We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Uniquely delightful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Hills Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laguna Hills Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Red Oak, Iowa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Uniquely delightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This little place is a gem. I was apprehensive driving in but I was quickly felt comfortable and settled in. My room was clean and decorated very nicely. My view of the garden was perfect. The staff was accommodating and gracious. Breakfast was average but adequate. I worked from the room and was able to get a lot done. Very grateful not to have to pay for internet. The area has great places to shop and eat. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    172
    49
    23
    19
See reviews for
195
161
61
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Staff was overtly friendly and very helpful. Sorry that my room was on the street side, but small nuisance when overall experience considered. Breakfast room staffeed with very nice people and had good selection of breads.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcbuckco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for 10 days. 5 When first arriving in Orange County and then 5 more at the end of our California stay. This was by far the best Hotel we stayed in with this price range and very good value for the price. We found this hotel by searching the internet and within the location we wanted to be. Be advised they don't take pets but they are very up front about this and advise customers right away that they are smoke free and pet free. We also found that there was no heavy chemical smell and our rooms were clean. From our observations while there they are continually doing routine cleaning of common areas, windows, stairwells, hallways and the grounds are so well kept. Beautiful flowers even though we were there in the off season. We utilized the pool area with our grandson and he just loved it. Small but all he needed.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms are on the quieter side of the hotel. We were on the road side but must say that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hartario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We spent four nights at this hotel, two days either side of a road trip around California. Of all of the hotels we stayed in this was one of the better ones. The room was a good size, was clean and the WiFi worked well. The bathroom was small, but functional. The breakfast was a little bland, but to be honest this was a fairly common experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GusTheRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was in the area for work and chanced upon Laguna Hills Lodge and it was a pleasant enough stay. The reception was great. Candy and cookies upon my arrival and some restaurant coupons for the surrounding area. I also managed to completely overlook the radiator unit in the corner and when I didn't want to freeze another night someone pleasantly came and pointed it out, and didn't laugh at my lapse either. The lodge is conveniently located, right next to the mall and In N Out Burger and 2 minutes from Route 5. The rooms are very spacious although the bathroom space (toilet and shower) is very tiny. The bed was a little stiff. The continental breakfast was nice - cereal, yogurt, fruit, bagels, oatmeal, etc. Parking was convenient (although I was not there at a touristy time). The elevator in Bldg. C scared me into taking the stairs with my luggage my last day. The door was still creaking open after I made my descent. I don't know if this was a recurring incidence as I took the steps all other times (only two levels). The gym was a poor excuse for a gym. There were two treadmills (one out of order), one bike and one weight machine. No sanitary wipes, complimentary towels, and I want to say no water either if I remember correctly. Oh and the free Wi-Fi was a little slow. But overall, it was a good value and very good location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nch7w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_Hills_Lodge, General Manager at Laguna Hills Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your suggestion to provide sanitary wipes in the gym is excellent and we have implemented your recommendation. Complimentary bottled water is available at breakfast every day and in vending machines around the property. The elevator is serviced monthly and the housekeeping staff uses it every day and reports if there is a problem. Lastly, the treadmill has been repaired. Again, thank you for your helpful comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Okay, so it wasn't the Omni Shoreham, but this place was awesome. I can't think of anything that could make it better, so I give it a 5. It is a slightly older place, but the rooms have been updated and our was beautiful AND very clean. It was roomy and comfortable and we were surprised that it included a refrigerator and microwave. The grounds are very beautiful, the landscaping is very well maintained. The breakfast was more than "continental" in that it included a wide variety of cereals, breads, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, etc. Given the cost, we were pleasantly surprised at how great this place was. We did NOT find it to be noisy or unfriendly as Leslie H mentioned, but I agree they have put resources into updating rooms, landscaping, and breakfast rather than hallways. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntMeggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed for two nights last week. The property is nice and the rooms are clean and somewhat updated for the most part. The hallways were pretty bad as far as being very dated however. I liked the fact they had fridges and microwaves in the rooms. The breakfast was very nice and appreciated.
The hotel was extremely noisy however, so noisy, that I would never consider going back. I did not sleep either night I was there. The walls are so thin you can hear absolutely everything from the footsteps above you, to each and every time a door is opened or shut, to people talking and moving. The hospital is up the street and the sirens were nonstop, all day and night. Also, check out is at 11am and I called to ask for a noon check out so I could take a conference call. I was refused, and not nicely either. At about 10:45, the housekeepers started calling my room every five minutes to ask when I was leaving....very annoying and not very customer friendly. I would not recommend this hotel...pay a little extra for a nicer, quieter, more friendly place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Hills
2.2 mi away
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
1.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
#1 of 1 in Laguna Woods
4.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum
Comfort Inn at Irvine Spectrum
#4 of 4 in Laguna Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Irvine Spectrum Hotel
6.6 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Hills Lodge

Property: Laguna Hills Lodge
Address: 23932 Paseo de Valencia, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-0146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Hills Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of southern coastal Orange County, the Lodge assures our guests convenience and personal attention to detail from our dedicated and experienced staff. Newly renovated guestrooms include the following complimentary amenities: continental breakfast, parking, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, coffee service, local phone calls, microwave, refrigerator, hairdryers and irons. Enjoy our large swimming pool, whirlpool, fitness center and Finnish saunas. Easy access to Southern California attractions, shopping and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Laguna Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hills Hotel Laguna Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing