We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Laguna Hills Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laguna Hills Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Family vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights during the summer we had 2 rooms with connecting doors which was great for us.
The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean. The location was ok as we went to Disney and San diego to sea world .
The best thing about it was the fact that it included breakfast which with 2 little ones really helped.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KNGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    198
    54
    24
    19
See reviews for
220
183
64
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

We have just finished a 2 month trip around the US and Canada and this was the best place we stayed at by a million miles just in terms of comfort, quiet and value. It was so relaxing, which is surprising as it is right by busy traffic and across from a mall, but has great sound proofing.

The room was large and comfortable. The hotel information was great - lots of ideas of places to eat which is handy when you don't know the area and are tired and hungry. (Would recommend the elephant bar over the road for great, healthy food and nice drinks and friendly staff too).

The nicest thing about this place was the breakfast. The staff are really nice and efficient with everything. It is incredibly clean and well thought out. There isn't any hot food but all the choices are good quality, neatly packaged etc. The staff cook your toast or bagels etc so it is all very clean and well organised. It is not a budget/token breakfast by any means, and there are several other places we stayed at who would do well to take lessons on how to do a great inclusive breakfast!

The garden was very pretty and beautiful and the xmas decorations were a great hit with our toddler. The pool, gym and laundry area were very tidy and pleasant areas too. Overall, we just found this a really lovely, relaxing place to stay for a couple of nights to be out of the rush of the big cities.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor with car parked outside, which was handy as had a lot of luggage. A r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wild1wild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 6 nights and paid £220 for bed and breakfast. Room was large with an essential fridge and microwave. Bed was very comfortable. Free wi-fi in room which is unusual for a hotel at this price.
The breakfast was great. It was served in polystyrene (cups, plate, and bowl) with plastic cutlery but hey, it was free.
If you are looking for a luxury break you will be disappointed. However, if you are looking for a comfortable and affordable hotel you won't get any better at this price.
Also, location wise is fantastic. You can walk across road to the mall, and there is a good pizzeria/bar across the street. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_king_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

I had a work event in Laguna Beach and needed an affordable hotel. We usually stay on Laguna Beach, but we had a stricter budget this year and I was worried we would have to compromise on hotel standards. After checking other reviews, I chose the Laguna Hills Lodge for me and my husband. The grounds are very pretty and well manicured. The rooms are nicely appointed, which was a surprise given the great rate we paid. We didn't eat the breakfast as we needed to get going, and we appreciated the locale of the hotel as we had many choices. I would recommend this hotel as the rates are very good without compromising on room standards. We were very pleased with this experience and will probably come back with our kids the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeoFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

The guy at the front desk was by far the rudest, most argumentative person. He literally argued with us in the lobby as we were checking in. After reading good reviews we thought this would be a great place to stay. Wrong!! I have never been so insulted. So much for a nice stay in laguna hills and paying for hospitality. Think again before staying here!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tsuagd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Really fantastic hotel -it's a gem. So many god things to mention: neet and spacy room, Nice poolarea, great breakfast and of cause very friendly staff. Will come again and will surely recommend to anybody going to Orange County.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaikenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

We just stayed in this motel for a week and it was an extremely pleasant experience. Our room was very clean, the beds were comfortable. Everything worked. The continental breakfast isn't the best I've had but is somewhat above average. The fruit (apple, bananas and grapes) was fresh. A decent variety of bagels & toast, yogurt, hard boiled eggs.

The lodge is right across the street from the Laguna Hills Mall, which is small but adequate for basic needs. The Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf cafe is in this mall and is about a 5-minute walk for those who need something with a little more body than motel coffee. There are several restaurants within walking distance. BJs is great, as is The Elephant Bar.

The exterior of the lodge is well-kept and charming with rose gardens and blooming bougainvillea growing up around the room balconies.

Disappointed that the balconies were decor only, but at least there is a window that opens. The weather in this part of the country is so lovely so often that an open window is a wonderful thing.

This motel is right off of interstate 5, but quiet considering its convenient location.

I was stunned at the reasonable price my husband got off of the Internet and would have gladly paid more for this room.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann13820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Hills
2.2 mi away
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
1.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
#1 of 1 in Laguna Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Irvine Spectrum Hotel
6.9 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Mission Viejo Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Hills Lodge

Property: Laguna Hills Lodge
Address: 23932 Paseo de Valencia, Laguna Hills, CA 92653-0146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Laguna Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Hills Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of southern coastal Orange County, the Lodge assures our guests convenience and personal attention to detail from our dedicated and experienced staff. Newly renovated guestrooms include the following complimentary amenities: continental breakfast, parking, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, coffee service, local phone calls, microwave, refrigerator, hairdryers and irons. Enjoy our large swimming pool, whirlpool, fitness center and Finnish saunas. Easy access to Southern California attractions, shopping and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hills Hotel Laguna Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing