We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're a senior let them know!”
Review of Woody's Diner

Woody's Diner
Ranked #29 of 97 Restaurants in Laguna Hills
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
257 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“If you're a senior let them know!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My hubby and I go about once a week to Woody's for happy hour specials in the bar. It's a small area in the restaurant where everyone seems to know each other. It's next to Laguna Woods so the crowd is often over 50. Sean, our bartender is very friendly and quick with our order. However, for the second time this year, we took our group of seniors there for breakfast. The first time was so much fun they asked for an encore. We weren't so fortunate with the reviews this time. We gave Woody's manager plenty of notice that we were coming. Our waitress (only one for our entire group of 15) was sweet, but over-burdened. She was given another large group next to us. The food was good, but they no longer have the $4.95 special. Instead they have fancy $8 and $9 omelet specials. After our group of (obviously) seniors ordered, ate and then paid their bills, we noticed not one was given the 20% senior discount. I asked the waitress about the discount and she said she forgot they were seniors! (well they might be flattered) With the favorite special gone and the having to beg for the senior discount...I don't think they'll want to go there again. Also, Woody's really needs to clean up the decor. There are sad pots of plants that look tacky. But...Do still love the happy hour.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank norcalhummingbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This place has the best sliders by far around this area. Add to it the beer fries and you are set for the day! Yum! Ambiance is great too and the staff are always very attentive and friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jane1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DOG FOOD”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great diner if you don't mind eating food that a dog wouldn't. I've given them the benefit of doubt four or five times this year but finally gave up. Nothing against the service but , the meat is over cooked and poorly presented. Their coffee must be the cheapest available on the planet, it tastes like someone soaked old socks in it. They can't bother to replace their torn, falling apart menu's.
I've promised to make it a point to tell my family and friends to avoid this dump. Their attempt at management is a disgrace to the business.
However, they'll manage to survive a while longer on custom from the seniors who live close by, simply because it's close by and near the market. Please be good to your health, stay away.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Terrace
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Surf's Up”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Great diner with a full bar. The interior is straight from the beach. Long Boards hang on the walls and it has a very tropical feeling. The bar has big screen tv's for sports viewing. We were attending the Souther Sub-division Little League championships and just happened on to this quite spot. The service was excellent and the server was very attentive to our needs. The food was outstanding. This is an old fashioned diner with old fashioned soda fountain drinks, thick malts, shakes, black cows, brown cows and flavored colas. The hamburgers are to die for, thick and juicy and cooked to order with no skimping on the portions. If you want to flash back to the past give Woody's Diner a try.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great happy hour”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great place to stop by during the week or weekend to enjoy a decent burger and a very liberal happy hour 1 to7 pm daily and all day on Sunday. Wednesday's are usually busy since they offer 2 for 1 burgers from 4pm to close. One of my favorite spots for a cold brew. Grab a bar seat early before the regulars show up. Nice bunch of folks.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooch6582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woody's Diner also viewed

Laguna Hills, Orange County
Laguna Hills, Orange County
 
Laguna Hills, Orange County
Laguna Hills, Orange County
 

Been to Woody's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing