and stayed at the Laguna Lodge this year. We have stayed due to procedures I was having done at the nearby Saddleback Memorial Health Center. As with our previous stay the staff was most helpful giving us a room with easy access and let us check in early. The room were quiet and comfortable. One suggestion I would give the staff would be "brightened up" the rooms, but I am sure that will come when they are remodeled in the future. The grounds, as mentioned in so many other reviews, are beautiful and relaxing. The breakfast was more than adequate and the service friendly. This is truly a hidden gem and at very reasonable price compared to the surrounding motels. I would most definitely recommend this motel to travelers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K8265NYroberth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I was attracted by the price, lovely pictures and good reviews. All these were basically valid, but there were oddities with the service that I found disconcerting. The lodge has 3 buildings, one with the breakfast room, yet they provide no map to show where rooms (including breakfast) or ice machines were. Our room was a well furnished accessible room on the first floor.The Continental breakfast was odd in that bread and pastry items were behind glass and only available when asking their guard/server and giving a ticket provided by the management to room holders for each day's stay. Room lighting was controlled by timed motion detectors on short cycles. Their emphasis on returning of electronic keys, response to the lack of map, and restricted access to breakfast items was "security". Made me wonder about personal safety. But the room lighting and cheap toilet paper led to the conclusion that management was too cheap to rely on guest honesty. Next time I'll go elsewhere.

Room Tip: There appear to be rooms on the second floors with sizeable balconies. I would advise calling the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_Hills_Lodge, General Manager at Laguna Hills Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel. We want to assure you that your personal safety should be of no concern. Let us clarify some of the issues you mentioned to ease your mind.

Room lighting -- As part of “green” practices at our hotel, our room lights are on motion detectors; the settings are those recommended by SoCal Edison. The intent is to be environmentally responsible.

Breakfast – our servers are not there to police the food but to provide personal and sanitary service. Most of our guests enjoy Alberto and German’s personal touch and good humor.

Keys – Key control is important to any hotel and in addition our high tech room keys are very expensive to replace.

The Laguna Hills Lodge is located in a very safe, low crime area. In addition, the Police Department is next door. We don’t provide maps because the property is small and easy for Front Desk staff to provide navigation. If you felt that you needed a map as well that is certainly something we could consider in the future. Again, thank you for taking the time to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. You were greeted with smiles, a daily newspaper, free continental breakfast voucher for each guest, and a coupon sheet for discounts on local restaurants. The room was spotless and the beds were very comfortable. The grounds were beautiful. We had a first floor room and were able to pull up directly in front of our room, which was a huge plus. My friend and I were amazed that after knowing dozens of teenagers were staying at the hotel that evening that the hotel was exceptionally quiet. A few added pluses included the 60 channel television selection and having both a microwave and refrigerator/freezer. I wish more hotels were like this.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danateach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

My friend and I were looking for a place to stay before an exam at prometric. We saw on tripadvisor the excellent review of the lodge, and decided to stay here. True to all the reviews, the lodge was filled with flowers and looked like a little "secret garden".

The room was clean, comfortable, and spacious.
The bed was very comfortable.
The continental breakfast was good and consisted of a variety of foods more so than the typical continental breakfasts.
The only problem I had was that the hotel was in close proximity to a large road and it was a bit noisy at night.

For those that may think about staying at the lodge prior to an exam at prometric, this is a perfect place to stay! Close in proximity, and you will get a hearty breakfast before your exam.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yummy817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is how relaxing should be. Beautiful garden and a quite clean room with great front desk employees. I am in Irvine often and this is the only place I'll stay. Personal service with a caring staff. 60 Channel cable T.V. Very comfortable bed with a fridge and microwave. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeroyT10 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

The landscaped gardens with flowers are tranquil, very cost effective compared to much higher priced hotels, very clean rooms with flat TV/frig/micro-wave, daily continental breakfast was very good, definitely used the small laundry room behind the pool, conveniently next to 405/I-5 freeway.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank y2ktigr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Hills
2.2 mi away
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
1.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
#1 of 1 in Laguna Woods
646 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
Holiday Inn Irvine Spectrum
#1 of 10 in Lake Forest
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Irvine Spectrum Hotel
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
6.6 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Hills Lodge

Address: 23932 Paseo de Valencia, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-0146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range: $99 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Hills Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of southern coastal Orange County, the Lodge assures our guests convenience and personal attention to detail from our dedicated and experienced staff. Newly renovated guestrooms include the following complimentary amenities: continental breakfast, parking, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, coffee service, local phone calls, microwave, refrigerator, hairdryers and irons. Enjoy our large swimming pool, whirlpool, fitness center and Finnish saunas. Easy access to Southern California attractions, shopping and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hills Hotel Laguna Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing